We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“most comfy bed i've slept in!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmillig House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balmillig House
Ranked #2 of 21 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Innerleithen
1 review
“most comfy bed i've slept in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a long weekend to take part in the Loch Lomond Triathlon and do some additional sight-seeing. Balmillig is a beautiful B&B and our bed was probably the most comfy I've ever slept in!
John and Anne are delighted to share their knowledge about all aspects of the local area and their love for the Loch Lomond National Park...they know the best places, the history and the wildlife.
I have a gluten intolerance (which I'm sure I didn't mention before arrival as I always carry my own bread etc) but Anne had gluten free cereal, biscuits and bread available "in case". The breakfasts were delicious, with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Great review for which many thanks. Glad we helped you enjoy your weekend but although many guests comment on the comfort of our beds we think your exertions in the Triathalon may also have helped you feel the bed to extra comfy! All the best Anne and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
182
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Very beautiful Bed&Breakfast! we were visiting Balmillig within our Scotland tour and stayed for 2 nights. The B&B is well located. the courtyard is full of beautiful flowers and blooming bushes. The room was nice and clean with a great ensuite bath room. Quiet location. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was good with toasts, eggs, etc. Our hosts Anne and John gave us a warm welcome. Very friendly and helpful. They can give great recommendations for hiking tours and places to visit in and around Helensburgh. The restaurant recommendations were also excellent. We had a great stay! Thank you!

Room Tip: The green room. Very nice. Clean. Good beds. Great ensuite bath room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Very many thanks for your review of Balmillig. Very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and the walks around the town. The garden is still looking good and the pond is now a bit more organised. We now have a resident frog in the pond. It must also like the B&B! Thanks again and all the best from us both. Anne and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We came to Scotland and stayed at Balmillig because we visited our daughter, who attended Lomond School for a year and we enjoyed our trip a lot. Balmillig is a great bed and breakfast and Anne and John are wonderful hosts. They were helping us planning our trips and gave us tipps about what to visit and what to leave out.All their rooms are very nice and tidy and the room service is excellent! When we're going to Scotland for another visit we will surely return to Balmillig Bed&Breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Great to have such a good review and delighted you enjoyed your time in Scotland. I think your daughter did too. You'll be most welcome should you come back to Helensburgh. Have a great summer. All the best and haste ye back! Anne and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have family in Helensburgh and like to visit when we can. the last 2 visits we have stayed at Balmillig. Anne and John are wonderful hosts in this superb B & B. Accomodation is so comfortable spotlessly clean and in a lovely quiet and tranquil setting. Great value for money. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thanks for posting a review so quickly after your stay - much appreciated. Its always pleasing when people return and we hope your next stay will be successful in every way. Let us know if 'fishing' is on the menu another time and we'll get our expert's advice for that. Best wishes, Anne and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wingham, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We enjoyed our entire stay in this first class B&B. Highly recommended for its convenient and quiet location, excellent breakfasts, stylish, comfortable, spotless and well appointed accommodation, warm welcome and not least for the delightful, helpful hosts Anne and John.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBellaCCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Many thanks for such a great review. Glad you enjoyed our handy location, quiet so no traffic noise but only a short walk to Helensburgh's great choice of restaurants. Thanks again.
Anne and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at Balmillig in early May on our first night of a long weekend touring Scotland on motorbikes. We were greeted and made welcome by John & Anne and then shown to our fantastic rooms.
Great accommodation, superb breakfast, lovely hosts and very helpful in finding the best places to eat in Helensburgh.
First class, highly recommended and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madratt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Many thanks for your review. Always happy to welcome motorcylists - it looks such an exciting way to travel although I'm sure it must be good to step off onto firm ground at the end of the day's driving. Glad you enjoyed your stay in the town and hope you'll return another time. Happy touring!
Anne and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheddar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

The end of an 8 day tour of western Scottland and we stopped in Helensburgh (sadly the sea front area and town looks to have seen better days), specifically to visit NTS Hill House (superb, well worth a visit!) on our way back to Glasgow Airport, We'd stayed in four other similarly priced (£70'ish) B&Bs on our holiday. Very warm welcome given with tea and shortbread - thanks, much appreciated. The room was excellent, spotlessly clean and well kitted-out for travellers such as us. Lovely comfy beds too! Helpful advice given on local gardens to visit. Minor niggle - communal breakfast arrangements were fine for us (tho' may not suit everyone) but it didn't match the breakfasts we'd enjoyed at all the other B&Bs, I'm afraid. (All had bowls of very appetising fresh fruit on offer such as strawberries, chilled melon slices, grapefuit segments, prunes, apricots plus frequent offers of more toast and tea/cofffee),

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Thanks for your mainly complimentary review. I am glad you enjoyed the communal breakfast table as it really is the essence of the B&B experience and most of our guests seem to thoroughly enjoy meeting new people - breakfast can often take on the atmosphere of a house party and many the convivial and indeed sometimes hilarious international gathering there's been around that table over the years. I'm very sorry you were disappointed by the breakfast. We do in fact provide fruit uncut, but have stopped providing fruit in the way you describe as we found very little of it was being eaten and as a green business we think it important to reduce food waste as much as possible. As for additional tea/toast we do make a point of always offering that and are very sorry that somehow this time you seem to have missed out. It's a pity you didn't mention it at the time as it would have been an easy matter to put right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helensburgh
2.0 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
4.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
7.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.1 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmillig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmillig House

Property: Balmillig House
Address: Balmillig | 64b Colquhoun Street, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmillig House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmillig B&B offers great beds, great showers, great food and a great welcome to this beautiful area. Enjoy a peaceful location, short walk to town, three warm comfortable ensuite rooms, lots of useful information, relaxing gardens, free off street parking, ipads in every room and free wireless broadband throughout. Situated in the seaside town of Helensburgh on the edge of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park and well placed for walkers/bikers on the new John Muir Way and the Three Lochs Way with luggage/person transfers available. A great centre for enjoying the scenic delights of Argyll, Loch Lomond and Stirling while only 45 minutes from Glasgow. Hope you'll visit us sometime soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Balmillig House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmillig House Helensburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing