We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #18 of 20 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed for one night room was lovely very clean, four poster bed excellent shower, food was excellent from the curry club next door and breakfast was good too,customer service was second to none thank u Rocky and Barjit :) we've already booked our next stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anacabana63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    18
    18
    9
    16
See reviews for
9
28
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed at the county hotel for 7 nights. my room was clean and all the staff are friendly, I enjoyed my stay, its only a 10 min walk into Helensburgh town centre lovely place I would go back again. I read some bad reviews about the county but I don't think they are all justified.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aboyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed on an overnight stay, reasonable price for room , had just had a refurbish carpets didn't go to the wall , very cheap and nasty hanging rail for clothes could have fitted a wardrobe in would look a lot better, tv on wall but very small screen, also tea, coffee provided but very small cups and just left on a small table should have been on a tray . VERY noisy loud noise from extracter fan from nexdoor from takeaway did stop very late on .Also walls that thin heard person in next room snoring as well .Breakfast was very greasy spoon egg not cooked properly also think must have been fried in same fat as bacon as all that brown way ok if you liked beans as half the plate consisted of them alll in all cheap and nasty very disappointed could do so much better with a little bit more effort

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carol0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

the hotel is clean and modern my room had a double wardrobe with full length mirror a hair dryer and tea and coffee making equipement, there were fresh towels daily and complimentary toiletries in the fully equipped bathroom. there is a tv in the room and free wifi threw out the hotel. breakfast was delicious and cooked freshly i had coffee, fresh orange, cereal and a full english with extra toast. all staff were very friendly and helpful and knowledgeable about the area. i had my own key so could come an go at any time and nobody complained when i came in at 3am, this is my second stay at the county and i would stay here again loved it

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noeleen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The County Hotel appears to be undergoing something of a DIY make-over which judging from other trip advisor posts has been a work in progress for at least two years. On arrival, I drove past the hotel twice as it was covered with scaffolding and I couldn't quite believe that was really it. On being shown to my room, I realised that the walls were paper thin when I could hear television noise from other rooms. The laminate flooring in the corridor also made it very noisy. One of the two windows in my room was strangely shared with the en-suite and a wardrobe was conveniently placed in an attempt to disguise this. While the DIY decor is of a poor quality, it does beg the question as to the standard of the plumbing and wiring. The lights in the stair weren't properly fixed to the ceiling and the extensive use of electrical tape and absence of a lamp in the emergency light was worrying. Breakfast was OK but in spite of the large coffee machine in the breakfast room, Nescafé served in a coffee pot appeared to be the order of the day. All-in-all a pity because this could be a nice hotel some day but I fear that won't be anytime soon. In the meantime, avoid. The Travelodge is much better.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
10 Thank Shetlander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarpreetSingh84, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
To Shetlander

A DIY make-over would imply that we are doing the work ourselves, considering we have contractors working on the project that would only mean that we are overseeing the project.

The hotel has 3 walls facing the main road 2 gable ends and 1 fairly large front approximately 20 metres. Only the gable ends (5 metres each) had the scaffolding so to say it was covered is an exaggeration as only 1/3 of the building was scaffolding. It had scaffolding if you had asked was due to the slightly good weather allowing us to remove cladding and have roughcasting done to replace the old tired cladding that was there before. Alot of reviews even mention the old cladding and can still be seen from photos as I dont intend to change the photos until I have got all the work done outside including the tarmac. We have started the work outside as the good weather will allow it to set alot better than doing it in the cold weather. If we had scaffolding its because we are improving the building. Lastly on this point when the rooms were being booked I did point this out to the person who booked the room.


If people watch tv at a loud volume then even stone walls wont block that out, secondly it was all Councillors staying that night so they were most likely on your council board as well.

I cant help the laminate flooring in the near future and i disagree that it is so noisy that you could hear it in your room.


The window had a big wall separating the two windows so how it was shared is beyond me, the cupboard was placed in a corner like cupboards usually are, it was in front of the window only because, there was a bed against one wall and a tv in the other corner, so logically the only other available corners were at the window or at the door and considering the door wont open if a cupboard is placed there then again the window would seem ideal, I am baffled by this complaint.

If you had a problem with the interior etc as you claim you do then you should of brought it to the attention of staff. I love how you complain online and make a scene of it but said not a word in the hotel I accept criticism where its due but in this case its not.

Breakfast was included in the rate, a full fry up at an awkward time in the morning, you wont get that service at Travelodge. The coffee machine is not connected to a water supply in case you think we were false advertising. We will have the coffee machine up and running once the renovations are complete and we haven't started in the breakfast room yet for the record. We start 1 area of the hotel at a time. Usually the refurbishment area is closed off if we cant close completely for the duration of works. As it was outside work it cant be avoided same as in our local town where the road and pavement is all dug up but people are still expected to walk among the rubble.

I think you simply should have been open and honest at the hotel and said you dont want to stay and we could of arranged alternative accommodation but instead you chose to walk away quitely, didnt mention 1 single comment at the hotel and wrote your complaint online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Helensburgh hotels

Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were in town for a family party and booked in here. I'm an entertainer and have stayed in a LOT of hotels but very few have ever been as good as this.
The room (room 10) was very well decorated and was complete with what you would expect from a hotel of this grade; TV, ensuite & tea/coffee facilities. However, there was also a full range of complimentary toiletries in the SPOTLESS ensuite which also sported a huge gleaming shower!! The room itself was also extremely clean with nice, fresh, clean and well presented bedding. Unlike most hotels of this size, the wifi was free and very fast!!
The young couple who run the hotel were probably the nicest hoteliers I've ever met and seemed to genuinely care that our stay was pleasant and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.
I see from other reviews on here that it seems they've had to work hard to bring this hotel up to scratch from the previous owners but they seem to be winning as I'd happily go back and stay here anytime!
I almost forgot the breakfast!! A very welcome and filling (and very tasty) full cooked breakfast was enjoyed by all!! Our daughter asked for bacon, sausage & egg (with no yolk) and got a bumper portion that was so big I had to help her!!
Would recommend The County Hotel to anyone looking to book a break in the Helensburgh area!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarpreetSingh84, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hi Kris B

Thank you for noticing our efforts, it has been hard work and we are getting there the buildings looking alot healthier since we have took and over and are continuing our efforts to modernise it.

We try to learn from our reviews positive and negative, where we can be hospitable we will give it our best efforts, glad you enjoyed your stay

Harpreet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We ended up extending our stay here to 4 nights. The couple who run the hotel are charming and incredibly helpful - nothing is too much trouble! The rooms are freshly decorated so nice and bright and also spotlessly clean with really comfortable beds. Common areas are a "work in progress" (the only reason for not giving the County a 5* rating) and there is off-street parking. Breakfast was excellent and portion sizes are good. The meal arrangements work really well - the Indian food we had was really good (we could have slept under the naan - it was huge!), the kebabs we had on the second night were also excellent. They ordered the food for us and brought it to the table with ice cold beers and soft drinks so it was as close as it could be to a proper dining room. We ate our meals in the dining room which was well laid out with tables big enough for food, the newspaper and laptops! Little touches like free wifi all over the hotel, cosmetics in bathrooms and fluffy towels and bathmats make this more like a 3* than a 2* hotel and it was extremely good value for money.
The location is good - we explored all the way up to Inverness and across to Oban from here, and the town, although a building site at the moment as they regenerate the seafront, is full of quirky shops and cafes with a station link to Glasgow and Edinburgh. We're definitely going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarpreetSingh84, Manager at County Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear SJM

Glad you enjoyed your stay, its nice to know that you noticed all the facilities that we have, and the ones that we have got you have mentioned they are of quality. Its great to hear you enjoyed the food as well, as you know we are hoping to open an indian restaurant in the same area permanently so hopefully that will be up and running when you stay with us again.

Also the tourist board have been visited and we have enrolled into their visit helensburgh scheme they were impressed with the hotel and simply were unaware of the new ownership even though Tasha had been using Curry Club during her school term.

Thanks again for for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit it was a pleasure

Kind regards
Harpreet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helensburgh
2.9 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#2 of 4 in Garelochhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Moore Inn B&B
The Moore Inn B&B
#1 of 5 in Helensburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: Old Luss Road, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 7BH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — County Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run hotel, we are located within 15 minutes (walking) distance from the town centre. Beautiful view of the firth of clyde from the seafront which is again 10 minutes walking distance.We have 15 ensuite rooms all with freeview channels, free wifi in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Helensburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing