We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent spot on outskirts of Glasgow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmillig House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balmillig House
Ranked #2 of 21 Helensburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent spot on outskirts of Glasgow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for one night in the Yellow room. Easy to find on a quiet charming street. Very clean with all the amenities, tv, wireless, and even an ipad in the room! Anne and John are very welcoming and hospitable. Breakfast is in a lovely conservatory surrounded by the garden.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. Our guests like having the ipads available in the rooms and many mention how at breakfast they also enjoy watching the birds having their breakfast just outside the conservatory. Should mention that Balmillig is located 25 miles west of the centre of Glasgow so it depends on your perception of city size whether you consider we are on the outskirts of the city or just nearby the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
182
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heuchelheim, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had a great stay at beautiful Balmilling House. The room was well appointed, very tastefully decorated and had a good size, the ensuit bathroom was also very nice. Everything was very clean. The hosts were perfect in the way that they were attentive and had very good advice regarding the area but on the other hand respected our privacy. There was also plenty of good literature. Breakfast was delicious. In summary, we felt very much at home while being away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Many thanks for taking time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay here at Balmillig. Glad you felt "at home" while on holiday. Thanks, Anne and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My mother and I recently stayed at Balmillig House and all I can say is wonderful! The house itself is beautifully kept, spacious, warm and inviting. The gardens are just lovely and it's a pleasure to sit on the deck and just soak up the serenity.
Ann and John are simply lovely people. Incredibly friendly and accomodating with a lifetime's knowledge of the local area. Our room was the Green Room and it was comfortable and light. The bed's were really comfy. The ensuite was clean and quite roomy. The shower was really good and there were complimentary soaps, toiletries, hair dryer and which was a lovely touch. The house and room had free wifi, access to an ipad, TV with plenty of channels and tea and coffee making facilities.
Breakfast was great and was served in the conservatory/enclosed veranda which was nice to sit in for meals.
My mother is a little older now and mobility is an issue which Ann and John were so helpful with by offering a lift or two to us.
Basically this is a really lovely place to stay with warm and friendly people. Very close to Helensburgh central and upper stations and a short drive away from Loch Lomond. I could not recommend it more highly.
I don't have any photos as they are all on my camera but I assure you they are identical to those on the site.

Room Tip: Give Ann and John a call or an email to let them know the make up of your party. I was travelling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for such a generous review. We really appreciate the time taken to write it. We enjoyed the visit by you and your Mum and are pleased we could help make it worthwhile. The little journey to Luss was good fun and whenever I see apple tart I'll be reminded of that day! All the best Anne and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and the place and service were just great. We had everything we needed and more....I never expected to have an ipad, TV, coffee / tea making facilities, and also all the toiletries necessary. It was much more than expected!!!
The breakfast was delicious and Anne was really helpful in guiding us regarding places to visit and also to find transport.
We will definitely return there if we visit the area again. :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jawsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Glad we exceeded your expectation and would be delighted to see you again. Keep collecting the crystals and best wishes for the future. Anne and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This was one the top b&b's offering maximum value for money. Thanks to Anne and John for your excellent hospitality, for offering a room as superb, spacious and well-equipped as if you had designed it for your personal use or for your most welcome friend, and for engaging in "green" tourism and sustainability: space enough for two people to move or sit comfortably in one of three chairs, reading one of various excellent books or a folder with highly interesting historic/tourist/local information, or playing around with the ipad, all provided by our hosts. A big comfortable bed. A splendid view and the magnificent smell of a blooming garden. A big bathroom with a window. Everything painstakingly clean and new or as-new appearance. Artwork instead of off-the shelve prints on the wall, quality furniture and armitage, etc.
Great breakfast with a variety of fresh fruit incl. berries. Excellent recommendations for wonderful walks and days out, "customized" to our taste and fitness level. Sustainability was more than a matter of organic food: quality furniture to last, recommendations considering the environment and community issues, the hosts even taking the pain of cleaning litter bins instead of using plastic bags.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Wow! How to respond! We're really delighted you found our B&B to be one of the best and we do value your appreciation of our efforts to work as sustainably as we can. Hope we might see you again sometime and we can tell you more of the delights in this area. Best wishes Anne and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stay at Balmillig every other year as we tour Scotland. We have never been disappointed. Nothing is too much trouble for Anne and John who are the perfect hosts. Never pushing themselves forward but always there when you want them. John can even do breakfast on his own when Anne is away elsewhere - very impressive!. Beautiful rooms. Everything you want for a relaxing and very enjoyable stay. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have something to recommend them so no problem whichever one you stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks as always for taking time to write a TA review. Glad we are still managing to give you both a good B&B experience here at Balmillig and hope you always have some family history to explore so you can continue with your visits here. We do enjoy them. All the very best Anne and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We booked Balmillig House as a late stay by looking at other reveiws. We were not disappointed in any way. Anne and John are terrific hosts, we thoroughly enjoyed meeting them. Our room was really comfortable and well appointed, and our breakfast excellent. Thank you, Anne for your recommended route up to Glenmoriston, spectacular!
We would recommend Balmillig to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmillig, Owner at Balmillig House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
So sorry you had only one night to stay here. We did enjoy your visit. Pleased the recommended route worked out well and took you a little off the beaten track. That's what we like to do - tell folks about some of the alternatives so they have the best experience of Scotland. All the best Anne and John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helensburgh
2.0 mi away
Rosslea Hall Country House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
4.9 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
7.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
9.1 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmillig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmillig House

Property: Balmillig House
Address: Balmillig | 64b Colquhoun Street, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Helensburgh G84 9JP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Helensburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Helensburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmillig House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmillig B&B offers great beds, great showers, great food and a great welcome to this beautiful area. Enjoy a peaceful location, short walk to town, three warm comfortable ensuite rooms, lots of useful information, relaxing gardens, free off street parking, ipads in every room and free wireless broadband throughout. Situated in the seaside town of Helensburgh on the edge of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park and well placed for walkers/bikers on the new John Muir Way and the Three Lochs Way with luggage/person transfers available. A great centre for enjoying the scenic delights of Argyll, Loch Lomond and Stirling while only 45 minutes from Glasgow. Hope you'll visit us sometime soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Balmillig House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmillig House Helensburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing