We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Riverhill Deli & Cafe - CLOSED

Riverhill Deli & Cafe
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 01436 677 575
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Have been to Riverhill for lunch a couple of times. The food is great and the staff are friendly. Last time I was there I had eggs royale (the smoked salmon was delicious!) then a huge empire biscuit (recommended by the waitress), which was very tasty. The coffee is also fantastic.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LocoPoco12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    25
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a way to start the day”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Drove to Riverhill from Glasgow and there for 9am. Nothing too much trouble here. Lovely cheese omelette with very fresh leaves and sublime coffee. Bought a bake well tart to go....excellent lovely jam and so fresh. Never had any disappointing food here. Anne De'Ath

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fine dining, without the price”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We come to Helensburgh several times a year, but this is the first time we have eaten at the deli. Wish I had been before. Even on a cold dark Friday evening most tables were full, we were lucky to get in. The service is excellent just right. The food is some of the best I have had in a long while, all freshly cooked. The menu although small had some great choices, I had the crab cakes for a starter and they melted in your mouth. Go here if you are in the area but suggest you book

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank odette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Another warm welcome”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Riverhill offers friendly, swift service and delicious food. I live in London but whenever I visit Helensburgh I always go to Riverhill for lunch and a cuppa.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best independent eaterie for miles”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Coming from the south, this place is superb value for money both for the range, quality and portion sizes delivered by the menu but also because the service is first class.
Cute and quirky in the midst of Helensburgh; it's not dissimilar to, but tenfold better than, Pierrepont in Goring on Thames.
Delicious frittata and scrumptious oversized sarnies.
Went in search of Riverhill in Glasgow as a result of our visit.
We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank katiclio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverhill Deli & Cafe also viewed

Rosneath, Helensburgh
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing