We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home”
Review of Balmillig House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmillig House
Ranked #2 of 21 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

this is a first class guest house from the moment we arrived until we left we were treated like family. we were given a cup of tea with home made shortbread and just left to relax in the beautiful sun room/ breakfast area . there is a binder with menus from local eating establishments and if you are still not sure the owners are there to help you decide. they both know the area intimately. this is a real gem of a b and b. rooms are first class and would not look out of place in magazine showing how to do a room makeover . sure to delight one and all

Room Tip: all rooms are great with a colour theme in each
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thanks for your review and we're very glad you found Balmillig such a comfortable place to stay. We also depend on our guests to help make the Balmillig experience one which folk may want to repeat so thanks for your input to that. Hope the rest of your Scotland visit went well and maybe we'll be able to welcome you 'home' another time. All the best from John and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at Balmillig over the May bank holiday and were lucky to have wonderful weather. The house and gardens are fantastic and create a homely, relaxed atmosphere. John and Anne are superb hosts, very friendly and knowledgable, but without being imposing at all. They are both mountain leaders and were genuinely interested in where we had walked each day. We would definitely stay again, and certainly need to plan a return trip soon as we didn't get to do all the things on our list!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

We're very pleased to see such a swift complimentary review. Thank goodness the weather is now good for being on the hills and glad you had the best of the conditions. It has continued through this week and we're looking forward to doing some walking soon ourselves. Our current guests are also making an ascent of Ben Lomond today.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

I took the long pentecost weekend to stay some days near the mountains before moving on to my work conference near Edinburgh. On the map Helensburgh appears slightly outside Loch Lomond and the Trossachs NP but it conveniently close and Helensburgh is just that little bit bigger to give you the facilities you might not find in a small village in the park. Decent restaurants (I ate at Riverbank and La Barca), supermarkets and the like. It can even be reached by train, but for the highlands a car remains recommendable to reach the trails.
But the gem in this all was staying with Anne and John. Their B&B is homely and luxurious at the same time. Very clean, bright and spacious room. Good bed. Wifi throughout at no charge (where fancy hotels will charge you for such a basic ammenity). Value for money is spot on. Breakfast is shared at a table and is simple but good and has all you need.
But the big plus is in Anne and John who are very hospitable without being imposing. They are very knowledgeable about the wider area and have excellent knowledge about hiking the mountains and can even guide you if needed (I skipped that option, but would recommend it to anyone not familiar with the unpredictability of the highlands, they may not be much over 1000m high but they behave like real mountains). This combination of modesty and knowledge is the cherry on the cake. I would definitely return (with or wihout partner) when I am in the area again.

Room Tip: I had the green room, but I got the impression that all rooms were of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skip-DP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Manager at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thanks for such a fantastic review! We'll always be pleased to talk about routes in the mountains and would be delighted to meet your S. another time. The sun is still shining here. All the best Anne and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This was our third stay at Balmillig and, as always, it was an outstanding visit.
The blue room was equal to those in some of the well-regarded hotels we have stayed in and the breakfast was plentiful, varied and beautifully cooked.
We slept like tops - we call it the 'Balmillig magic'.
The location of the house and the lovely garden are very peaceful but we think it is the personalities of the owners which makes Balmillig so calming and special. John and Anne have an unobtrusive warmth and tranquility which is so refreshing and makes guests feel they have left the worries of the world far behind.

Room Tip: We always like the rooms but the 'blue room' was rather special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hutchy68_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

When people return to stay at Balmillig its always the best reassurance that you're doing something right and when they take the time to tell others about their experience then it reinforces that message. Very many thanks for your generous review, we do appreciate it. Delighted to see you again and hope the 'birthday party' was good fun for all. All the very best Anne and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed with Anne and John for one night in Helensburgh. From the moment we arrived they were both welcoming and informative, and wonderfully passionate about the beautiful area they live in. The room was great- lovely and big with a good sized bath. we loved having an i-pad in our room also. Breakfast was equally very good- we only wished we could have stayed longer. I would highly recommend them to anyone. A great find,and a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmalightyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Yes its a shame you didn't have longer here as I'm sure you would have enjoyed it even more - however it means you might have to come back and get round some of the other bits you missed. We might also have some better weather another time. Just now we need just a bit more warmth in the air to welcome the wonderful cherry blossom which will adorn the streets very soon. Thanks very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

A wonderful place to stay made business trip much easier. I stayed at Balmillig House following a 'corporate' booking so was unsure what to expect. This place is a true gem, I was debating with myself whether to recommend or keep the secret safe so I was sure of a room next time.
I stayed in the blue room which was a good size, a super king bed and comfortable chairs to relax and use the iPad to go online.
Lovely ensuite with a great range of products supplied. Good shower pressure!
Only thing that could improve the room would be a large mirror close enough to a power socket to use hair dryer more easily, ( perhaps on inside of wardrobe door so as not to spoil look of room. ) but this is minor compared with all the benefits.

John and Anne were very friendly and were accommodating of my earlier starts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mozzyfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Many thanks for such a promptly written review. We appreciate the time you spent writing it and look forward to welcoming you again soon to Balmillig. Thanks too for the mirror suggestion. Thats exactly the kind of feedback we like to get.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Balmillig is definately the best accommodation we have stayed while being in Helensburgh. Every year we go to Helensburgh for my daughters dancing competition and I have to say that it really was the icing on the cake to have such a pleasant stay. The rooms were beautifully decorated, clean, homely, to be honest Anne and John have put alot of thought into kitting out the rooms. My daughter was very pleased to see an IPad which kept her occupied and there was also toys for my baby daughter!!!!! Both sets of grandpaprents also joined us for the night and they also were very pleased with the accommodation. Right from the moment we arrived we were greeted from Anne and John, our bags were carried to the room and we sat down to a nice cup of trea in the conservatory!!!! Breakfast in the morning was spot on, everyone was accommodated for!!! They also had a sewing kit that I was able to borrow as one of my daugters costumes needed stitched. I will definately be booking with Balmillig every year for the competition!!!!
Thank you Anne and John for making us feel so welcome and for all the information you gave us for visting Stirling Castle, we had a great day there followed with lunch then back to Aberdeen!
Speak to you next year from Sarah, Douglas, Lily-Bell, Lola-Mae, Frances and Lynne.xxx

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Delighted to have such a great review and pleased you had such an enjoyable stay especially when it can be quite stressful at the competition. Look forward to welcoming you again. All the best.
Anne and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helensburgh hotels
5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
1 mi away
No.20 Boutique Bed and Breakfast
2 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
144 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#2 of 4 in Garelochhead
52 reviews
0 mi away
Mambeg Country Guest House
Mambeg Country Guest House
#1 of 4 in Garelochhead
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmillig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmillig House

Address: Balmillig | 64b Colquhoun Street, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmillig House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmillig B&B offers great beds, great showers, great food and a great welcome to this beautiful area. Enjoy a peaceful location, short walk to town, three warm comfortable ensuite rooms, lots of useful information, relaxing gardens, free off street parking, ipads in every room and free wireless broadband throughout. Situated in the seaside town of Helensburgh on the edge of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park and well placed for walkers/bikers on the new John Muir Way and the Three Lochs Way with luggage/person transfers available. A great centre for enjoying the scenic delights of Argyll, Loch Lomond and Stirling while only 45 minutes from Glasgow. Hope you'll visit us sometime soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Balmillig House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmillig House Helensburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing