We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
33
5
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
5
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade jams minute walk west highland way warm welcome b and b wonderful stay next morning first night breakfast was delicious enjoyed our stay alison binoculars whw village hostess stopover pubs
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our evening here and were quite comfortable. The walk to the village is lovely and Alison took good care of us. Very clean and straightforward B and B. Beds comfortable, showers hot. The breakfast was delicious and we were able to be on our way in good time.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izzybac, Owner at Glenalva, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for your review Anna. Hopefully we will see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Definitely the best place to stay for the first night of the West Highland Way. The £40 a night per person is worth it for the comfort of hot showers, comfortable beds and spacious rooms, with the scrambled egg and salmon breakfast being an absolute highlight!
The loving attention to detail at this B&B is noticeable at every stage from the home made jam at breakfast to the incredibly high standard of cleanliness throughout the house.
What makes this place a must visit though - whether one is walking the West Highland Way or not - is that it is an epitome of the traditional hospitality that Scotland is famous for. A warmer welcome could not have been hoped for, and I for one would definitely return to stay here if I'm in the area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MizzNivvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

This B&B was our first accomodation on our West Highland Way and we could not have made it better. Alison has given us a very warm welcome, the room was large and comfortable, the full Scottish breakfast left no wish open. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zizoulinchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izzybac, Owner at Glenalva, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Many, many thanks for taking the time to give us a fantastic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Perfect stop right on the WHW and in close walking distance to Drymen. We had a very warm welcome, very good breakfast and a very nice, spacious room with nice views and a nice bathroom. The room would be large enough for a family of 4 with 4 full size beds.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hugo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Lovely accommodations right along the Way just 8 minutes outside Drymen. It is a small B&B with two rooms that was perfect for our party. Nice rooms, comfortable beds, free wifi, and a good breakfast the next morning. The hosts were very friendly and gracious. The sunset viewed from the room was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Harvey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary C, Owner at Glenalva, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Many thanks for your great review we really appreciate it. So glad you enjoyed our wonderful rooms and views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews