We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taste the MSG”
Review of Mandarin

Mandarin
Ranked #15 of 60 Restaurants in Helensburgh
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taste the MSG”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Overly salty, msg on everything, disinterested service and stand of fish atmosphere. It's not somewhere I would reccomend

Helpful?
Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    45
    15
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently had the pleasure of returning to the Mandarin Restaurant in Helensburgh, Scotland, having had a brilliant time last time we visited this friendly restaurant and were hoping for the same experience this time, and we weren't disappointed. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and the food was excellent quality and plenty of it. We had one of the banquets with wine and drinks and the bill came to about £130 for four of us, good value for money. If you are in the area, or close to it, it's worth making the effort to go to this excellent restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Just another Chinese”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Passing through Helensburgh on a wet Sunday night, we stopped here for dinner.
It's small, with friendly staff, quite busy when we entered but quietened down and at 8.30 we were the only ones left. Steady local take away trade which is always a good sign
Our meal wasn't the best Chinese we've eaten but then again it wasn't the worst either, so was perfectly adequate and did the job.
We would eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueChip1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great takeaways”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Great takeaways, excellent food, never disappointed. Only missing one star as the restaurant could be bigger and a pain of a delivery charge.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal in the Mandarin...”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It's a household name in the area. Their food is fantastic, just as it was when they ran the Ruby for many years. Just thinking abt it one salivates... I'll be back soon!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LJT0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandarin also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Rosneath, Helensburgh
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Mandarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing