We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy respite on a long walk”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gartmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Black Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gartmore
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had walked up to Gartmore from the Old Drymen Road car park in the Queen Elizabeth Forrest. Our near three mile walk almost brought us to disappointment because the bar seemed to be closed. Just as we were about to walk back to the car, a 4x4 swung into the square. "We are about to open" said the diver and passenger.
A few moments passed and we were seated in the warm and comfortable bar beside a roaring fire.
Diet Cola each and a burger for the Administrator and Steak Pie for me.
We expect to return to this welcoming place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Glaswegian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed here over Easter bank holiday with my partner and 2 dogs. The staffed helped carry up the dog kennel and ensured that we had everything we needed to settle in. The room was very spacious, heaters were switched on and warmed up the room for our arrival. Tea and coffee facilities were available in the room. The meals we had in the evening were top marks (as usual) and the full Scottish breakfast was very filling, there was cereal, fresh fruit and juice available too. This was not our first visit and definatley not be our last... See you in July Andrew!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Went for a birthday meal to this place, as we were staying at a local holiday park. It was recommended, and we were not disappointed. The staff/proprietors were very friendly and helpful, and the fresh food was excellent. I'd recommend the Scallop and Stornoway Black Pudding starter.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We were staying at a lodge close by and decided to visit the Black Bull for dinner, from the minute we stepped inside we were made to feel welcome and due to the size of our party we were given a private dining room which was brilliant. The menu had lots of choice and it all sounded delicious and we were not disappointed when our choices arrived, it was all tasty, well presented and thoroughly enjoyable. Service was great. Would definetly recommend for meals. Very accommodating for families with young children as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mysticmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night. The staff were pretty hopeless. Wanted me to fill in a sheet without a pen or pencil in sight. The room lacked heating. The shower handle was broken and the thermostat was faulty as a result the water temperature was either boiling hot or freezing cold. No staff on site untill 9 am just when I was about to leave so although they charged me for a breakfast I didnt get any. To top it all off, the cheeky owners thanked me for my complaints and refused a refund!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Visited the restaurant twice and was very impressed on both occasions
Food was freshly cooked and appeared to be local produce
Welcome from the owners was highly refreshing as they were genuinely interested in their guests
On both visits the restaurant was busy and many appeared to be locals (a good sign)
Will certainly be back! May even use the rooms that are available

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank RalphGerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Although we didn't actusally stay at The Black Bull we ate there on two occassions when we were at the Activity Centre there.
The first thing we noticed was just how friendly everyone was including the locals, nothing seemed to be too much trouble the food well priced and superb especially the Black Pudding and the Steak and Ale pie, just melted in the mouth.
Staff had 'real' smiles on their facres and happily chatted with us - not sure what the negative review is about I think He must've been having a bad day!
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartmore
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
678 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
9.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
434 reviews
10.5 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bull Hotel

Address: Main Street, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gartmore
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Hotel Gartmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing