We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victor P”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inversnaid Bunkhouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Inversnaid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very friendly host, clean room and surrounds. Excellent meals provided. Highly recommend the Chicken Curry. Also good selection of Beers and Ales on offer.
Host came and picked us up, saving us the steep uphill walk with heavy backpacks, after we telephoned. Could not ask for much more for the price.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Vic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

this was by far the worst place we stayed on the WHW. Bunk rooms too small, 5 in one room, 3 in another a relay was needed to get things out of bags and into bed. Toilet facilities inadequate, one for women on ground floor was the disabled toilet and floor flooded easily. Although there is a shower room upstairs its within the restaurant area and is locked in the morning. They said they were not used to as many female residents, a bit of foresight would have suggested changing the toilets round for the night. The corridors smelt and drying room too small. Upstairs lounge area nice and food at evening looked nice. We had eaten in Inversnaid Hotel which was v. good. Sheet bag system, already commented on by another review is very restrictive. Breakfast basic for £5 and pack lunch a bit better for same price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank travelgirls005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InversnaidBunkhouse, Owner at Inversnaid Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Every year we end up on occasions scratching our heads at the TA reviews. Most of our reviews achieve 4/5 stars and then once or twice a year we get the odd angry, one star review from someone simply doesn't get the place. We are very clear in our advertising what we are which is basic bunkhouse style accommodation with great service and food. We do realise that we get a small proportion of our guests who really require hotel/BB style service. On the night you stayed there were 3 shower rooms available to female guests; the upstairs one available from 7:30am and we do have more luxurious rooms available in the log cabin. We do take all negative comments very seriously and are continually looking for ways to improve our service. I hope the rest of your trip was a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

As part of the trudge up Long (yes, Long) Lomond on WHW, we arrived at the Inversnaid Hotel with the promise from another walker that the bunkhouse would collect us there and take us up the hill. Soon Nick arrived and shipped us to the Bunkhouse in cheery fashion and introduced us to all their facilities (including a drying/ boot room). Our room was functional - small with two sets of bunkbeds, 4 people moving around with luggage turned into a bit of a puzzle at times but the atmosphere and exceptional customer service from all the staff far outweighed it! We enjoyed a hearty meal served in the restaurant and the continental breakfast in the morning before getting dropped off again with some great tips and advice for the rest of the Way.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a lovely small bunkhouse.
I stayed as part of a large group of friends walking part of the WHW for three days.
The positives first, which far outweigh the negative:
The staff at Inversnaid are really nice - friendly and very helpful.
We had pre-booked both dinner and breakfast. The food was served in the top half of the bunkhouse in a lovely open dining / lounge room with stained glass windows.
Dinner was superb and of a much higher standard than to be expected at a bunkhouse, more like small bistro quality.
Breakfast was of the continental variety - cold meats, cereals etc. it was tasty enough.
We also loved the hot tub - nothing better than sitting in it with a cold beer after a days walking.

Negative:
We stayed in the bunkhouse - which was to say the least basic. Small bunkbeds, in cramped rooms. This was the only negative at Inversnaid - next time we would try and book the log cabin - which by reading previous reviews, seems much better.

P.S. We stayed at Rowardenan YH the next night - which had the opposite problem - excellent comfy beds in a gorgeous large hostel with a superb location - food not so good.

Room Tip: I would recommend sleeping in the log cabin - and eating etc. in the bunkhouse. Bunkhouse rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackster50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

4 of us arrived very wet after trudging along Loch Lomond and up the hill from the WHW path but staff unfazed, very welcoming and immediately showed us the drying room and our rooms - 1 twin and a superior double. The staff's can do attitude here is a winner - nothing is too much trouble even when another inconsiderate guest borrows your boots late at night without asking! Food is excellent and our 1 vegetarian was well pleased with the options available and we all thought the Lentil soup was the best we'd ever tasted. Best selection of bottled beers on the whole WHW route & choices of wine though understandably limited were very good. Double room - very comfortable and shared bathroom with one other room worked fine. Twin room - needs new mattresses, the ones we had were lumpy in the extreme. The bistro was noisy late at night from furniture moving in preparation for breakfast. I guess the limited number of toilets and showers could be an issue at busy times but the 2 of us in the main building seemed to get to them first! The piece de resistance for we 3 "girls" was the hot tub. We relaxed there for nearly an hour despite the rain - fabulous. Please keep it operational.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camelliaFerndown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Had a fabulous stay here, all staff were so welcoming and friendly. Great food, had a lovely evening meal and lovely breakfast. Rooms were basic but great and the showers were hot. They made our dogs very welcome, even rustled up some stew for them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here as a group of four walking part of the West Highland Way. Staff were friendly and happy to help, and we were particularly grateful to be collected by the owner at the end of our days walking and driven up to the bunkhouse. The rooms for four were very small, and would recommend booking one of the twin rooms instead as these would give you more space. Having the bar and bistro upstairs was great, and we really enjoyed our evening meal and drinks. The drying room was also fab for all of our walking gear. Breakfast included tea, coffee, cereal, toast, cheese, ham and yoghurts, and it was good that this service was offered. You can also order a packed lunch to take on your walk which was helpful as the area is very remote. There are only a few toilets/showers, so could find a bit of a queue at busy times, although we arrived and left a little later than others so didn't have too much of a problem. A good stop off on the West Highland Way however!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skippydog62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Inversnaid Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inversnaid Bunkhouse

Address: Inversnaid, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Inversnaid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Inversnaid
Price Range: £27 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inversnaid Bunkhouse primarily provides bunk accommodation for walkers on the West Highland Way and is also open for group bookings. The Top Bunk Bistro is situated upstairs which is a fully licensed restaurant open all day and available to everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Inversnaid Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inversnaid Bunkhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing