We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Balmillig House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmillig House
Ranked #2 of 21 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We only stayed one night but accommodation is very nice and the hosts were very welcoming. The whole house was immaculate and our yellow room was more than comfortable. John and Anne obviously had a wealth of knowledge and passion for the local area. The small things really made a difference- tea offered on arrival, a fully stocked bathroom and a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thanks, Euan for a great review. Very best wishes to you both. Anne and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
182
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It is very unusual to have so many positive reviews for a B&B but I can honestly say that they are well deserved. Anne and John have been in the "business" some time and it really shows. We were made to feel very welcome and were offered excellent advice on trips that we could make during our limited stay. They went out of their way to ensure we had all we needed and their local knowledge was obviously second to none. As mentioned elsewhere the breakfast was excellent and cooked to order the produce being local and fresh. The rooms were all well appointed and light with docked I-Pads and TV as well as a very comfy bed!

I would strongly recommend this property and its hosts to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waller5ltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Very many thanks for such a comprehensive and complimentary review. We enjoyed your company and hope you will return some day to Balmillig. All the best Anne and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Anne and John are perfect hosts. They have obviously worked very hard to achieve the very high standard they offer. The house is absolutely immaculate - spotlessly clean and furnished to an extremely high standard. The bed in the Blue Room is super king size, new and very comfortable, with lovely bed linen. The bathroom was really well equipped with nice toiletries and little touches such as eye make up remover and pads. Our breakfast was beautifully cooked and delicious with good quality ingredients.

We would recommend Balmillig House to anyone without hesitation and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Wow! thanks Jane. Delighted to read your very kind review. We'll be very happy to see you again when you are back in Helensburgh. Best wishes from us both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at Balmillig House over Easter break. It is centrally located, just a 10 minute walk from the station and from many restaurants. Overall, our stay was fantastic. Anne and John were excellent hosts who made sure we had everything we needed. They have a whole room full of information about the area and are very knowledgeable about the area. We hired John to take us on a day hike and it was great! He knew a lot about the history of the area and we really enjoyed our day. If we ever go back to Helensburgh, we will definitely be staying here again and would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: There were three of us, but we stayed in two rooms and shared the on-suite, worked very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinalilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Helping folk make the best of their time here in this lovely area is one of our main aims so its great to hear we achieved that. Thanks for taking time to write a review. We do appreciate it. All the best, Anne and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

It was our delight to pay a second visit to this truly excellent B&B. We were warm and comfortable, and everything worked. The breakfast was comprehensive, and stoked us up to face whatever the Scottish weather could throw at us - and it did try! An electrical lead we had left on our previous visit was awaiting our return in our bedroom. What more could one ask. We look forward to our next visit to enjoy the cossetting rather than to reclaim any, as yet unknown, lost property.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Its not everyone who gets a review from the Doctor! Many thanks, John, for your kind words. You always make us smile and, no, this time, we haven't found any leftover items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Arriving late after quick dash from Wiltshire we received warm and friendly welcome. We found our room comfortable and well equipped, meeting all our needs during a short stay. A lovely location both quiet and restful. We would have no hesitation in recommending Balmillig House to anybody without fear of contradiction.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Very many thanks for taking time to add a review for Balmillig. Hope you'll choose us again when your next visit to your Helensburgh family is due. Best wishes Anne and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We would highly recommend Balmillig for anyone wishing to visit Loch Lomond and the surrounding area. The owners, Anne and John, could not have been more attentive and accommodating; they certainly know what it takes to run a good B&B (e.g. coffee on arrival was really appreciated after a long journey from Yorkshire). Their knowledge of the area is fantastic and they really helped us plan our days to get the most out of our stay. The building and gardens are charming and I felt had a real homely feel. I couldn't fault our room which was very clean, well equipped (even with an iPad) and very comfortable. I loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom! The feshly cooked breakfast was really tasty - I indulged in 'the works' every morning. The B&B is well located - within walking distance of the town, which has some good restaurants (Barca tapas was our favourite - the lamb stew is delicious), and both train stations. Overall, Balmillig is excellent value for money and a great base for exploring the area. Anne and John are superb hosts totally worthy of all the great reviews. If only there were more places like this!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
What a great review! We are delighted you were so pleased with what we offer at Balmillig. We will pass on the good remarks too to La Barca restaurant although perhaps you've reviewed them as well. We also like their lamb stew. All the best for your new family.
Anne and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helensburgh
2.0 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Helensburgh Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
11.5 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,070 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ardencaple Hotel
Ardencaple Hotel
#2 of 4 in Rhu
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmillig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmillig House

Property: Balmillig House
Address: Balmillig | 64b Colquhoun Street, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmillig House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmillig B&B offers great beds, great showers, great food and a great welcome to this beautiful area. Enjoy a peaceful location, short walk to town, three warm comfortable ensuite rooms, lots of useful information, relaxing gardens, free off street parking, ipads in every room and free wireless broadband throughout. Situated in the seaside town of Helensburgh on the edge of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park and well placed for walkers/bikers on the new John Muir Way and the Three Lochs Way with luggage/person transfers available. A great centre for enjoying the scenic delights of Argyll, Loch Lomond and Stirling while only 45 minutes from Glasgow. Hope you'll visit us sometime soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Balmillig House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmillig House Helensburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing