We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Love This Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of No.20 Boutique Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helensburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
No.20 Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 21 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We Love This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Our 2nd stay at No.20 was better than our 1st. The Curlew room is really comfortable with great views of the Firth of Clyde from the window seat. The breakfast choice is extensive and Cat is always trying out new ideas. The pancakes are delicious and the full Scottish is great as well. This B&B is well situated for Helensburgh town centre with a good selection of cafés and restaurants as well as for Loch Lomond and Glasgow. Catriona, Tobby and Tiegan are amazing hosts. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bolgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
346
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our first stay at No 20, we had a tastefully decorated double ensuite room. It was spotlessly clean and felt very comfortable. Cat's coooking is fab, we loved the afternoon tea and breakfast was a real treat, with so much choice. Cat and Toby are very warm friendly hosts, we were made to feel welcome and at home, it is a place you can feel relaxed and take time to unwind. It will be our first choice when we return to Helensburgh.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lioness103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I can't say enough good about this B&B. Cat & Tobby are super warm and friendly. Felt like family and long time friends. My husband said he felt like he could've talked to Tobby for a very long time (not something my more introverted hubby says alot). Beautiful room (Oyster Catcher). Parking is tough but it was worth it. The food was wonderful. WiFi was okay but we found it to be "okay" but not great on most of our trip. The price was great for accommodations. Then as we were paying, they informed us since my husband was former military we got a discount. That was a very wonderful surprise. And the fact that we are foreigners (with a different military) and still got it was even more of one. Cat & Tobby are wonderful people who provide excellent accommodations and I would recommend them to anyone staying in the Helensburgh area. If they were closer, I'd visit all the time. I have given up calling this the No 20 B&B -- I just call it the Cat & Tobby place and my husband understands :) Yes, it was that good :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oyster Catcher and it was great. From the reviews, it sounds like they all are. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is the 3rd time that I have stayed with Tobby and Cat @ no.20 and it just gets better! The rooms are ALL beautiful, with such attention to detail. Lovely views from my window seat out over the water in The Oyster Catcher bedroom. The breakfast are simply amazing with such a wide choice, it's hard to decide what to have each morning. From the Full Scottish, French toast with Brie and smoked bacon...and perhaps a little maple syrup! 3 choices of pancakes with various toppings and the scrambled egg is simply divine....just to name a few!
I would not consider staying anywhere else and have just loved my stays, I always leave feeling that I have stayed somewhere special and it's the people that make the stay extra wonderful. I look forward to coming again soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful but as a solo traveller I love the Oyster Catcher best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntisland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Beautiful house, lovey ambience to the guest areas, very comfortable room, very tasty food and really accommodating hosts. Cat is very interesting to talk to and helpful about the area. Scotland needs more hosts like her!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Cat and Toby were wonderful hosts. The house is magnificent, very comfortable and perfect base to explore trossachs. Breakfast simply divine. We slept very well, room are spacious and very nice decorated. What else....just half hour from Glasgow airport . Strongly recomend

Room Tip: All the room were nice. We had the oyster catch, really really deserves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 71Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had the pleasure to stay at No.20 last night. The whole house is so warm and welcoming. Our room had a view of the sea and it was wonderful to sit and look out and just unwind. Our breakfast was second to none as we had pre ordered and was ready on time as we had to leave early. We would definitely stay here again and would have no hesitation to recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: All rooms en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucylu12310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helensburgh
5.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
1.0 mi away
Balmillig House
Balmillig House
#2 of 21 in Helensburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No.20 Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No.20 Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: No.20 Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 20 Craigendoran Avenue, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 7AZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — No.20 Boutique Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea views, Log fires and a little bit of luxury will leave you feeling relaxed and ready for the day ahead. Boutique Bed and Breakfast in Helensburgh, No.20 sits on the banks of the Clyde estuary, only 5 minutes from Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
No.20 Boutique Bed And Breakfast Helensburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing