We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not good.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inversnaid Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inversnaid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inversnaid Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inversnaid
Certificate of Excellence
herefordshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“not good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This really is isolated hotel, but great if that's what you want. A lot of problems with the room, broken items, stained items but nothing too bad. Staff very good and jolly, just needs a bit of attention to detail.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hrftravler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    155
    45
    23
    34
See reviews for
69
260
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Drove 10 miles from Aberfoyle on a single track road to try this hotel for lunch. It is set high over Loch Lomond and the views are stunning. Pity the same couldn't be said for the hotel. The front door is dying out for a coat of paint. As the first impression of the hotel, it's awful. Once inside the place it's full of sad faced coach passengers waiting for their buses The bar/restaurant had no atmosphere and coffee is served from flasks ! The menu was woeful , totally uninteresting. Left the place without ordering. The owners/management must be coining it in from the coach tour companies and don't need to try and attract custom....it's such a pity as the location is amazing but definitely not for a pop in lunch ..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flutterbyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Arrived at Inversnaid hotel during the second day of the West Highland Way. We had been eager to reach the hotel on what was a wet and miserable day. We had also planned to meet friends here for lunch and had high hopes given the location and grand building. However, when we arrived we were disappointed in the menu on offer. There were only 5 or 6 choices. When the food arrived- chicken burger, cheeseburgers and fish and chips it was all very basic looking and not the most exciting to eat. The hotel did cater very well for walkers, providing a drying room and areas to sit and eat. As another reviewer mentioned, I found it strange that the hotel allowed big groups of walkers in to eat their own packed lunches. Very few walkers on the day we visited actually purchased meals. Staff were all very friendly and service was good. I just feel there is a lot more potential that could be fulfilled here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JSW81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just returned from a trip with Lochs and Glens Coach Holidays . This was my sixth holiday with them and enjoyed every one . One bugbear of my last trip was being played 2 videos of " Mrs Browns Boys " on the way up , Not only was the content of the swearing inappropriate for most of the elderly people but it was forced upon us ? ( why ) . Most people take their own entertainment or like to have a nap , or look at the scenery . Another dvd of excerpts of a " supposedly" funny " Scottish radio programme was also play during one of our excursions ( not asked if we would like to listen anyway ) and certainly not needed whilst trying to enjoy the scenery . On the return journey another dvd film of a modern day Pirate video was played ( not asked would we like to view or requested ) . Many of the passengers where trying to cat-nap after an early start back . I'm no prude but these " extras " are'nt needed , just leave them out !!.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have read previous reports about the lack of hospitality extended to walkers at this place. Like those people who made the comments we had also endured a horrible experience along this stretch of the Wet Highland Way and had arrived at the Inversnaid Hotel absolutely saturated and disallusioned. We walked into a large lounge and the place was full of walkers in the same state. The place was full of wet boots and clothing and I thought how on Earth was the hotel making any money out of this. Only a few bought food, some drinks but many tucked in to the packed lunches they had brought in their rucksacks. There were no complaints from the management and we were allowed to use the facilities to get ourselves into some sort of order for the last stretch up to Inveraran which in our case was even worse than what we had already endured.
I never did get the opportunity of saying thank you so if someone from the hotel does read this please accept it belatedly. Having said that there is no excuse for bad manners.
This section of the West Highland Way can be dreadful if the weather is bad and a place is essential at this point to allow people to recoup. The West Highland Way attracts a lot of income to the area but the hotel is a business not a charity so the Tourist Authorities need to put some effort into solving this problem.

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight but from what I could see of the place I would ask for a room with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheshiretourist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our first holiday with Lochs & Glens but certainly not the last. From start to finish our holiday was first class. Coach, tour driver, hotel, location, room, service, food, excursions, all first class, even the weather was kind to us for the time of year. Don't know how they can do it all for the price we paid. If you are looking for a coaching holiday to Scotland then look no further than Lochs & Glens, they go that little bit further to make your holiday one to remember, no wonder most of the people on our coach had been with them before. We hope to try one of their other hotels later on this year. Thank you everyone at Lochs & Glens and the staff at the Inversnaid Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch side view. Rooms next to water fall can be noisy but spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Just returned from a wonderful 5 day break to the Inversnaid Hotel. The hotel was clean, staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and the food was always piping hot. Our only gripe was that the bedroom window would not open - but such a minor thing it is almost not worth mentioning. If anyone is thinking about going on a Lochs and Glens holiday to this hotel they can rest assured that they will get a warm welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank victoriafortysix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inversnaid
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
16.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
9.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
10.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
4.4 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inversnaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inversnaid Hotel

Property: Inversnaid Hotel
Address: Inversnaid, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Inversnaid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inversnaid
Number of rooms: 115
Also Known As:
Inversnaid Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing