We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish but no trash”

MacGillivray's Scottish Gifts and Coffee Shop
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scottish but no trash”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The gifts are the sort locals buy. Not tourist junk. The coffee shop is small but good

Helpful?
1 Thank irene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
w.scotland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We got food poisoning here”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Attracted in by the smell of the soup but in reality it was bland and watery, 2 of us had baked potato with prawns and those two had terrible food poisoning, the floor was dirty with food particles and the service very very slow and curt, only 1 little old fellow with a bad way about him and a grouchy student type who never raised a smile once. We WlLL NOT BE BACK HERE EVER!!!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank happyfaceW_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A homely small cafe, homecooked food and lovely home baking”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Small cafe at rear of shop, a bit messy looking at times with new shop stock lying on unused tables. Quaint vinyl tablecovers, makes you feel you're sitting in your granny's kitchen. Always an unusual delicious homemade soup on the daily menu. Menu small but adequate. Try the garlic prawn toasted sandwich for a very taste of heaven, Mmmmmm. Fantastic.
An array of home baking which for me is a crowd puller. I'd travel miles for genuine home baking. Try the mega huge, freshly made pancakes.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TOKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The reason to visit Helensburgh!!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I recently took a trip to helensburgh with my family, and after strolling about in the sun we decided to go for something to eat. We passed a few cafe's and resteraunts but nothing caught our eye. When we got outside this shop, the smell of lovely homemade soup was so inviting, we knew we had to go in and try it for ourselfs. We found the atmosphere of the place absolutley charming and very inviting. The young dark haired girl who was working, was so lovely and a pleasure to meet, she made us feel very wecome. The owner of the establishment was very friendly and had very good sense of humour, and he made us enjoy our lunch all the more. After we had our lovely soup, we had to try some of the homebaking, which was absoloutley DELICIOUS!! We found the prices very reasonable and good for what we got. Would definatley be coming back here on our next trip to Helensburgh. Was a pleasure.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelyjustlovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“very friendly service, real home baking”
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Great stop for a lunch or coffee. Sandy's soups are pretty special. Margaret's baking is exceptional - she even supplies Harrod's! More like being in someone's living room than in a coffee shop. Gift shop also has some lovely stuff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Balmillig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MacGillivray's Scottish Gifts and Coffee Shop also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing