We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place to stay and very helpful hosts.”
Review of Balmillig House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balmillig House
Ranked #2 of 21 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and the place and service were just great. We had everything we needed and more....I never expected to have an ipad, TV, coffee / tea making facilities, and also all the toiletries necessary. It was much more than expected!!!
The breakfast was delicious and Anne was really helpful in guiding us regarding places to visit and also to find transport.
We will definitely return there if we visit the area again. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jawsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Glad we exceeded your expectation and would be delighted to see you again. Keep collecting the crystals and best wishes for the future. Anne and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This was one the top b&b's offering maximum value for money. Thanks to Anne and John for your excellent hospitality, for offering a room as superb, spacious and well-equipped as if you had designed it for your personal use or for your most welcome friend, and for engaging in "green" tourism and sustainability: space enough for two people to move or sit comfortably in one of three chairs, reading one of various excellent books or a folder with highly interesting historic/tourist/local information, or playing around with the ipad, all provided by our hosts. A big comfortable bed. A splendid view and the magnificent smell of a blooming garden. A big bathroom with a window. Everything painstakingly clean and new or as-new appearance. Artwork instead of off-the shelve prints on the wall, quality furniture and armitage, etc.
Great breakfast with a variety of fresh fruit incl. berries. Excellent recommendations for wonderful walks and days out, "customized" to our taste and fitness level. Sustainability was more than a matter of organic food: quality furniture to last, recommendations considering the environment and community issues, the hosts even taking the pain of cleaning litter bins instead of using plastic bags.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Wow! How to respond! We're really delighted you found our B&B to be one of the best and we do value your appreciation of our efforts to work as sustainably as we can. Hope we might see you again sometime and we can tell you more of the delights in this area. Best wishes Anne and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stay at Balmillig every other year as we tour Scotland. We have never been disappointed. Nothing is too much trouble for Anne and John who are the perfect hosts. Never pushing themselves forward but always there when you want them. John can even do breakfast on his own when Anne is away elsewhere - very impressive!. Beautiful rooms. Everything you want for a relaxing and very enjoyable stay. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have something to recommend them so no problem whichever one you stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks as always for taking time to write a TA review. Glad we are still managing to give you both a good B&B experience here at Balmillig and hope you always have some family history to explore so you can continue with your visits here. We do enjoy them. All the very best Anne and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We booked Balmillig House as a late stay by looking at other reveiws. We were not disappointed in any way. Anne and John are terrific hosts, we thoroughly enjoyed meeting them. Our room was really comfortable and well appointed, and our breakfast excellent. Thank you, Anne for your recommended route up to Glenmoriston, spectacular!
We would recommend Balmillig to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

So sorry you had only one night to stay here. We did enjoy your visit. Pleased the recommended route worked out well and took you a little off the beaten track. That's what we like to do - tell folks about some of the alternatives so they have the best experience of Scotland. All the best Anne and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Anne and Joan are sweet host and gave us a very warm welcome on our arrival, room is fantastic and also providing lots of inforamtion of local area which is really useful. We enjoy our stayed and happy we choose Balmilling House!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolewei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for writing a report on Balmillig. Glad you like you stay in Helensburgh and found our advice helpful. Maybe you can stay longer some other time. Anne and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was the nicest B&B in 2 1/2 weeks in Scotland. The town is torn up a bit at the moment putting in new parks and seaside walks. but we walked all over and enjoyed it. Breakfast was wonderful and the place is lovely, Very clean and owners are very nice. We highly recommend. We used it as a way to go into Glasgow for the day by train. Trains run every 30 minutes and the train station in Glasgow is right in the middle of town, so it was very convenient. One day is enough for Glasgow.

Room Tip: they have several rooms with king size beds- a treat in a B&B! Lots of flowers and a small pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMKArdith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Many thanks for taking time to review Balmillig. Glad you found our location ideal - in the geographical middle of the town so walking out for a meal was easy but far enough away from any busy road to ensure a good night's sleep. Best wishes, Anne and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a last minute booking due to another B&B establishment cancelling our booking and how pleased are we that they did (although at the time we were definitely not best pleased!). Balmillig turned out to be a real find. Warm & welcoming and extremely comfortable. Our room was immaculate and little extras like the IPad and ladies facial products gave it that WOW factor. Breakfast was delicious, perfect poached eggs!! We would definitely return and most certainly recommend a stay if you are passing through Helensburgh (don't book any where else).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAJSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Absolutely delighted to have your review and pleased we had a single night available for you. As you know we try to avoid one night stays for all sorts of reasons but we can only hope the next time you come to Scotland you'll have a bit more time to explore this area and to return to Balmillig. Very best wishes from Anne and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helensburgh hotels
5 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
1 mi away
No.20 Boutique Bed and Breakfast
3.9 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#2 of 4 in Garelochhead
51 reviews
0 mi away
Mambeg Country Guest House
Mambeg Country Guest House
#1 of 4 in Garelochhead
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmillig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmillig House

Address: Balmillig | 64b Colquhoun Street, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range: £74 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmillig House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmillig B&B offers great beds, great showers, great food and a great welcome to this beautiful area. Enjoy a peaceful location, short walk to town, three warm comfortable ensuite rooms, lots of useful information, relaxing gardens, free off street parking, ipads in every room and free wireless broadband throughout. Situated in the seaside town of Helensburgh on the edge of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park and well placed for walkers/bikers on the new John Muir Way and the Three Lochs Way with luggage/person transfers available. A great centre for enjoying the scenic delights of Argyll, Loch Lomond and Stirling while only 45 minutes from Glasgow. Hope you'll visit us sometime soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Balmillig House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmillig House Helensburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing