We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent trip”
Review of Inversnaid Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inversnaid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inversnaid Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inversnaid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

we have just come back from a self drive holiday to the inversnaid hotel on loch Lomond for an anniversary trip away we went as 2 couples in our early 50s and were wowed at what we got for our money we were a bit weary of what to expect but was pleasantly surprised at what we got the hotel was in an amazing spot and the staff were excellent and always ready to help out who ever they were from the assistant manager to the bar staff etc thank you for a lovely few days we wanted to stay longer and will definatley go again maybe on a coach tour next time thanks from room 204 and 205 on 8th july

Room Tip: we had a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w0nderfulwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

We don't usually go on coach holidays as we like to do our own thing. However, driving ourselves all the way to Scotland didn't appeal so, we decided to give it a try.
What a pleasant surprise!
Everything was so well organised & such good value that we didn't mind the structure. Everyone was naturally a bit shy at first but soon we were all chatting away & there was a lovely friendly atmosphere on the coach & in the bar.
The journey took 13 hours from Rochester, with 4 stops, including Gretna Green, but Kevin our excellent driver made it interesting with his expert commentary. You do have to comply with meal sitting times but that is a small price to pay & is one of the things that allows the company to operate so well. Our room was lovely to wake up in each morning with its beautiful views of Loch Lomond.
The quality of the evening entertainment varied but we generally enjoyed getting acquainted with our fellow holiday makers over a drink & maybe a dance. The excursions weren't always to our taste but for the price of our holiday we just accepted that. Ideally I would prefer not to spend leisure time visiting a distillery & would have liked to have been dropped off somewhere else, but the drive through Glencoe was beautiful & we enjoyed free time in Oban.
We came home feeling we'd had a lot of fun & enjoyed beautiful scenery, without any of the stress involved in planning a trip ourselves. We intend going on another holiday with Lochs & Glens in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anzelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Whilst the staff were welcoming, there was some lack of attention to detail. For example, we took the lift to what we thought should be our room, only to find it impossible to find - the signs within the lift ignored the fact that the room appeared to be in a different wing. A very helpful cleaner came to our rescue. The room, including a comfortable bed, was good. The en suite seemed a little tired. We were also not helped when running a first bath by the fact that no-one had switched the taps from the shower hose - we consequentlt got soaked.
Dinner at Inversnaid is like a military operation - sometimes to the detriment of the quality of the food. The fact that the full breakfast appeared within seconds of it being ordered, including a hard fried egg, was not encouraging. Also, mass produced toast is hardly condusive to it being crisp, hot and fresh. That said, the waiters were both efficient, helpful and charming.
If only there could be competition in the area, standards woiuld doubtless be improved..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9andadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

If you do NOT want an organised company, great staff, good food, and a good laugh, then don’t go to this hotel, but if you DO want the above, then this hotel is for you. We have just arrived home from the Inversnaid Hotel and have had a really good time. I thought the Hotel itself was looking rather tired inside, needs updating but kept very clean. There are quite a few stairs to get to the rooms with no lift; although the staff where very good with helping people. On most days you are transferred from the hotel on a small boat over the loch where the coach stays overnight, this saves an hour each way in travelling time every day; there is always someone to help those who might have any problems. The view from the hotel is beautiful. I am a vegetarian and most time fussy with my food but I didn’t have any complaints, the food was lovely, much better then I was expecting. I was surprised how organised Lochs & Glens where, the coach drivers were amazing, gave a commentary on all the different trips, whilst making you tea/coffee etc. Very knowledgeable. You do have a time table and it needs to be kept so if you don’t like being on time, then this is not for you. Entertainment of a night was OK, you meet lots of people. We were quite younger than most of the guests there but we didn’t stop laughing, had a great time and would recommend Lochs & Glens, very professional. Girls, if you go on the whisky trip do not where anything with a heel, they have this sort of iron net flooring which would be really dangerous. ENJOY.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cathholmes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

3 companions and I ate lunch here as we walked the West highland Way. We ordered in the bar and ate outside. The food was good pub fare and the service pleasant--they brought the food out to our table with a smile. Definitely worth considering for lunch.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank PDXtravelers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel on a four-night weekend coach break in April and it was just the most wonderfully relaxing experience.
The hotel stands right on the side of Loch Lomond and the views across the loch are just wonderful. The hotel also has its own ferry on which to cross over to the other side of the mainland.
When the coach arrived (after winding around the narrow roads to the hotel) one of the staff came onto the coach to greet us all and then we were warmly shown the way to our rooms. The hotel had log fires burning in the front lounge and we soon forgot the cold, damp weather outside.
The rooms are quite small but are very clean and have lovely big modern ensuite bathrooms.
The dining rooms are nice and big and the tables are well spaced apart. The tables are very nicely laid out with lovely clean table cloths. We were on a half-board basis and the choices for both breakfast and evening meal were amazing. There was quite literally something for all tastes and if there was something missing you only had to ask - like honey for my porridge!
Every member of staff without exception was so polite and helpful.
I really can't praise this hotel enough.
Just one little thing on the down-side - no toiletries in the bathrooms - but, hey, small price to pay for such a great little retreat.

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the Loch as the views are just wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cas123England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a Lochs and Glens hotel which means most of the guests will be brought by their own coaches and will generally be pensioners. thus the catering and entertainment will be aimed at there tastes. i.e. Scottish country dances etc. that said the guys who played each night were fun and friendly. the hotel is down a single track road about 15 miles from Aberfoyle which ends at the lochside. it is on the West Highland way and backpackers do stop and use it as a refreshment break. They have their own side entrance which leads into a games room. I guess this is to allow them to remove backpacks and walking shoes in poor weather. There is a photo showing a sofa with a ripped backing/top, this is in this room and in no way represents the rest of the furnishing in the hotel. We had room 111 which i think must have one of the worlds best views. the loch and mountains stretch for miles on either side on of window. the road in though single track passes 3 other lochs and several times we spotted deer, wild goats and once we had 3 rare black grouse fly just in front of the bus. The hotel uses a its own ferry to take guests across the loch saving a lot of time and is a pleasant 10 minute trip. The room was modern, very comfortable and well decorated with a bath and hot and powerful shower. perfectly clean as was the whole hotel. Food as good with Scottish touches such as haggis. In all a great value package but for the more mature.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the loch are the obvious ones to go for. room 111 has the best views as do the rooms ei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANDREW95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inversnaid
3.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
548 reviews
16.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
3.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,232 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inversnaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inversnaid Hotel

Address: Inversnaid, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Inversnaid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inversnaid
Number of rooms: 115
Also Known As:
Inversnaid Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing