We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stay- great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inversnaid Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inversnaid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inversnaid Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inversnaid
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A good stay- great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Though in need of a facelift the hotel is warm, welcoming and very comfortable. The location is stunning- a 15 mile white knuckle drive from Aberfoyle, along a winding single track road through forests, hugging the shoreline of several splendid lochs, round blind hair pin bends before a sudden descent to the hotel right next to Loch Lomond with amazing views. Our room was a little tired and the shower a little weak and temperamental but spotlessly clean and comfortable. Food is perfectly adequate for the price we paid and breakfast good. The staff are the real gem here- so friendly and hardworking. They were very obliging and nothing was too much trouble, particularly Marek in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    155
    45
    23
    34
See reviews for
69
260
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Although this is a Lochs and Glens Hotel, we visited as part of a local Ramblers Group, for 6 days. The hotel is in a stunning location, on Loch Lomond, with a variety of local walks. Huge waterfall next to hotel, great photo opportunity. The road to the hotel is a bit nerve-wracking - single track, humps and blind corners, which is presumably why Lochs and Glens ferry their parties over the loch and leave their coaches there. Hotel itself is generally ok, our room was in need of renovation, particularly the bathroom, very tired. Would not have had a bath, as tub looked dirty and chipped. Shower took some getting used to, and water was generally tepid. Room was small for two sharing and not much room to put empty suitcases. However, it was clean and had a great view over Loch. The saving grace were the staff, mainly Hungarian, Slovakian and Slovenian, with the odd Scot thrown in. Excellent service, always happy and helpful, a credit to the hotel. Meals were very good, for the money and promptly served - great when you come in starving from a long walk! Evening entertainment aimed at 80-year olds - but we made the most of it. This should be an area to be looked at - our party was early 60's and we don't want ballroom dancing and Gay Gordons. One of the best parts was the reasonable bar prices - a bottle of house red costing just under £10 and a variety of great whiskies for £3 - given where the hotel is, with no competition, nice that they didn't rip off a captive audience. A fantastic area to visit and walk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just returned from the Inversnaid hotel, well what can I say. We had the same room as last time, and we had the same problem as before, clearly they don't read the reports on here, the problem was with the room above us it had a hell of a creaky floor, yes the hotel was clean, staff were excellent, food was alright for what you pay. The hotel has great views of Loch Lomand and the surrounding hills, all the hotel needs is a bit of TLC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We visited here three years ago while walking the WHW and I wrote a review then which was not very complementary.
We were very pleased that many of the issues we had back then have been addressed.
There was a gentleman at the door welcoming us, staff in the bar understood us and spoke English well, our food was good and served quickly and on plates! (last time we had paper bags and polystyrene boxes)
All in all great improvement.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Have just returned from a four night stay at Inversnaid with Lochs and Glens. Although we have given five stars, we have to mention a few problems with our room ( No. 137 ). our floorboards creaked with every step, even had a dodgy dip on the window side of our bed, wondered if I was going to go through to the entertainment room below! Also, the plumbing in bathroom is very noisy. Our neighbours in the next room rose around 6 am each morning and as soon as they started running water of any sort it gurgled very noisily through the pipes and we even had scummy water coming up through our bath plughole on the first morning. Left the plug in for the remainder of our stay. We have since found out that this hotel is being shut down from October this year through to March next year for a full refurbishment, so this criticism is constructive rather than nasty. Having said all that, the staff here are brilliant, food is very good, plenty of it and varied choices. It is spotlessly clean throughout. This was our fifth holiday with L & G and we cannot fault them for value for money. Have done Tummel, Achray, Loch Awe, the Highland and now Inversnaid so far and have the Ardgarten already booked for next year. So after 5 hotels, a couple of niggles with one bedroom's not bad is it? Would recommend this company to everybody. Oh,and have to mention our driver Iain and our relief driver William, both great guys. We intend doing all their hotels after which we will still be holidaying at some over again. Thankyou L & G for another wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Not much point cos they're all being refurbished anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hibbertbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford,kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent four nights at the Inversnaid hotel on the edge of the beautiful Loch Lomond as part of a coach trip package with Lochs and Glens. Considering it is a three star hotel, it was amazing. Food copious and excellent. Staff friendly and the attention to detail made a difference. Lochs and glens deserve praise for an excellently run holiday. We enjoyed every minute and it was excellent value for money. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent stay , I was pusuaded to go with mam & dad on a coach tour ( the wrinkly club) as she called it.
Gotta admit I thought OMG but I really enjoyed it we really liked the excursions , boats, Falkirk wheel etc. & the food was lovely ( 1st time I had haggis it was gorgeous ) the coach driver GARY was also great so helpful , ( he needs better jokes tho) ha
Eh, the entertainment wasn't really my thing but I suppose most people are much older so , anyway I was quite happy in the BAR !!!
Overall 10/10

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inversnaid
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
16.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
9.7 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
10.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
4.4 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inversnaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inversnaid Hotel

Property: Inversnaid Hotel
Address: Inversnaid, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Inversnaid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inversnaid
Number of rooms: 115
Also Known As:
Inversnaid Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing