We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
35
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect hosts breakfast room her husband beautiful country loch lomond b and b trossachs national park perfect place jo scotland accommodation house lawn bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2018

Many years ago when I lived in Lake Forest, a north shore suburb of Chicago, our next-to-next door neighbors the Smuckers made a summer house swap with the Macphail family from Scotland. My family became good friends with the Rev Jack Macphail and his family.

In 1969 our family summered in Sussex so we took the Royal Scot express train to Edinburgh and stayed with at the Manse for a week. We thrilled to the Edinburgh Tattoo with its massed bands of pipes and drums, visited Loch Lomond, and saw salmon swimming along a wee burn at their friends' property to the west

Rev Macphail spoke of how Sir Walter Scott had written "Lady in the Lake" while staying there, and told us that a nearby lawn was said by local folk to be the site of a magical "fairy ring". Many years before Mel Gibson popularized the story, I was fascinated by William Wallace, whom I'd read about in an illustrated comic book, and I played at sword fighting with my brother as boys will do, around the grounds of this beautiful country home.

May your stay be as memorable as our long-ago idyll !

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterC391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

The Old Manse at Gartmore is located in the idyllic Scottish countryside near the beautiful Trossachs National park. The house is beautifully furnished and remarkably comfortable. The views from the breakfast room, the patio and the bedroom are spectacular. We had the pleasure of watching a full harvest moon rising over the distant hills at sunset. It has to be experienced to be believed.

Jo and Anthony are friendly, helpful hosts who welcome you into their home and make it your home for your visit. We had to leave early on our last day and Jo got up and packed us a wonderful get a way breakfast, above and beyond the call, but caring seems to built into her DNA.

If we travel that way again we know where we will stay. The Old Manse at Gartmore.

Rich and Jane Jones
Dacula, GA

Room tip: The room that looks over the patio with with full bath tub in the ensuite. Best view, great bath.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Jo and Anthony were perfect hosts; very kind, flexible and accommodating. Their house is beautiful and you truly get the sense that you are being welcomed into their home as opposed to some other B&B experiences I have had where you feel as though you are imposing on the owners! Accommodation was also very comfortable with a great breakfast. I would struggle to recommend them more highly.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C520BLbriank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We spent one night here as a stop-over on the way up to the Islands and were so taken with the area, we feel another visit to this beautiful area is now on the cards. We were very pleased we booked The Old Manse as it was so great to meet Jo and her husband, Anthony. What lovely people. The house is a real home and we at once felt relaxed and looked after. Scrumptious cakes and tea were provided by Jo in front of the open fire and was very welcoming. Anthony recommended a great place to eat in the evening - Cross Keys pub at Kippen - and rang and booked it for us. We had the twin room with private bathroom. The room was very comfortable with great views over the valley. Breakfast, next morning, was a real treat and it was lovely to be able to chat with Jo. I would readily recommend a longer stay at this special home.

Room tip: All rooms will have superb views
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We were very happy with our stay. This B&B provides an outstanding personal service. The house is beautifull and from the big garden you are overlooking an amazing landscape. The hosts Antony and Jo are extremely Nice. This was almost like visiting good friends

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Frisenvang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews