We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks For Making Our Day!”
Review of The Hawthorns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hawthorns
Ranked #2 of 22 Drymen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thanks For Making Our Day!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We arrived in Dyrmen early from the States the day before hiking the Rob Roy Way and Jane recommended we visit the nearby Buchanan Castle. Visiting the castle made our day and we really appreciated the recommendation. Jane & Chris were great hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms downstairs - which were very plain - but I'm guessing the rooms upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the local castle. Glad I was here to let you in for an early check in, hope to see you all again. Many thanks Jane and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    30
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
68
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our first night on walking the West Highland Way. Very warm welcome from the friendly owner. Our luggage had been transported and was in our room on arrival. Nice double room. Great breakfast - fresh chopped fruit and beautifully cooked bacon and egg. A great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lycragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks for your review and so glad you enjoyed everything. After you walking all day its the least we can do to make sure your bag is waiting for you in your room. Jane and chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed over for just one night at the start of a week long tour of Scotland. The Hawthorns was an excellent choice in Drymen. Nice big room, spotlessly clean with a really great full Scottish breakfast to see us on the way in the morning. Jane and Chris were excellent friendly hosts. Highly recommended !

David & Michelle

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davebrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks for your review and hope you had a wonderful trip around Scotland. Jane and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have stayed at the Hawthorns twice since Jane and Chris took over and they are doing a superb job. Both times I was leading large groups walking the WHW and everyone loved it. They are two of the nicest people you could meet, the Hawthorns is immaculate, has wonderful character including a lovely living room and a great breakfast (the salmon is superb). Thanks Jane and Chris!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Lovely to see you and the Sierra Club again, so glad you enjoyed your stay and the salmon. Regards Jane and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was an excellent welcome. Excellent location Met outside by Chris and escorted to our rooms. Jane and Chris couldn't have been more welcoming. Excellent comfortable accommodation and a room with a bath was most welcome. Breakfast an excellent standard and they took our baggage downstairs for the bag service,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirls005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your responce and so happy you enjoyed your stay with us hope you can come back soon, Jane and chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at The Hawthorns while hiking the West Highland Way on a Sierra Club trip. The B&B's is warn and inviting and the owners are a dream. My group of 15 was treated with courtesy and great hospitality. I will be definitely be using this B&B's next year on my trip. A five star experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks for your kind words and looking forward to welcoming you and the Sierra Club back next year. Regards Jane and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant b&b have stayed here many times including during the bad trip reports but 1st time with the new owners Jane & Chris & delighted to say its back to its original best if not better. Brilliant friendly hosts nothing is a problem pristine rooms comfy beds & a breakfast to die for. 100% recommend not to be missed can't wait til next time :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lilgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drymen, Owner at The Hawthorns, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
This review means alot to us as we know how many times you have stayed in the past. So glad you feel the Hawthorns has returned to its former glory we apreciate your comments. Look forward to seeing you all next year, Jane and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.1 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
7.0 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
3.6 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Drymen Inn
The Drymen Inn
#4 of 22 in Drymen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hawthorns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hawthorns

Property: The Hawthorns
Address: The Square | 1 Gartness Road, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hawthorns 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, comfortable house, set in own grounds in the heart of this picturesque village in the National Park. All ameneties within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hawthorns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hawthorns Hotel Drymen
Hawthorns Hotel Drymen
The Hawthorns Drymen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing