We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A luxury bunkhouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kip in the Kirk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kip in the Kirk
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A luxury bunkhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My sister and I stayed here after completing the first leg of the west highland way. We stayed in the 8 person bunk room along with 2 other guests. This was a really lovely place, everything was spotlessly clean with lots of lovely touches, such as tea and scones on arrival. Our hosts were really welcoming and very friendly. Wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
40
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We arrived at Kip in the Kirk at the end of an intermittently rainy and overcast day. We were greeted with hot home made scones and hot tea and coffee. BA had lost our luggage and we were hiking in our only set of clothing. Not only were we given the use of the washing machine, but Frances delivered our clean clothes, warm and dry in time for our departure for day two of our hike. Many thanks for a wonderfully comfortable stay. You deserve every success with your beautifully renovated church hall.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here at the end of the first leg of the West Highland Way - Milngavie to Drymen and were warmly welcomed by the owner and offered tea and scones. The room was clean, spacious, very comfortable with a shower room close to our bedroom. Continental breakfast was served in the morning with a good choice on offer. All in all it was a very pleasant experience and would have no hesitation in recommending Kip in the Kirk to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ideally located to the village center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the start of our west highland way walk. Loved the building, the staff were friendly and service was excellent. Tea and scones when we arrived at 22.00. The most comfortable hostel beds I've ever slept in. Nice touches like tea lights lighting the way to the bathroom and a filling continental breakfast with quality produce. Loved it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We walk as a group on the West Highland Way, and the Rob Roy Way and now find ourselves planning our trips to include a stay at Kip in the Kirk ! Frances and Jonny are welcoming and attentive, really making visitors feel at home. We stay in the bunk room which is spacious, light and spotlessly clean ( sleeps 8 ).We are a gaggle of girls and not quiet, but this has not worried our kind hosts. I would thoroughly recommend this accommodation ( for groups or couples as there are double rooms too ) for the warmth of the hospitality, the scones and the cosy beds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donlau4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Extremely friendly and helpful hosts Francis and Johnny go the extra mile. Clean, modern private bathrooms. Comfortable lounge with TV. Full breakfast served personally by the owner who goes out of the way to help guests. Really nice place to set down for first night on the trail. I would have preferred the private room (rather than the 4 bunk bed dorm) but it was sold out. Highly recommend this old converted church!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JPBCDNTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

First stop on our West Highland Way journey. This old church hall has been beautifully transformed into a bed and breakfast (with a bunk house too). We received a warm welcome from the owner Frances with lovely warm scone and big pot of tea. Exactly what was needed after our first day walking. Good sized room which was spotlessly clean with comfortable bed and large en suite with lovely big soft towels. Although there are no tea making facilities in the rooms the kitchen is just across the hall with help yourself tea and coffee. Breakfast was continental with good choice of fruits, yogurts warm rolls cheese and ham.
Frances has a great knowledge of the local area, and offered other guest ideas of walks both local and a wee bit further afield. Two large maps of the kitchen wall pinpoint the many and varied places where previous guests have travelled from - very interesting.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gtdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.1 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
The Hawthorns
The Hawthorns
#1 of 23 in Drymen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ashbank B&B
Ashbank B&B
#7 of 23 in Drymen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Drymen Inn
The Drymen Inn
#4 of 23 in Drymen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kip in the Kirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kip in the Kirk

Property: Kip in the Kirk
Address: The Old Church | 11 Stirling Road, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kip in the Kirk – sleep in the converted Old Church. We have an en suite family room and a double room with private facilities. The large rear hall can accommodate 8 guests in full size bunks, with bed linen, towels and 2 lovely new shower rooms. We will be delighted to welcome you all with tea and homemade scones. Our bunk room is ideally suited to walkers on a budget, families or groups of friends travelling together. A first class continental breakfast will set you up for the day ahead, with freshly prepared items including our next door neighbour’s famous homemade marmalade. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kip In The Kirk Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing