We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenalva
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Winnock Hotel(Drymen)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel(Luss)(Great Value!)
US$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkhouse Inn(Strathblane)
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Rose Cottage(Drymen)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
28
4
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
4
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade jamsminute walkscrambled eggs and salmonwarm welcomeovernight stopwest highland wayfirst nightscottish hospitalitygreat place to stayfull scottish breakfastnext morningalisonwhwbedsvillagehostcereal
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

On arrival at 2pm feeling worn out from the first day father west highland way we were "instructed" to o down intone village (about a mile away) and to com back at 4pm! After spending the day walking this was the las thing we wanted to hear. On our return, the warm Scottish welcome mentioned in the brochure seemed to evade us. Anyway, room was nice, breakfast was good and a nice B&B overall. Just do what you're told and you will be fine. My partner washed out some smalls and wanted to put the on the line........not allowed "the line is a private area". So he put the wet clothes where he was told. Then in the morning they we dumped outside our door.....still very damp! Not impressed with the host at all and won't be back!
I might add, my partner and I very clearly booked a double room. On arrival we were told to use the single beds in the room! Not impressed.
Finally, the chain across the hall just inside the front door doesn't spell welcome to me. I spells keep lit!

Room Tip: Stay in Drymen.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izzybac, Owner at Glenalva, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

This man and his partner arrived here at 1pm although he had been asked to check-in after 4pm. It was suggested by my daughter they go into the village for lunch and return at 4pm when there would be someone here to welcome them. He arrived back at 4pm with a very surely, aggressive attitude. No 'Scottish welcome' was ever going to warm him up! Both our lovely large rooms are family rooms ensuite with twin beds and a double bed. I am at a complete loss into his remarks about which ones they could use? Both were made up and available. They had booked a double room....they chose and used the double bed, no one told them they could not!! He was then found wandering around the house on several occasions and that is why the chain was put up to close off our private bedrooms.His partner wandered through our lounge into our kitchen with soaking wet underwear dripping from his hands trying to gain access into our garden at the back door. I did stop him and suggested that we put the wet clothes in a basin and that I would hang them up for him as our small garden at our back door was a private garden. The clothes were put in the spin dryer, hung up over night and returned to them dry as a bone!! I see this unpleasant man has complained about numerous B&B's on the WHW. Arriving at every one of them far too early and then moaning about not getting entry. We have also received an abusive, nasty email from him. But I am delighted that he thought the room was nice, breakfast was good and a nice B&B overall. We try our very best to please all our guests. We are also delighted to hear he will not be returning as there will be "No bed at the Inn" for him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Our First nights stay on the WHW having walked the 12 miles from Milngavie. We arrived early but that was not a problem and neither was anything else. Fresh milk for our tea was provided on request. This is a very friendly B&B. Our room was bright and very clean and contained everything we wanted. We accepted the recommendation to have the special breakfast – it was superb. Overall an excellent B&B and extremely good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veryoldcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed at Glenalva when walking the West Highland Way and found the accomodation to be excellent: clean, comfortable and spacious. The B&B is located about a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of Drymen, but is right beside the main West Highland Way path, so ideal for getting straight onto the walk the next morning.

Alison is very friendly and makes sure that all guests feel welcome, and the breakfast of salmon and scrambled eggs was delicious, as was the home made jam :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzy_H_0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here at start of Rob Roy Way.Spacious and very comfortable rooms with amazing views.Excellent breakfast with home made preserves.Warm welcome and pleasant stay.The weather was wet so drove into Drymen for evening meal the rest of our B7B had a lot to live up to !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhianslip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

As far as B & B's go Alison got a 10 out of 10 from a group of friends walking the Rob Roy Way. We had a lovely greeting from her and help with our luggage and rooms. There were lovely shortbread fingers in our rooms to go with our tea and the mugs were a good size (important to walkers after a long day!) The rooms were spacious enough to have suitcases in without creating a traffic jam. Each room had a double and two single beds in so equated to a family room.Every where was SPOTLESS. The bathroom had lots of toiletries and good big fluffy towels. We were given advice about where to eat and how to get a table in Drymen. We were given advice about the Rob Roy way and the easy way to start it. We had options with our breakfast and loved the home made jams, no plastic little pots for Alison. Well done we would highly recommend this place to start the Rob Roy or on the way for the West Highland Way.

Room Tip: The rooms are identical and both lovely
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanessaRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews