We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts, Food, and Accommodations”
Review of Sinclair House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helensburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sinclair House B&B
Ranked #5 of 21 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Kingston, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Hosts, Food, and Accommodations”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed two nights in May 2013 at the Sinclair House and totally enjoyed my stay. The hosts Iain and Ishbel were delightful and very helpful and the location is second to none. There were many breakfast options and breakfast was served promptly at the time requested. Having access to secure wifi, tea, cookies, candy bars, and bottled water at no additional cost were unexpected treats. Ian and Ishbel truly have thought of everything ... a laptop in the room, bluerays and umbrella's available for you to borrow. The room was very bright and well decorated. The bed was the comfiest that I have slept in.

Room Tip: We had room two with a sitting area ... provided space for both of us to have some down time. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    19
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
113
22
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop on our tour of Scotland. We decided on Helensburgh as a base to visit the Loch Lomond area and found Sinclair House from the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor.

We stayed for two nights in Room 4 and had an excellent stay.

The room was very comfortable and had everything (and more) than you would expect. The added bonus of 3d Tv, sky, ipod dock, blue-ray dvd player and a laptop to use were lovely touches if you wanted to use them. The owners (Iain and Ishbel) had also taken the time to add links on the laptop of local restaurants and attractions. They also had a list of DVDs you could borrow off them to watch during your stay. We didn't take up this offer as we were out both evenings but it was nice to know we could.

There were tea and coffee making facilities plus a mini fridge big enough to hold drinks if we wanted. This would be nice to keep a bottle of wine/beers cool if you wanted a night in.

The bathroom was very nice. It was a good size with a big shower unit and very modern facilities. Again the little touches included shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and other toiletries which made it very welcoming. The towels were pristine white and fluffy.

Room 4 has a king size bed which was very comfortable (firm mattress) and allowed for two good nights sleep!

Breakfast was very nice and we pre-ordered the night before which meant there was no waiting round. Good options and tasty.

We really enjoyed our stay and in particular liked that the rooms had a separate entrance to the main house so you didn't feel like you were intruding and was very private for the guests to come and go and relax in their own rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gadgetmadman, Owner at Sinclair House B&B, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review which, from our point of view, was excellent. We do like to have as many options as possible available for our guests and to be honest, the majority of the movies, Sky channels etc. are to help our business guests refrain from spending every evening in the pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Enjoyed two nights at this top notch B&B - super Internet access, delicious breakfasts, comfortable and immaculate rooms. Our hosts made us feel welcomed and comfortable. Would stay again and recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabiru
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is by far the best accommodation I have stayed at in the UK
There was nothing left out by way of comforts.
Iain & Ishbel have thought of everything the breakfasts are great and they are wonderful hosts most willing to give advise and a mine of information.
If you are visiting Helensburgh or Loch Lomand it would be madness to stay anywhere else.
Facilities include WiFi, Blue Ray, Laptop, all bathroom requirements +, free Videos and lots of other additions to numerous to enumerate.
I highly recommend it.
Robert Hay-Hendry Jabiru Australia

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Good food, Good service. Friendly hosts. Room was very comfortable and there was lots of little touches to make you feel welcome. Nice and quiet. Very near town and beach is easily within walking distance. Could not fault it. Would not hesitate to book this bed and breakfast again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Great rooms - clean, modern, spacious and comfortable. Excellent breakfast - huge choice! Friendly owners. Great location. Blueray and flat screens in all rooms with a wide variety of dvds to choose from. Free wifi too! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed here 13 th april for 1 night. This is an amazing B&B. The rooms are excellent,the breakfast is amazing. Definately the best I have ever been in. Will be back next year.
Mrs Aileen McElroy Edinburgh

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helensburgh
2.1 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Helensburgh Seafront
5.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
11.6 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
1.3 mi away
Ardencaple Hotel
Ardencaple Hotel
#2 of 4 in Rhu
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclair House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclair House B&B

Property: Sinclair House B&B
Address: 91/93 Sinclair Street, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 8TR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sinclair House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sinclair House is a small 4 bedroom Bed & Breakfast located on the edge of the town centre with just a short walk to all the town's amenities. With all services free, we hope you will find the car park, internet access, on-line laptop, Blu-ray player, 32” LCD TV, fridge, clock radio with iPod/iPhone dock and that fact that all our rooms have en-suite facilities to your liking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sinclair House B&B Helensburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing