We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Fabulous Stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helensburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
No.20 Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 21 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Telford
1 review
“2nd Fabulous Stay!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We recently took Canadian friends on a whistlestop tour of Scotland finishing up staying with Cat, Tobby and Tiegan (and their lovable new puppy Thistle) on our last night together. My husband and I stayed at No 20 on our way to Skye in April and immediately booked it for our trip in August. It is the most luxurious, welcoming and friendly B&B we have stayed in, nothing is too much trouble and the Afternoon Tea and chat on arrival makes you feel like you have come home. You arrive as guests and leave as friends. Better than any hotel we have stayed at in this country (and that's quite a few).
Marion & Paul

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheStylers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
361
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I can only be bothered to write a review if I experience something outstanding ( or terrible!)
Cat and Toby have created a welcoming special place.
On arrival you are greater with hot scones and a nice cup of tea, it is amazing but the treating doesn't feel like they've done this hundreds of time before, they genuinely seem please to meet you.
In our room we had a huge comfortable bed and an amazing seating area to watch the tide come in and out with the birds.
Breakfast was nice with huge portions ( no need to eat till dinner).
The styling of the house is really classy, it's got a boutique feel but with unique interesting touches.
Cat and Toby work really well together and they give the X factor, you know when you leave somewhere and think as a whole experience that was special.

Room Tip: Heron - huge bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baker_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night during a 2 week tour of Scotland after finding the recommendation through TripAdvisor, and this was definitely the best B&B we stayed in during our trip. We stayed in the Heron which had the most comfy bed I have ever slept in and was such a treat after camping the previous 4 nights! The tea and scones on arrival were a lovely extra touch, and the delicious breakfast set us up for walking up Ben Lomond the following day. Catriona and Tobby were very welcoming, recommended some restaurants in the local area, and generally nothing was too much trouble for them. Its a shame we were only here one night and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyandDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

For my boyfriends 30th birthday I took him for a long weekend in Scotland and stayed here for 3 nights. I was so pleased with my choice and could not fault No 20 at all. It is beautifully decorated and a real luxury from big fluffy bath towels to a homemade warm scone and tea on arrival. Cat and Toby were so friendly and helpful with all their advice, I hadn't planned any specific places to visit while we were there and followed their advice everyday, which was perfect, we visited some pretty little towns, saw some amazing views and eat some yummy food (including Cat's breakfast everyday - pancakes were delicious!). I highly recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I recently went on our honeymoon to Scotland. We wanted to start our trip near Loch Lomond so I booked the first 2 nights of our stay at this lovely B&B we found through TripAdvisor. We couldn't have been happier with our decision! Cat, Tobby, Tiegan, & their puppy Thistle welcomed us with such warmth, we instantly felt at home. A pot of tea & warm scones upon arrival were just perfect after our long flight & drive in from Glasgow. We stayed in The Heron room, which was so spacious and had great views of the estuary. The adjoining bathroom was beautiful with a large tub/shower (big, comfy robes were provided for the short walk between the bedroom & bathroom). Our room was decorated with rose petals and they even had a bottle of wine waiting for us to celebrate our honeymoon! The B&B is beautifully decorated and feels so "homey." We enjoyed all of Cat & Tobby's restaurant recommendations- spot on & were never disappointed! Tobby even gave us a ride into town one night so that we could enjoy an evening out without having to drive ourselves-so thoughtful! They helped create our itinerary for the day we had to explore as we had left our plans quite flexible. We saw some great sites & found a wonderful whisky shop that was able to ship back to the States. The breakfast on both mornings was delicious! Cat catered to our requests each day and we always had a full, hearty meal to start our day. It was so difficult to leave on our final morning- we had become very comfortable after only 2 nights! I highly recommend a stay at this B&B and would hope to one day return ourselves. We miss Scotland & No20 already!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie_Holland405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for one night in August after seeing the reviews on here. We were not disappointed! Lovely traditional property near the water and the most welcoming hosts ever. Tobby gave us a lift to La Barca in town, what a gent. Breakfast was superb. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed there a four person family and my cousin in August for one night . I think it's the best b&b I ve ever stayed at. Traditional , luxurious, clean . It makes you feel at home. Catriona, Tobby and Tiegan were very polite , warm, friendly and helpful . Elena & Lampros, Athens Greece.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatrionaK64, Owner at No.20 Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Hello Elena and Lampros, THANK YOU so much for reviewing No.20. It was a pleasure having your family stay with us and we do hope that you may return to Scotland again. Hope the weather is not too hot back in Athens, it has turned decidedly wintery here in Helensburgh :o( All the very best from Catriona, Tobby and Tiegan XX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helensburgh
5.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
11.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Helensburgh Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No.20 Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No.20 Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: No.20 Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 20 Craigendoran Avenue, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 7AZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — No.20 Boutique Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea views, Log fires and a little bit of luxury will leave you feeling relaxed and ready for the day ahead. Boutique Bed and Breakfast in Helensburgh, No.20 sits on the banks of the Clyde estuary, only 5 minutes from Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
No.20 Boutique Bed And Breakfast Helensburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing