We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you Ann and John for a super visit to Helensburgh, Oban,and Dunoon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balmillig House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balmillig House
Ranked #2 of 21 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alpha,'Il
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you Ann and John for a super visit to Helensburgh, Oban,and Dunoon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Two widows chose Helensburgh as a mecca so we could explore the area from Loch Lomand to Oban. Little did we know what we were in for. Ann and John helped plan, arrange, and introduced us to the real lowlands of western Scotland. The bed and Breakfast is a short walk to the train station, a downhill walk to town and the pier, and close to a variety of restaurants to enjoy. We loved walking up the hill to HILL HOUSE. Our breakfast choices were 5 star. Our room was spacious and the social area comfortable and used by the guests. John's gardens and pond are awesome. Helensburgh is a great spot to take day trips from.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flojo1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
What a great review! Many thanks for writing it. We did enjoy your company and we're always happy when folk enjoy Scotland, especially on recommendations we've made. We've had quite a few folk recently who've made the West Highland Line rail journey to Oban or Mallaig and enjoyed some superb Autumn colour along the way. Thanks again and hope to see you maybe another time. All the very best, Anne and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
182
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

With some of our friends we had a delightful stay as we rode the trains of Scotland. Roughly half way between Helensburgh's two stations, what could be more convenient? We found ourselves very well looked after from the welcome refreshments on arrival to the final breakfast. The rooms were fastidiously clean, spacious, warm, comfortable and with a delightful bathrooms. The breakfast area was attractive and warm and so was the food. Looking foreward to another visit, but hope that all these good reviews will not lead to it being full for the next visit. PS they have WD40 if your case handle starts sticking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thanks John for such an appreciative review. Thanks for the time you spent in writing it. It was great to see your group obviously having such a good time on your rail travels and making such good use of the Highland Rail network. We're lucky to have it. Glad you found everything was fine here at Balmillig and, as well as WD40 for any sticking suitcase handles, we now, of course, have an additional extension cable which you left behind. It awaits your return! All the very best Anne and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed three nights at this lovely B and B. Our room was spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean and nicely appointed. There is a lovely sitting area and breakfast room for guests to enjoy as well as a deck and garden area outside where we enjoyed a glass of wine and relax at the end of our day exploring the area. Off street parking is a bonus too. The hosts are friendly and helpful with tips for days trips. We travelled from here to Glasgow by train for the day which was very easy. We also used this as a base for exploring the Loch Lomond area both of which were a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oztravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Many thanks for taking time to review Balmillig and delighted you gave us top marks. Pleased you liked relaxing beside our new pond area and had good weather to enjoy our surrounding area. All the best, Anne and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, MD
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My second stay at Balmillig, this time for 10 days during a somewhat dreary week in Helensburgh. The ongoing construction on West Clyde St makes shop and restaurant access more of a challenge. Balmillig is convenient to both Helensburgh Upper and Central train stations. It's downhill walk to town but an uphill walk back, not as nice in the rain.
The rooms have Apple iPads although I never did completely master it. The rooms are bright and the skylights added some extra light. Didn't have to worry about parking but the grounds were enjoyable when it wasn't raining. Got to see the odd creature or two lurking about.
Due to circumstances, I did not have the breakfast part of the B&B but between the local restaurants, Tesco and the Food Co-op, I did not go hungry.
My co-worker and I enjoyed our stay and appreciated the amenities and wealth of local tourist books, maps, menu binder, and brochures. Thanks Anne.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thanks for spending time on a review. Sorry the weather didn't match the rest of the summer in Helensburgh and apologies for the ongoing difficulties on the seafront. That should all be finished up soon. Glad you had time to enjoy exploring Scotland as well as working here and that the information was useful. You'll just have to return and have another go at the iPads! Haste ye back! Anne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Having read previous reviews on Tripadvisor, I chose Balmillig House as my base for a week-end in Sept 2013. Travelling alone, I had come from Sydney Australia for a friend's wedding nearby. From the minute I arrived, the welcome was really warm and genuine. The property, grounds and bedroom were immaculate, with everything provided. The breakfasts were great and freshly cooked to order. And the shared table made breakfasts very sociable. Nothing was a problem to Anne and John, they make their guests feel really welcome in their home while also maintaining guests privacy. They arranged a taxi to pick me up for the wedding, and dropped me off at the train station on the morning of my departure, which just made everything really easy for me. I would highly recommend Balmillig to anyone visiting the area.
Also Anne & John, I hope you enjoyed your well earned holiday to the States! Thanks, Mags.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We do appreciate you taking time to review Balmillig. Glad you enjoyed your stay here and pleased you liked sharing the table with other guests. And thanks, we did enjoy our own holiday in the States. Best wishes Anne and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our stay at Balmillig was a gift from my Aunt and Uncle. Upon our arrival, we didn't even make it in the front door and it already felt like home. John and Anne provided the right amount of guest hospitality, while still respecting our need for down-time and privacy. We were treated to wonderfully prepared meals, personal tour guide services and a breathtaking property. This place is the total package!

Room Tip: Accommodations for full and twin bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Many thanks for such an enthusiastic review. We enjoyed your company very much and hope we might meet you again sometime. All the best Anne and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We returned for three nights to Balmillig following a visit two years ago. The Urquharts have added a new large room which is very pleasant. Breakfast in the conservatory was delicious once again. We find Anne and John to be very helpful with suggestions for current attractions in the area. They also made dinner reservations for us which was appreciated because it was a busy week-end featuring a Highland competition. There is a wealth of printed information available for guests. Once again we found the location to be very central. We could walk to the competition and other sites downtown. We highly recommend Balmillig.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan36806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
It was great to have you back. We always enjoy helping folk get the best from their visit with local recommendations and pleased too you enjoyed the larger room. Its proved very popular. Best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helensburgh
2.0 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
4.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
9.1 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#2 of 4 in Garelochhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmillig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmillig House

Property: Balmillig House
Address: Balmillig | 64b Colquhoun Street, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmillig House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmillig B&B offers great beds, great showers, great food and a great welcome to this beautiful area. Enjoy a peaceful location, short walk to town, three warm comfortable ensuite rooms, lots of useful information, relaxing gardens, free off street parking, ipads in every room and free wireless broadband throughout. Situated in the seaside town of Helensburgh on the edge of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park and well placed for walkers/bikers on the new John Muir Way and the Three Lochs Way with luggage/person transfers available. A great centre for enjoying the scenic delights of Argyll, Loch Lomond and Stirling while only 45 minutes from Glasgow. Hope you'll visit us sometime soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Balmillig House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmillig House Helensburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing