We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Balmillig House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmillig House
Ranked #2 of 21 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

An excellent B&B. Perfect for stopping off en route to or from the Highlands, but I would also pick this place in future as a peaceful base for business in the area or Glasgow.

The owners are considerate and helpful. They made good recommendations for places to eat and cooked a good breakfast for us.

The rooms were immaculate, clean, bright, newly furnished and spot on. Nice garden too. Off road parking.

Don't put up with second rate alternatives!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Many thanks for such a comprehensive review. We're delighted you'd consider here for a future stay as we are well placed for easy travel to the city or the countryside. Hope to welcome you another time. Best wishes John and Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We started out our bed and breakfast experiences at Balmillig House and discovered by the end of our vacation that our first experience at Balmillig House would end up being our best experience for the entire vacation. The accommodations are spacious, especially the bathrooms and the showers; the breakfasts are exceptional; the grounds are gorgeous; and the hosts are friendly, helpful, and genuine. It felt more like staying at a friend's house than at a bed and breakfast. We very highly recommend Balmillig House!

The Fischers
Racine, Wisconsin

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Wow, can't do much better than that! Very many thanks for such a fabulous review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed meeting you all and helping you to find and experience something of this special area. Its great when people take up our recommendations and then come back delighted with where they've been.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our second visit to Balmillig and it won't be our last. Anne and John make you so welcome from the moment you arrive until you leave. For us its become a great place to relax whilst we visit the area and the friendly flexible manner in which Blamillig is run makes it ideal. We'll be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon5320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Many thanks, Gordon for your review. Glad you like how we operate Balmillig and that you feel comfortable and relaxed being here - that is one of our main aims. When return guests take time to write another positive review, its particularly rewarding. We're sorry we have no space available for you next time but hope we'll see you again. Best regards Anne and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I spent 3 nights at Balmillig House.
On arrival I was welcomed by John, the welcome is warm and friendly.
I was offered a pot of tea and shortbread which went down well.
I enjoyed the tea in the beautiful garden over looking the pond which is nice and relaxing.
I then met Anne who is also friendly.
I was shown to my room the yellow room a double.
The room is a good size with a very comfortable king size bed with quality bedding which made for a good nights sleep.
The room is well decorated, immaculately clean as is the whole house.
There is good built in wardrobe space.
Wifi is available throughout the house with no signal issues.
Tea and coffee is available in your room and is regularly replenished.
The ensuite bathroom has a good warm power shower with toiletries supplied.
The towels are nice and soft.
The breakfasts are very good you have a choice between continental or a cooked.
The food is good and it sets you up for the day.
There is a nice conservatory where there is a lot of information about the area.
John and Anne are excellent hosts they cannot do enough for you, they run a top class b and b.
The local area is lovely and quiet at night.
I highly recommend Balmillig House.
Book and enjoy John and Anne's excellent hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms would be of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saltire_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Very many thanks for such a comprehensive and complimentary review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and had such good weather to get out and about in this lovely area. Lots to see and do as you say and more to entertain you if you return as we hope you will. All the best from Anne and John. PS Glad you liked the pond - its taken a lot longer than we thought to get it finished. The sticklebacks arrive on Tuesday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

enjoyed 2 nights bed & breakfast at Balmillig with 2 excellent hosts John & Anne. you are made to feel at home as soon as you arrive and the accommodation is first class the room being far more personnel than any hotel and the breakfast excellent, we particularly enjoyed the fact that all the guests sat at the breakfast table together so we met 4 lovely Americans and had a lovely interesting breakfast time.many thanks for a memorable stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLTManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thanks for taking time to review us and glad you also enjoyed our 'one big table' arrangement for breakfast time. We often have some very interesting, enjoyable and international discussions around the table and as a result have resisted the trend to providing separate tables for our guests. We think it helps make the B&B experience unique. Thanks again, Anne and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

It was our first week in scotland ever and Balmillig set a very high standard for all our future visits in GB. The room was excellent and John an Anne were very helpful, whenever we needed their support. We traveled by train and had a very good connection to Glasgow and Edinburgh. And above all, they arranged sunshine allday long and interesting co-guests at the breakfasttable. If we will come again in this part of scotland, we would try to get a room in Balmillig.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudolf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

We enjoyed your visit here very much and are glad to see you had a good week at Balmillig. Sunshine is hard to arrange for a whole week but recently it has not been difficult! If you are back this way we'd love to see you again. Best regards Anne and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Four of us stayed at Balmillig for 2 nights en route from Skye to London by train. We were welcomed by John as we got off the train at Helensburgh Upper station and taken in his car with all our luggage to Balmillig. This was most welcome as it was an extremely hot day. We were then offered a 'life saving' pot of tea and shown to our beautifully appointed rooms. Breakfast was a real treat - home cooked to order. After 2 lovely days in Helensburgh Anne kindly dropped us off at Helensburgh Central to catch the train to Glasgow en route to Euston. They quite literally went the 'extra mile' for us and made us feel as though we old friends returning to a delightful B & B and not just visiting Balmillig for the 1st time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertchantryprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

We're glad you enjoyed your stay here at Balmillig. We were pleased to help with the station transfers and it is really no problem for us to help out in that way. Happy to welcome you as old friends should you return this way. All the best, Anne and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helensburgh
2.0 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Helensburgh Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
4.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
11.5 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmillig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmillig House

Address: Balmillig | 64b Colquhoun Street, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range: £64 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmillig House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmillig B&B offers great beds, great showers, great food and a great welcome to this beautiful area. Enjoy a peaceful location, short walk to town, three warm comfortable ensuite rooms, lots of useful information, relaxing gardens, free off street parking, ipads in every room and free wireless broadband throughout. Situated in the seaside town of Helensburgh on the edge of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park and well placed for walkers/bikers on the new John Muir Way and the Three Lochs Way with luggage/person transfers available. A great centre for enjoying the scenic delights of Argyll, Loch Lomond and Stirling while only 45 minutes from Glasgow. Hope you'll visit us sometime soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Balmillig House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmillig House Helensburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing