We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Forres
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I booked a 3 night stay and were pleasantly surprised by the overall experience.A very spacious room at the front of the hotel with king size bed and three piece suite, an enormous bathroom too. All very clean. The atmosphere is very much country inn with comfortable bar areas to relax in. The restaurant provided a very high standard of cuisine ,wonderful wok seared prawns, lamb cutlets, chicken and salmon mains with superb sauces, a very capable chef with high standards. Breakfast was good too, my wife really enjoyed the locally smoked kippers, quite different from the usual supermarket fare. Service was very pleasant everywhere,the right balance. The pool was a lovely bonus ,clean and great staff. We could not have asked for more and great value too, we shall be back !

Room Tip: We had a large room at the front of the hotel with king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForresMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

thank you for taking the time to write your review. Great to hear we over delivered on your expectations and you had a fab time with us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Volker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    472
    205
    84
    60
See reviews for
225
592
28
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Booked a spa day with light lunch for 2 through 'Today's great deals' voucher . Arrived over Easter weekend on a lovely sunny day and was glad the pool was quiet. Leisure facilities are old, tired and very basic. Pool, jacuzzi and sauna all very small but for old style hotel leisure clubs this is the norm, definitely would n't describe as a spa hotel. If spa packages are being sold robes, slippers and decent towels should be made available. Towels were the kind you get a local swimming pool, changing rooms small but adequate. Ladies toilets, tissue required to be refilled and showers had very basic shower gel with no shampoo or conditioner available.The smoothie that was given as part of voucher was not exactly appetizing but maybe just not to my taste ? Tea served as an alternative was served with brown sugar instead of white ! On the plus all staff were polite and helpful and best part i would say was light lunch although not that many choices, beef noodle teriyaki was tasty !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sootyghirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for a stopover. It was convenient for getting into Glasgow but in a quiet location. We stayed in a standard double room, which whilst not large had everything we needed for the one night plus the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was great with a good selection of items. Coffee plentiful and was topped up as if by magic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank KarenMc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My Partner and I recently spent a 3 night stay at this Hotel, And we were not disappointed from the photos in which we saw prior to visiting, We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Overall we had a lovely stay. On our arrival while my partner was waiting to check in, I noticed 2 young ladies whom clearly had come from hiking the West Highland Way, Looking for a room for the night. And I got a distinct impression that walkers are not particularly welcome at this establishment, I guess catering for a different market such as couples, coach tour parties etc.
This hotel was in a handy location for travelling around Loch Lomond and seeing the various sights of our land.
Our room was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable and our room on the first floor over looked the main street and across to the view point opposite. Despite being by the main through road. Noise from any traffic was minimal. And in fact I guess the worst noise was from the squeaking floor boards from outside our room. To which at times during the night, did become distracting.
We found the food in the Restaurant exquisite and very tasty , however found the proportions on the small side on both the evenings we dined. And perhaps slightly over priced for what we got., Breakfast on all 3 mornings was fabulous,. On our final night stay we decided to try something different, Mainly to get a good plate of normal type and wholesome food.
I had a look at the spa facilities to which I was impressed by the variety of treatments on offer. However I did find them somewhat expensive, and therefore declined any treatments on offer.
Overall I had a very pleasant stay, There was ample seating space to enjoy a drink from the bar and relax. I would certainly consider returning to this hotel. The hotel is situated in the main town and is only a few minutes walk from shops, pubs etc

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustAndy103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Only stayed one night as part of a golf break but I will return. The staff were very welcoming and attentive without being overbearing. The room was spacious and comfortable. The food was very good as was the service in the dining room. The Spa was excellent. The wi-fi signal strength in the room was good. A good experience but too short.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoteluser_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights B&B 13/14 Apr. Quiet little village in Drymen. A very good base for Loch Lomond. Beautiful scenery around the Loch just a few minutes drive away. Staff were very attentive special thanks to Barbara on reception & Becky & Brian in the dining room. Lovely meals I had the beef & mustard mash which was perfect, my husband had the steak which was also good. Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna & wet room where great especially after a climb up Conic Hill & a good walk around Balmaha-Forest & Loch-side. Also you can get the ferry across for £5 each & have a walk around the island of Inchmurrin which takes around 1 - 1 1/2 hrs or longer as it has a nice little pebble beach. You have to climb Conic Hill for it's beautiful surroundings. Sorry digressed a little there but well worth the mention, had a fantastic time
The hotel has a lovely conservatory to sit in, plus another bar area. Good gym facilities but didn't use those as we were out & about most of the time & used the pool area when we returned. The room was spacious, comfortable bed & good facilities. Best power shower I've had. The breakfast was great. from cereals, yoghurts, fruit, juices,croissants, then the traditional Scottish breakfast, lovely. Would definately use again.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room with a view, this is from room 47 the right handside has the car park. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayheaven4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAH_management, General Manager at Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest

i thank you for your kind review. The entire team looks forward to welcome you back soon

Regards

Volker Steinemann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at The Buchanan Arms for 1 nights Bed & Breakfast in April. I've been past this hotel so many times, but never actually been inside it, but there was a reasonable LateRooms offer, so we thought we'd give it a try. Its a very old building, so we didn't expect too much in the way of luxury.

Check-in was quick and straightforward, thanks to the helpful receptionist. I'd asked for a quiet room, and wasn't disappointed. The room itself was large, clean and very spacious, so no complaints from my fussy wife !!

We decided to investigate the Spa area and pool, via the gym, which had plenty of equipment. The lockers in the changing rooms require a pound coin to use, and as this isn't obvious til you get there, it a good idea to go prepared. The facilities also include a jacuzzi (on a 10 minute cycle), sauna, and steam room. And if you're lucky enough to go in when there are no screaming children, the pool is great !!

The best part of our stay had to be the evening meal. I was getting a bit worried when I read the menu, as I wasn't sure if I'd like anything. But I have to say, it was absolutely delicious. and with piping hot soup, there were no complaints from my fussy wife !!! The drinks were, like most places, very expensive; but at 3 courses for around £20 per person, we thought the meal was very reasonable. Have paid a lot more elsewhere and been disappointed.

After a very comfortable nights sleep we went down for breakfast. Not quite as good as dinner, but served its purpose. Continental and hot buffet were available. The room was busy, but without much in the way of queues. The staff at both meals were very good. Attentive without hovering over you all the time.

Overall, we were pleasantly surprised, and we would definitely go back (which is unusual for us). Would recommend The Buchanan Arms very highly, you won't be disappointed !!!

Room Tip: Room 52 is very quiet. Only 1 other room beside it at the end of a corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_and_Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.2 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,069 reviews
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
6.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.8 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: 22 Main Street | Loch Lomond, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel And Spa
Buchanan Arms Hotel Leisure
Buchanan Arms Drymen
Buchanan Arms Hotel Drymen
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing