We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Kinlochleven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was our first visit to this hotel and it more than likely wont be our last. hotel lovely, great staff and excellent food. we really didnt want to leave but unfortunately we had plans else where or would have quite happily stayed for an extra night or 2 :) Cant really comment on the spa as this time we did not use but will be definitely next time :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaylesT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest

thank you for taking the time for your lovely review, hope to see you back soon.

Regards

Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    455
    199
    79
    56
See reviews for
212
568
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We got a good deal with a voucher and were not disappointed. The room was a decent size and very comfortable, the food was really excellent and I certainly had no complaints about the restaurant or any the other staff nothing was too much trouble. We also had the added bonus of using the leisure centre facilities so was great value and would certainly go back again

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank maryhedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest

sounds you had a great time here at the Buchanan Arms Hotel, look out for our developements in the Haven Spa and Leisure, #exciting times
Regards

Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a two night break. The staff were all very pleasant and the room was spacious and well equipped. Dinner and breakfast could not be faulted.
The Dinner menu was exciting and the presentation and quality of food exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertojeddidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was treated to a night away as a birthday present from my good lady, as we had never stayed at the Buchanan Arms and it was situated in a lovely wee village, we decided to give it a try.

Well, we had a mixed experience throughout the stay.

First impressions, well we walked into the reception area and the word that sprung to mind was tired, very, very tired. The reception from the staff was, on the other hand, excellent, very helpful and courteous.

We then ascended the creakiest staircase this side of the Pinewood studios, then along a corridor which, was as tired as the reception area, but with the additional charm of cables clipped all round the surfaces of the door frames - not seen that since 1970's Blackpool.

Then into the room, which was rather surprisingly nice, with a lovely big and extremely comfortable bed. However, the room was cold, rather poorly lit and had damp 'crinkly' wallpaper under the drafty window and a rather poky (albeit very clean) bathroom, we were a wee bit disenchanted to see extension leads beside the bed too.

We then went to the leisure centre, which was surprisingly full, but once again tatty throughout, I even snagged my swiining shorts on an exposed (but fortunately dead) wire sticking out of a defective light fitting in the 'Jacuzzi'.

(To be fair, it would appear that there has been some redecorating going on, but that doesn't address the overall material state of the facility.

Once again the staff were excellent.

On to dinner, I have to say the food was excellent, really excellent. BUT the tables looked as if they had been rescued from a demolished roadside cafe, burn marks, gouges/scratches all over them giving them a feeling of dirtiness (tablecloths would have covered many ills here!).

Food stains on the walls (looked like beans) disappointing.. However, once again, excellent staff.

Then we retired to the bar where there is a wee snug alcove, which was the only place we could escape the incessant draft, sadly though, we had to sit in predominant darkness as there were just bare cables where the light fittings had been.

Back up to the room which was now nice and warm, however, the wall betwen the room and the corridor could have been a curtain for all the sound deadening it offered, at times I thought we had folk in with us!

Breakfast, well, a bain marie, type servery with steel dishes filled with smashed up black pudding, bacon swimming in fat and raw sausages, a polar opposite to dinner.

We also found that there was loads of folk staying on a deal rate which was half of what we paid, which ordinarily wouldn't bother me, but here it seemed to add insult to injury.

If it was not for the staff, great food and the lovely comfy bed, I would have given this hotel a 1 'spot' rating.
I understand that it has just been taken over by new owners and they are starting to renovate on a rolling basis, however, there is no way they should be charging the full ticket rate at the moment.

Room Tip: Only book if you can get a deal rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikerBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shotts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My daughter and I went here for a midweek overnight in Feb. The weather was horrible so we were pleased to have the indoor pool to use. There was a wedding the next day so a lot of people had booked in for the evening before the wedding. We were allocated room 18 which was a good way from the main hotel area but this meant it was quiet with no passing traffic. The twin bedded room was pleasant and warm with ample space. The beds were very, very comfy. The only down side was the tv reception wasn't great but this could have been the weather. We used the leisure suite and although there was children's swimming lessons and part of the pool roped off for this we still had room to swim (it would have been different if the pool had been busy). The sauna and jacuzzi area was clean and the water temperature fine. We didn't use the gym but it seemed to be well equipped. Our evening meal was well cooked and nicely presented and the breakfast buffet had plenty of choice from fresh fruit, through to scones, bagels etc & the hot buffet was also kept stocked. My only issue was that you had to ask for fried eggs (only scrambled in the buffet and I feel it may be a good idea when asked if you wanted tea or coffee to advised diners that fried eggs would need to be ordered. The wine selection I felt was a bit pricey for this type of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evybiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Cannot rate this hotel enough! The rooms are well presented and the service was excellent! Top quality!!!
My husband is 6ft 6 and the standard room double bed was not sufficient so they upgraded us to a superior room, which was huge and by far luxurious all for a £20.00 fee! Which they did not charge us for! Anything we asked for was no trouble to the staff who are all smiling and have excellent customer service skills!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest

thank you for taking the time for your nice review, we look forward to welcome you back here at the BEST WESTERN Buchanan Arms Hotel

Regards

Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
16.2 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: 22 Main Street | Loch Lomond, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel And Spa
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Buchanan Arms Hotel Leisure
Buchanan Arms Drymen
Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing