We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Friendly, helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Bull Hotel

The Black Bull Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gartmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Black Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gartmore
Newmilns
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food and Friendly, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We were staying at a lodge close by and decided to visit the Black Bull for dinner, from the minute we stepped inside we were made to feel welcome and due to the size of our party we were given a private dining room which was brilliant. The menu had lots of choice and it all sounded delicious and we were not disappointed when our choices arrived, it was all tasty, well presented and thoroughly enjoyable. Service was great. Would definetly recommend for meals. Very accommodating for families with young children as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mysticmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night. The staff were pretty hopeless. Wanted me to fill in a sheet without a pen or pencil in sight. The room lacked heating. The shower handle was broken and the thermostat was faulty as a result the water temperature was either boiling hot or freezing cold. No staff on site untill 9 am just when I was about to leave so although they charged me for a breakfast I didnt get any. To top it all off, the cheeky owners thanked me for my complaints and refused a refund!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Visited the restaurant twice and was very impressed on both occasions
Food was freshly cooked and appeared to be local produce
Welcome from the owners was highly refreshing as they were genuinely interested in their guests
On both visits the restaurant was busy and many appeared to be locals (a good sign)
Will certainly be back! May even use the rooms that are available

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RalphGerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whalley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Although we didn't actusally stay at The Black Bull we ate there on two occassions when we were at the Activity Centre there.
The first thing we noticed was just how friendly everyone was including the locals, nothing seemed to be too much trouble the food well priced and superb especially the Black Pudding and the Steak and Ale pie, just melted in the mouth.
Staff had 'real' smiles on their facres and happily chatted with us - not sure what the negative review is about I think He must've been having a bad day!
Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I have visited Black Bull twice, both times with a writing group who use its facilities for writing retreats. In total, I've now stayed there four nights and I can't fault the place - comfortable modern bedroom with en suite, fantastic homemade food and staff who truly care.

The first time I was there, I was struck down with a tummy bug. The staff were so kind - they found me a hot water bottle, offered to make me anything from the kitchen that I thought my tummy could handle, offered me glasses of squash, etc.

The negative review below is such a shame. The owners (I think they're called Liz and Andy) are lovely, as are the Irish gals. The bloke below must have caught them on a bad day.

Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Some noise from the bar until about 11pm, but I don't mind this - adds to the atmosphere of bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pippagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Staff very unwelcoming, unfriendly, knew nothing about the local area they lived and worked in. Irish bar maid an embarrassment to the Irish she was so unfriendly. No local beers unlike the exceptional Brig o' Turk. More warmth from the dead bulls head on the wall. Drive on past.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBelam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I was staying in Gartmore as my friends and I had purchased a deal for two nights stay and an activity at a nearby farm. The owners of the farm we were staying at advised that the Black Bull lay on a free shuttle bus from the holiday park at the end of the lane. The six of us therefore took advantage of the free shuttle bus on the Saturday night. There was a takeaway menu in our rooms and having read it I did not have high hopes for the food or the pub. On arrival I found the pub to be well kept, clean and cosy, The Staff were all extremely helpful and friendly and made you feel completely welcome. I ordered the sirloin steak which was cooked to perfection and very tasty, one of our party has the lasagne and another opted for a special which was chicken with back pudding. Out of 6 people, all of us enjoyed our meal and would recommend the Black Bull if you are looking for reasonably priced good quality food.

Most of my party left on the Sunday but my friend and I returned and I could not resist another steak. We were treated like locals, the staff remembered us from the night before and made them join us as the bar for a drink after our meal. As stated above, I would not hesitate to recommend a meal here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartmore
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
9.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
10.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
20.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bull Hotel

Property: The Black Bull Hotel
Address: Main Street, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gartmore
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Hotel Gartmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing