We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers comes to Scotland!”
Review of Gartmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gartmore House
Ranked #3 of 4 Gartmore B&B and Inns
Kerteh, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers comes to Scotland!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight as part of a Groupon deal, and while we still got value for money, there's lots could be improved.

The location of the hotel is lovely, just a few miles from Aberfoyle, Drymen, 3 Lochs Drive and more,but on arrival the hotel from outside looks old and unloved. There's no signs to direct you to reception, or people to help with your luggage.

Inside, the hotel is dated and quite bare, just like a big old house.

Check in was fine, and our room was great... a huge room with lovely view, and large bathroom. It was very clean and surprisingly warm for such an old building.

There's not really a bar/ coffee room but there is a big lounge with tv.

We had to pre-order dinner which was fine, but the dinner experience itself was just like something out of Fawlty towers. Given that we had to pre-order it should have been relatively simple to just deliver the food to our tables. Not so. Not only was the wrong food delivered to the table, but the main courses were delivered before the starter.

To be fair, the staff were all new, but they would come out of the kitchen with 2 meals, wander around the dining room looking at tables, asking a few people if they were waiting for food, and then disappear back into the kitchen.

We asked for a bottle of wine, but had to wait 20 minutes to get it.

The only good thing was that instead of everyone in the dining room getting annoyed, every one was laughing and making jokes when the staff disappeared into the kitchen.

The food itself was okay, nothing special but given that we paid £60 for dinner, bed & breakfast, it was fine.

Breakfast was okay, but for some reason they put the buffet out in the corridor which was a bit strange, and there was a 40 min wait for eggs.

All in all, it was good for what we paid, but I don't think we would rush back anytime soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyIrving121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    78
    35
    21
    20
See reviews for
36
110
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My husband and three children stayed here in April on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The house is a lovely old house but in need of some serious investment. The decor is old, water damaged and the carpets threadbare. I have to disagree with other reviewers as the food at dinner was pretty awful. My daughter could not eat the pork in her starter as it was rock hard, her chicken in the thai green curry was overcooked. My husband and I paid a supplement each for the steak and home made chips but our steaks were covered in oil and rosemary and pretty poor quality. The chips were most definitely frozen oven chips and the desserts pretty awful. Trifle was a tin of fruit cocktail with squirty cream. I never bothered going for breakfast although my husband and children said it was good a big improvement on dinner. Staff were friendly and helpful but I felt mislead with the advertising of it being a country house hotel it felt more like a youth hostel. The best thing about this place is the location and the view.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann D, Manager at Gartmore House, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear HHLiz, Thank you for your feed back regard your stay at Gartmore House in April 2013. I am sorry that the quality of food served was poor, the Chef on duty that night no longer works at Gartmore. Thank you again for feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed overnight on a voucher deal and was far from disappointed! A huge old mansion set in lovely grounds, so quiet and peaceful. No probs at check in, room wasn't the biggest, but fine for sleeping as there is a huge lounge to chill out in with the bottle of wine which was included in the price! Going back to the room, congratulations to Rosemary Coe and housekeeping team as the room was spotless! Evening meal was superb(HUGE portions!)as was the buffet breakfast! All staff were very friendly but professional (hi Darryl!). Congratulations to you all for a lovely wee break away and look forward to our next stay with you!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carnic_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My son was doing a charity cycle ride and we spent one night at this hotel. They were very accommodating to us . The dinner and breakfast were delicious.
It's a large house that is now a hotel and it has an interesting history.
Thank you to all the staff for your help and generosity!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moxxy-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We booked a special deal at this retreat for Dinner, bed & breakfast so it was good for what we paid. It's a nice drive to the hotel but the place does not look appealing from outside. Check in is 4 pm - they do not do lunches or have much of a bar. The room was ideal and clean apart from the dated and stained shagpile carpet. You have to pre-order dinner but unfortunatley there were new staff serving and this was a bit frustrating to watch. Breakfast was much better. You are situated a few miles from Aberfoyle and the surrounding area is stunning. The Wee Bleather Tearoom is a must!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel on the top (3rd) floor which was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gllasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a well run spotless hotel ..in need of repair but this only adds to its charm......its set in the middle of nowhere which means its a great place to get away from it all also there is no tv ...which i think is a good thing and the grounds outside are amazing the trees and views outside are great for photos and the food is first class bar prices are cheaper than most hotels and the staff are lovely, not a hotel for a week but defo for an overnight stay or weekend away !!!!! One more thing the guy who owns this also owns the Blythswood hotel in glasgow and has conections with gleneagles and all mattresses used are from the Gleneagles Hotel so therefor a great nights sleep aswell x

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelyn9cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Had a lovely stay here, the staff were excellent and very welcoming. The weather was really wet and overcast but still had the most amazing views over the Trossachs it really is an oasis. No Wifi, no televisions in the room so was really nice to have a complete break. There is lovely walks from the Hotel and ideal if you are looking for a chill out. The breakfast was first class, fresh and really hot.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAHTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gartmore
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
649 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
668 reviews
13.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
14.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gartmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartmore House

Property: Gartmore House
Address: 1 Gartmore, Gartmore, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Gartmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gartmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gartmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gartmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gartmore House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing