We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Bull, Gartmore: A hidden gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gartmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Black Bull Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gartmore
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Last weekend I spent another great three days at the Black Bull, Gartmore, on a Writer's Retreat. The staff are wonderful, the food amazing and nothing is too much bother. Liz and Andrew are exemplary hosts and everyone does their best to ensure that our stay is productive and enjoyable. At the end of each retreat, Liz makes us a different cake. Gartmore itself is an interesting village in a delightful setting and the villagers make you very welcome. How many villages in Scotland can say they have a monument to a Scottish gaucho who was also an aristocratic democrat? Visit the Black Bull in Gartmore, you'll not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marydoll541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

When recently staying in the area during a holiday w/c 21st Oct 2013, we were told about the Black Bull, and lets just say it was so good, we ate here more than anywhere else when eating out during our stay.

There is a good choice of food and portions are a good size.

Staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

They are great with children and make everyone feel very welcome.

Would highly recommend that anyone eats here, whether staying in the area or just passing by.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

we stayed in the Black Bull in Gartmore for 4 nights in July. the room was big we had tea and coffee that we could make and the room was cleaned every day,only down side was it did not have a wardrope but I got round by that by hanging my dresses on the picture rail. the staff were very helpful and the food was delicious congratulations to the chef .we slept very well and had really good time looking forward to a revisit. The locals in the bull werte very welcoming too and we had some very interesting conversations.

Room Tip: in our room wardrope would have been good but we did stay 4 nights so had more clothes most of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zkiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My partner and I ate at the Black Bull on Friday 2nd August evening, without a reservation they were able to accommodate us. I had the soup of the day (leek and potato homemade- Yum!) and Jerk Chicken with rice. My partner had Tempura Prawns and Steak cooked Medium Rare - and came out perfect. There was no room for dessert! The staff were quick and efficient with a friendly smile, just what you want from dinner. Was disappointed there were no Muscles on the menu but this was due to PSP and fisheries have been temporarily closed due to this.Well worth a visit if your in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Ate here one night whilst staying at a local campsite.Very busy on arrival only two vacant tables.Nice menu with some interesting choices.Staff were friendly and attentive and the food was delivered promptly.Food was well presented and cooked to a good standard.Give it a go you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed in Gartmore House Hotel where evening meals weren't served. So we ended up walking the few minutes to Gartmore Village.

The Black Bull Inn was a small place, but the food is second to none.

I had the Sea Bass and seasonal veg and it was the best dish I had tasted in quite a while. The other half had Home Made Steak and Ale Pie and he too said it was the best dish he had in a while.

Service was a bit slow, but very much worth it.

They had pictures hanging on the wall that you could buy too and it was a nice idea, proved a conversation point as well .



Well done and thank you for a lovely few hours.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Visited this eatery last night which was recommended to us and the food was great. Nice choice on the menu and the staff were very friendly. My only gripe was i couldn't have a sweet, which looked scrumptious, S there was too much in the main course. Yes I know I shouldn't have ate it all to leave room for a sweet, but it was so good I couldn't stop!!!! Would certainly recommend and visit the next time I am in the area.

Room Tip: Never stayed here. Only visited to eat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartmore
4.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
679 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
434 reviews
12.6 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
4.5 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Bull Hotel

Address: Main Street, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gartmore
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Black Bull Hotel Gartmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing