We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wee visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Excellent stay...never disappointed with this hotel.food fantastic,rooms spotlessly clean,staff welcoming and courteous..swimming pool lovely and warm,changing area clean and wee bags for your wet swim stuff,as previously mentioned in a review,the steam room could do with a new seat that is broken,sauna fab...be back again soon...

Room Tip: We always ask for a nice room and kingsize bed...all rooms been upgraded recently I believe.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fab4Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

702 - 708 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Went here for lunch, swim, steam room and sauna on 9 December 13 with my mother and sister. Hotel was welcoming and food was lovely. Pool was a lovely temperature and the jaccuzi was great. The steam room needs a bit of maintenance as one of the seats were broken. The sauna was lovely. The changing area was clean, spacious with two excellent hairdryers.
I do think it would be better if there was a drinking water dispenser near the sauna. I
did notice that they sold bottles of water in the poolside sitting/viewing area but you had to be fully clothed to go there and I did not notice this until I was in the swimming pool. I also think that there should be signs to guide you from the restaurant to the pool area. I also think it would be a good idea to sell slippers at the pool reception desk and not just in the spa area, as I forgot to take my flip flops and was disappointed that I could not buy slippers. Apart from the few problems I have mentioned, we all had a great time and would go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest

i thank you for taking the time to write this comment, The BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel was recently purchased by a new owner and we are happy to say that we seen already substantial investment within several areas of the hotel, the leisure club is currently undergoing a repair program to address issues like the steam room seat, paint and gym equipment.
Long term there will be a program to improve the reception area and desk to create a more extensive offering to our guests. I noted your comments regarding the water dispenser in the pool area.
Thank you again for helping to improve my product here at the BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel

Regards

Volker Steinemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stopped of at this hotel on 7th Dec. for lunch. The entrance looked inviting with all it's Christmas lights. However that is where the festive spirt stopped. The hotel seamed to be quiet but the lady at the reception was more intent on sorting out paperwork than helping us. Eventually we had to ask if the hotel served sandwiches and coffee which she confirmed they did and asked a member of staff to bring a menu, which never arrived. We wandered into the bar area to obtain a menu and again we're met with the same disinterested attitude. Whilst standing waiting, it was clear that the staff were not only disinterested but also inexperienced as a fellow customer experienced challenges obtaining a round of drinks. Additional staff arrived behind the bar whilst I was the only one waiting to be served but again no attention came my way. It was fairly clear that we were not welcome and decided to leave. Nothing about our experience would make us want to revisit, shame really. We live in Glasgow but would hate to think that travellers from further afield would experience this lack of hospitality.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest


i am very sorry to hear that you did not feel welcome during your recent visit here at the BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel, i will raise the issues you brought to my attention with the department heads and I would like to sincerely apologize for the lack of hospitality you experienced.

Yours sincerely

Volker Steinemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Booked this hotel through Easy Breaks two night dinner,bed and breakfast. First class service from the booking in to the end. Room very comfortable,clean roomy,big bathroom etc. Lovely lounge with big log fire. Dinner exceptional almost up to Master Chef standards of presentation and quality once again service perfect. Breakfast no complaints, used the leisure centre nice pool sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Overall a great experience. Would highly recommend value for money outstanding.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Barkley2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest


I thank you for writing this lovely review. We hope to welcome you back soon.

regards

Volker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A Hotel with Character, stayed here twice now on business. This is a good Hotel and will be ideal for a Leisure Break, to be used as a base to discover the lovely surrounding attractions. It will be most welcoming all the year round, with the big open fires to sit round on a winters night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank ystevesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guest

thank you for your kind comments. Hope to welcome you back soon.

regards

Volker Steinemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Away from home for another trip. I arrived on the Sunday night and asked if there was any pubs in the area that did food. Catching out of the corner of my eye a laminate sheet which had an offer for an additional 19.99 to include breakfast and dinner. Decided to try the hotel restaurant. The menu was restrictive but was easily able to select a meal. the food was served quickly and hot and was tasty. so much so that decided to stay in the restaurant for the second night stay. the room was clean and tidy, got very warm during the night which when I got up in the morning may have been because of the icy conditions out side. Staff where very attentive and polite. Normal stay in the premier inn in Glasgow but will travel the extra miles to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask about the additional meals packages and other offers. the hotel has been taken over recently so...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest

we thank you for your nice comments, we hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Volker Steinemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is nice and has lovely spacious areas like the conservatory and restaurant. The service was generally fine - no problems but not brilliant at breakfast. The rooms although clean were quite tired - friends were also staying so was in a few different rooms. The breakfast was good, large selection and mostly decent quality.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank am407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Guest

i thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. The BEST WESTERN Buchanan arms hotel just recently changed ownership and i am very pleased to say that the upgrade and refurbishment program is in its full swing. The hotel is a considerable size and it will take some time till we get around all the areas without causing inconvenience to any guests staying but after the short period since the take over our guests already appreciate the improvements and changes.

Regards

Volker Steinemann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,079 reviews
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: 22 Main Street | Loch Lomond, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range: £53 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel And Spa
Buchanan Arms Hotel Leisure
Buchanan Arms Drymen
Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing