We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Home Cooked Quality Food”
Review of Riverbank Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

Riverbank Bar and Restaurant
Price range: US$6 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Pizzeria featuring wood burning oven. Opening May2017
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh Home Cooked Quality Food”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Riverbank offers great value for money & home cooked food made to order. No processed or microwave rubbish like some of the other local Pub Restaurants, just a great selection of traditional pub classics & family favourites using freshly made ingredients. If you care about what you eat, Riverbank is the best Pub Restaurant in Helensburgh.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DawnAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    84
    26
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A WEE GEM”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Up from London so went to the riverside Saturday nite with family,what a great little restaurant.We had to wait a while,but it was soo worth it.Everything freshly cooked(i had fish & chips)the atmosphere and staff was fab.Would definatley recommend it

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suebmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasteless burger!”
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

Tried the classic burger and have to say its the worst burger I've eaten in a long time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mickeyblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Riverbank Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thanks for setting up an account especially to review us by mobile and we appreciate all reviews good or bad. I'm suprised at your brief feedback as our burgers are homemade on the premises using top quality beef from K.Walker Butchers of Kilcreggan. We have customers from far afield who love them and return for them week after week. However your review did appear after a chain restaurant opened up around the corner selling cheap burgers and I can only imagine they are more to your liking. Sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely for Tapas”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We visited Riverbank Bar and Restaurant on a Tuesday, whilst looking for somewhere to grab a bite to eat on our way to the hotel. It was Tapas night and the food was delicious. The restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and the staff were very attentive.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NickF88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent - real goulash!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We visited the Riverbank on a Sunday afternoon, on the strength of the reviews on TripAdvisor. We certainly weren't disappointed! We were given a choice of tables, despite not having made a reservation, and despite it being reasonably busy.

Our waiter, Scotty, was superb - there were a few items which weren't available on the menu, but he was really apologetic when explaining this to every customer, and he turned what could have been a negative into a situation where we felt like telling him he didn't have to apologise so much!

The menu is medium-sized, but extremely well-executed. My wife had the Pollo Milanese, which she said was head and shoulders above the meal she had had the previous evening in another establishment on Loch Lomond. My goulash was fantastic - it was really obvious that it was cooked by a chef from Eastern Europe; he got it absolutely spot on, given that so many restaurants seem to forget that you're supposed to be able to taste the paprika in it. The meat was extremely tender; a sure sign that the chef knows what he's doing. Since Milan isn't Hungarian, I'll forgive him the fact that the goulash wasn't served as a soup. ;-)

The desserts were excellent as well, although due to raving about the quality of the goulash, I've completely forgotten what they were.

Finally, value for money; again, absolutely excellent. Two superior meals for the same amount as two main courses had cost the previous evening. For anyone staying in the Loch Lomond area, I would heartily recommend the detour across to Helensburgh to eat in the Riverbank.

Cara and Milan - keep the standards where they are now, hold onto your waiting staff, and you have a winner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarrenNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverbank Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing