We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Campsite - Good amenities”
Review of Cobleland Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gartmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cobleland Campsite
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is what a good campsite should be. Facilities were great. Clean showers and toilets and you always saw the staff going around and cleaning and tidying up. They were all friendly. Yes there were the usual one or two campers doing your not with music and BBQ smoke but thats what its all about and nothing Cobleland could do more to make sure your stay was a good one.

If you are a mountain biker or walker then this is a great location to base yourself. The proximity of Aberfoyle is also great with a park for kids and plenty places for a good nosh.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Although this is a very good campsite and the facilities are very good, the fact that dogs are allowed is very dangerous if you have kids. Most of the dog owners are responsible but there are a few that don't care. My 7 year old daughter was chased by some kind of bull terrier and was only saved when my wife and the guy in the next pitch intervened (I was on another part of the site). The incident was reported to the wardens but nothing was done. We ended up packing up our stuff at 2200hrs and leaving (thanks to the kind lady in the pitch next to us who helped) as the dog owner and his 'mates' continued to get drunk and laugh at the situation. We reported this to the police. Don't go if you have kids and don't have a dog.

Stayed: June 2014
6  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned from a weekend camping at this site. It is an ideal location for walking in the forest and by the river. Staff were very helpful and the place is spotless. We had our 4 year old son with us who took part in the ranger activities and had lots of fun playing in the river and in the play park. We ended up staying an extra night and can't wait to go back! The Macdonald family

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrGTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Visited Cobleland twice so far this summer and have really enjoyed both visits. Staff were brilliant showed us to the pitch etc. Co-op in aberfoyle is 5 mins drive up the road and stocks all the usual stuff. This site is a Superb place for dog walks. There's one directly from the site that leads into a maze of walks all around the Aberfoyle area. We left from the site last weekend and walked about 13 - 14 miles up past Aberfoyle towards Milton and a circular walk to loch ard past 'rob Roy's' cave then back to the site. Stunning scenery and don't know why but there's no midges this year up there!! That makes a huge difference in this area and because of it we intend going back for a third visit to make the best of it.
We only stay 45 mins from the site but it's well worth travelling further for!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tourgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank M5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cobleland Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobleland Campsite

Address: Station Road | Gartmore, Stirlingshire, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Gartmore
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There can be no more enchanting place than Cobleland Camping in the Forest campsite, situated on the grassy banks of the River Forth, shaded by magnificent oak trees in the Lomond and Trossachs National Park. For campers looking for the ultimate in seclusion, the campsite sits within the Queen Elizabeth Forest Park and is adjacent to the Loch Ard Forest with over 21 miles of picturesque forest trails - perfect for walking and cycling; providing you with a truly authentic back to nature camping experience. The woodlands, mountains, rivers and lochs of this area are rich in wildlife and if you are lucky, you may spot one of the many native animals including deer, red squirrels or the secretive Scottish wildcat. There are also two wildlife walks on the campsite which are perfect for helping campers to really get to know the local flora and fauna. Dogs are welcome on this site and there are toilets and showers including disabled facilities available, as well as a launderette. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cobleland Campsite Gartmore, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing