We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish Curry Award Winner 2015”
Review of The Akash

The Akash
Ranked #34 of 61 Restaurants in Helensburgh
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Scottish Curry Award Winner 2015”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband is from Helensburgh. We routinely eat here and take my mother-in-law.
Food is of a very high standard and proof is from the recent win from The Scottish Curry Awards.
My husband knows his stuff and he rates the food as excellent- no nuclear red blended sauces here. We shared a mixed starter and poppa dons which was beautiful the lamb and chicken were both tender and beautifully spiced. MIL had a brilliant prawn cocktail with a mountain of prawns.
We both had new curries to us and I apologise for forgetting their names but they were both very very good. MIL had her usual steak and chips which they always serve really nicely for her with mushrooms and onions.
The staff are very helpful and always make a point of spending g time chatting with us and making us feel welcome.
All in all a lovely experience and most deserving of the recent award....... Thank You for always looking after us ......... Bill with several beers and large glasses of wine appx £63

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    25
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“now improved”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Good food very nice service good choice of wine friendly atmosphere we feel comfortable , bcoz Akash improve food quality and service , no 28 go down in front of Akash, keep it Akash

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank jack s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Food. Terrific Flavours. No Gimmicks. Scottish Curry Award Winner.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We've been to The Akash a few times and never been disappointed. Last night the meal surpassed all expectations. We had a chef's platter starter to share and my husband had a chicken Murchi Madras and I had a Chicken Tikka. We shared an "elephant's ear" naan bread and a portion of rice. The sauces were fresh, rich and tasty, cooked especially after the staff had asked what food we liked. Our drinks were replenished without having to ask. We've previously tried the Masala Twist which we found to be expensive rubbish. The Akash was authentic (we know our curries), fresh and full of wonderful flavours. The Scottish Curry Awards were right to acknowledge their food and service as Regional Winners.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty welcoming night Out”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The meal was so good I felt I had to write a review. The staff were very welcoming and went out their way to make the meal enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious and the bill was very reasonable. The restaurant itself is a little dated but don't let this put you off, this is the best meal experience I have had in Helensburgh. They recently won an award and it is clear when you eat here why.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rdgaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Award winner restaurant”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

It was great to have dinner on 17th May with my family. It was beyond my expectation. Food and taste was excellent with splendid presentation. Amazing combination of Indianan spices enhanced the taste. Staff was courteous and well behaved. Thank you AKASH.
Sid Sameer

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sameer355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Akash also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Akash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing