We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place to stay in Drymen”
Review of The Hawthorns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hawthorns
Ranked #3 of 24 Drymen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed over for just one night at the start of a week long tour of Scotland. The Hawthorns was an excellent choice in Drymen. Nice big room, spotlessly clean with a really great full Scottish breakfast to see us on the way in the morning. Jane and Chris were excellent friendly hosts. Highly recommended !

David & Michelle

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davebrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks for your review and hope you had a wonderful trip around Scotland. Jane and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for The Hawthorns
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed at the Hawthorns twice since Jane and Chris took over and they are doing a superb job. Both times I was leading large groups walking the WHW and everyone loved it. They are two of the nicest people you could meet, the Hawthorns is immaculate, has wonderful character including a lovely living room and a great breakfast (the salmon is superb). Thanks Jane and Chris!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Lovely to see you and the Sierra Club again, so glad you enjoyed your stay and the salmon. Regards Jane and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was an excellent welcome. Excellent location Met outside by Chris and escorted to our rooms. Jane and Chris couldn't have been more welcoming. Excellent comfortable accommodation and a room with a bath was most welcome. Breakfast an excellent standard and they took our baggage downstairs for the bag service,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirls005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for your responce and so happy you enjoyed your stay with us hope you can come back soon, Jane and chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at The Hawthorns while hiking the West Highland Way on a Sierra Club trip. The B&B's is warn and inviting and the owners are a dream. My group of 15 was treated with courtesy and great hospitality. I will be definitely be using this B&B's next year on my trip. A five star experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks for your kind words and looking forward to welcoming you and the Sierra Club back next year. Regards Jane and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant b&b have stayed here many times including during the bad trip reports but 1st time with the new owners Jane & Chris & delighted to say its back to its original best if not better. Brilliant friendly hosts nothing is a problem pristine rooms comfy beds & a breakfast to die for. 100% recommend not to be missed can't wait til next time :-)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lilgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

This review means alot to us as we know how many times you have stayed in the past. So glad you feel the Hawthorns has returned to its former glory we apreciate your comments. Look forward to seeing you all next year, Jane and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Superb stay after the first day of our West Highland Way. Beautiful big room, very comfortably furnished and immaculately clean. Had two windows with nice views over the village. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly owners - gave advice for eating in the evening and we ate at the Clachan Inn, which was excellent. The only downside is no access before 4pm without prior arrangement (if you've walked from Milngavie, you'll probably be there before 4pm). However, there is an excellent Pottery Teashop next door to spend time in. A great place to stay, thank you.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MoiWHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to leave a responce. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your food at the Clachan Inn. Regards Jane and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a super place to spend your first night on the West Highland Way. We received a warm welcome from Chris and Jane when we stayed on the 23rd April 2014,the room was warm and comfortable, with a good shower and towels. Our hosts were chatty and full of local information, and our breakfast was good with variety, which suited me as I don,t eat fries. My partner had the full Scottish which she greatly enjoyed.
We will definitely return on our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and glad you enjoyed the bath. Hope you can come and stay again. Chris and Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.1 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.0 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,079 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
14.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hawthorns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hawthorns

Address: The Square | 1 Gartness Road, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Drymen
Price Range: £74 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hawthorns 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, comfortable house, set in own grounds in the heart of this picturesque village in the National Park. All ameneties within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hawthorns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hawthorns Hotel Drymen
Hawthorns Hotel Drymen
The Hawthorns Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing