We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, Lovely staff, great stay”
Review of Inversnaid Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inversnaid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inversnaid Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inversnaid
Certificate of Excellence
Newent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, Lovely staff, great stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here with my partner on a 4 night Lochs and Glens break at the end of April. Our room was small but nice and clean. Bathroom had a bath and shower, heated towel rail and was again nice and clean. Only slight downside was the window was directly opposite the toilet and was not obscure, so had to pull the blind down when using the bathroom. Apart from that, can't fault it. Getting to the room was quite a chore - due to the multiple extensions to the hotel over the years it is like a rabbit warren of stairs and corridors. We are much younger than most on Lochs and Glens and didn't find it too much of a problem, but there were some elderly people who really struggled. Staff were really good - polite and attentive, worked really hard and did a really good job. Food was exactly the same as we had at the Loch Long Hotel (see my other review for that) - which is actually really good. Breakfast - freshly brewed tea/coffee, orange juice, cereals, toast and a choice of cooked. Evening meal was also good - choice of starters, mains and deserts, followed by coffee/tea if you wished in the lounge. The portion sizes weren't huge, but I am not a big eater anyway, and anyway after 3 courses even the heartiest of appetites should be filled. Again the food was really nice and certainly edible. Entertainment was quite good fun in the evenings, although again exactly the same as we had in November last year on Loch Long! There must be a circuit the entertainers are on. Bar prices were not too bad either, but as we are not big drinkers it doesn't cost us much anyway.

The location of this hotel is both its trump card and also its down side.

Down point first:-

It is at the end of a very long, narrow, windy, bumpy road - the only one in and out and takes about an hour on its own to navigate in a coach. Luckily, we only came in and went out once as we got ferried across the loch in the mornings/afternoons.

Once there, you can appreciate the location - simply stunning. So peaceful, but what a view of the mountains and loch. The scenery is simply amazing.

I can't really fault the hotel - the room we had was fine (can't vouch for others, no doubt some could do with a make over), the food was fine and the staff were great.

Would totally recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabbage4histea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    161
    45
    25
    35
See reviews for
72
268
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

just returned from 5 day break at inversnaid the food was fantastic jackie and her staff were on the ball very quick excellent driver in tony kaye our shower didnt work so jackie promply moved us to another room overlooking the loch our only moan is stopping at other hotels for lunch when we could have had more time in oban and killin value for money is excellent dont know how they do it we will be returning.

Room Tip: room 183 lovely view over loch lomond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have just returned for coach tour with Lochs and Glens staying at this hotel. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly the food and choice was excellent, the entertainment in the evening was very good and prices for 'extras' very reasonable i.e. sandwichs' drinks. The rooms may be a bit 'tired' but were clean and comfortable and whilst some floor boards creaked didn't cause us a problem. It is an old building in certain parts.I understand that this hotel is due to be refurbished in parts and I am certain it would then be worth the 5 star rating. I would certainly return to this Hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Room overlooks gas tanks & junk. It is very "tired", shabby, quite noisey & overall not good. Certainly not up to other lochs & glens hotels. If this had been our first experience we would not have booked again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank brianbaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

First time with Lochs and Glens, never again.
The coach driver, drove to fast and never once asked anyone if the needed any assistance.
The hotel was awful, the carpet in the bedroom was threadbare, and cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. Every floorboard creaked, so sleeping was nearly impossible. You could hear the people in the next room using the bathroom, so clearly they could have been in the same room.
The food was basic, frozen vegetables, cabbage that should clearly have been thrown away.
Sachets of sauce for breakfast were handed to you if you required them, not left on the table for you to help yourself.
There was no mention on the holiday information that there were steps and a steep slope for you to go up and down when getting the ferry, is this really fair to visitors that are infirm. Health and safety wise there were no hand rails on the jetty and no member of staff to help anyone that needed it.
The whole holiday was geared up to fill Lochs and Glens pockets.
The only plus was the staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatureC0uple19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Went to the Inversnaid Hotel on a Sunday for some lunch. The hotel is on the banks of Loch Lomond and the views are stunning. Sadly, bar meals are served in an internal room with no windows. What a missed opportunity.

We ordered drinks to start with - I got a fresh orange and soda and another of our party asked for fresh orange and lemonade. These were delivered promptly but the waiter didn't know which drink was which and had to go back to the bar to ask. The barman couldn't remember and I got the wrong one. The food was ordered and it was OK - fairly standard bar food, nothing special. For what it was it was acceptable but overpriced.



Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Provan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We wished to visit Inversnaid Woods for some walking and this was the only place that was available nearby. We had to hunt to find who to speak to (Google get your act together) but eventually made contact with the friendly Nicole who went on to take out booking direct at a fair price for D,B&B for two nights. We knew that this was mainly a location for Coach tours run by the owners Lochs and Glens so were prepared for this. On arrival our room was not ready but the brochure does state that rooms are from 16.00 so our fault. We had a drink and lo the room was available. We were told that Dinner time was not yet announced as they work to a schedule to suit arriving coaches. Our room was lovely on the corner with four windows sharing views of the loch and the lower falls. No doubt it needed some TLC due to its age but we found it both homely and comfortable. Perfectly cleaned by a young lady we got to know as Kassia from Poland.
As we settled in a tap on the door announced that dinner times were now known and we selected 18.15.
We wandered down at 18.00 and partook of a G&T, as you do, and noted the other guests massing and then heading for the dining area. We had fun here as a lovely lady came over (Nicole without a name badge?) and asked for the name of our driver. I said my name and she was taken aback. "We have no driver of that name dear! Who is your driver". I said I was. The penny dropped and we were shown to our table where all staff were gathered to greet diners in a nice old fashioned line up. This was to be the norm for both dinners and breakfasts. Just like a Country house of old. (A cross between Hi di Hi and the Von Trapps. Oops!) All serving staff were efficient and friendly. Our orders were taken and promptly appeared. Due to the numbers of diners some regimentation was needed and the whole operation was run with almost military precision and very slick without being "fast food" or thrown down on your table.
We understood and quite liked the concept. Of course they are geared to their own Coach party guests but in no way were we made to feel other than welcome guests or second best.
We took walks in the woods and a drive to Loch Katrine and thoroughly enjoyed the wildlife including the rare Pied Flycatchers that nest here each summer having flown up from West Africa. (Makes our journey to get here almost negligible!) We even met the local Wild goats.
All in all we liked this place a lot and even found the coach parties fun to watch and listen to.
Maybe I could be persuaded to join one of these when I am older.
Thank you everyone at Inversnaid for your hospitality and welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inversnaid
3.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
16.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
17.4 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
10.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inversnaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inversnaid Hotel

Property: Inversnaid Hotel
Address: Inversnaid, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Inversnaid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inversnaid
Number of rooms: 115
Also Known As:
Inversnaid Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing