We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
35
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect hosts breakfast room her husband beautiful country loch lomond b and b trossachs national park perfect place jo scotland accommodation house lawn bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We spent one night here as a stop-over on the way up to the Islands and were so taken with the area, we feel another visit to this beautiful area is now on the cards. We were very pleased we booked The Old Manse as it was so great to meet Jo and her husband, Anthony. What lovely people. The house is a real home and we at once felt relaxed and looked after. Scrumptious cakes and tea were provided by Jo in front of the open fire and was very welcoming. Anthony recommended a great place to eat in the evening - Cross Keys pub at Kippen - and rang and booked it for us. We had the twin room with private bathroom. The room was very comfortable with great views over the valley. Breakfast, next morning, was a real treat and it was lovely to be able to chat with Jo. I would readily recommend a longer stay at this special home.

Room tip: All rooms will have superb views
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We were very happy with our stay. This B&B provides an outstanding personal service. The house is beautifull and from the big garden you are overlooking an amazing landscape. The hosts Antony and Jo are extremely Nice. This was almost like visiting good friends

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Frisenvang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Anthony and Jo were so friendly and welcoming - we and the other couple staying were treated as long lost friends and invited in to share a drink and a chat in the evenings. They booked a restaurant for us, looked after us in every way possible, and gave us lots of advice about where to go and what to see. We sat having breakfast in their beautiful garden room looking out on the most fantastic view. This style of B&B has all but disappeared now, and it was a real pleasure to stay here.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kariayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Invredibly charming, this beautiful house has wooden bathrooms, paintings on the walls, a large veranda for breakfast and great views on the garden, the lawn and the countryside.
The owners make you feel at home and it is certainely worth having a chat with them. Most people spend just one night here on their way to the islands or the higllands, but it is really worth spending a couple days in the area. The owneers might book a table for you or help you find a good alk or bikes to eexplore the lovely countryside.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArnaudParienty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

I could not have been more charmed. This B&B is in an old vicarage that has been lovingly restored. Jo and Antony were the perfect hosts, full of information and helpful while giving us plenty of space. The breakfast garden room is quiet, comfortable, full of blooming things, with a truly spectacular view down the glen.

Our bedroom was huge, full of chintz, bookcases and tables overflowing with books, 12 foot ceilings, flowers, tea service, and old squeaky beds that were extremely comfortable. In fact, my best sleep in Scotland was in this bed.

This is a home that is well-loved. Yes, you may see a cobweb in the entry hall, or a bit of worn carpet, but it feels as though one is staying as a welcome guest in another's home, not like the sterility of a purpose-built B&B. The Old Manse perfectly fits the American notion of what 20th century British country homes feel and look like. You will not be disappointed. In fact, my next trip to Scotland will be adjusted to include Gartmore just so we can stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank JLOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews