We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an experience of a lifetime”
Review of Inversnaid Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inversnaid
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inversnaid Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inversnaid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We had a brilliant coach driver called Garry who made all the journey's fun & informative without being boring, the hotel was set in stunning scenery the views were amazing, you couldn't fault the food there was always plenty of choice & it was always served quickly & was hot, the entertainment was good in the evenings, but if you wanted to sit in the bar or the lounge you could. It snowed overnight & the next day we went across Rannoch Moor & through Glencoe AMAZING! so very beautiful you felt priviledged to see it Scotland at it's best. Garry was very flexible & we had the option to go to Sial Island over the Alantic Bridge, well worth doing. the only slight critisicim was the amount of time at the Falkirk Wheel it was a bit rushed, it would have been nicer to have had a bit longer there to take it all in & take more photos. All in all a fantastic trip, well worth the money & having read previous reviews about people who popped in for refreshements being treated badly I can't imagine it the staff couldn't do enough for you they were always friendly & polite.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindilou57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2011

We had come on a Lochs and Glens holiday to Loch Tummel earlier in the year with a big group of friends and had a great time. When my brother was looking for a way of celebrating his birthday combined with early retirement, he asked if we would like to go again, but this time just the family and he chose to go to the Inversnaid Hotel on a Mountains and Mistletoe break.

We travelled by coach from Bristol on 28th October with plenty of breaks at services for tea, coffee, snacks toilet etc, arriving at the Inversnaid hotel by coach along the very long, very narrow, very winding “Inversnaid Motorway”. For the rest of the week until the morning we left we would be leaving and arriving back at the hotel by ferry, with the coach picking us up on the opposite side of Loch Lomond.

Our first day at the hotel was “Christmas Eve”, the first time my brother had ever celebrated his October 29th birthday at Christmas. The next day, 30th October was “Christmas Day”, and the day after, 31st October, was “Hogmanay”. Tables in the dining room were laid accordingly with festive hats and crackers for Christmas and the staff all took good part for Hogmanay, wearing kilts or tartan sashes. If you are lucky (or unlucky depending on your point of view) Ashley might do a cartwheel across the dancefloor while wearing his kilt. Scott looked particualrly good in his.

We had already booked this holiday before looking at the comments on Tripadvisor, and I was a little dismayed to read some of them, although I noticed that the disparaging remarks were mainly made by walkers who were not staying at the hotel. This is a beautiful time of year to visit Scotland, with all the trees in their gorgeous autumn colours. One day we were back fairly early from our excursion and decided to take one of the short walks recommended by the hotel, even though it was pouring with rain. It was like walking in a river with the heavy rain running off the hills, and we got soaked through but on arrival back at the hotel, we took off our wet boots and coats in reception and left everything to dry on newspapers near the radiators in our rooms, and never a negative word was spoken.

I’ve never been on a Turkey and Tinsel (or Mountains and Mistletoe) holiday before, but if I can get time off work in 2011 I’d love to do it again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEPBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

This was our first ever coach tour. Lochs and Glenns was recommended by a friend. I was not looking forward to the long journey but with an mp3 player, a few snoozes and a stop every 2 hours it was not as bad as I thought. The hotel was excellent, did not have to do anything except get up in the mornings. The room was very comfatable and very clean, only downside was the water pressure in the shower - a minor quibble. The food was far above what I expected, 2 course breakfast and 3 course dinner with choices, I am a fussy eater but I enjoyed every meal as their was always something that I liked or was prepared to try. Staff were always friendly and helpful, blazing fires in the main entrance, nice to sit with a drink and a book in the evening. All in all a real bargain for £127 each, I could not drive there and back for that. Cant wait till the next one.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reltublien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

The service in this hotel is extremely well organised from the moment of arrival. No scrabbling for your suitcase which is delivered to your room within minutes, no waiting at reception for your room key as you are given your room number on the coach and directed straight there. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The reception lounge is beautiful with 2 log fires to welcome you and plenty of comfortable seating. Dining is in staggered sittings and there is plenty of choice on the menu and it was all good. The staff are very friendly and helpful. A special thank you to the manageress Jackie who willingly lent me a tartan sash to wear on Burns night. The bar prices are very good and there was nightly entertainment. We should also mention our friendly coach driver Chris who gave us lots of interesting information each day about the area. We will definately be returning to this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Didn't actually stop in the hotel but thought I would write a couple of lines here to thank the ferry men from the hotel who gave us a lift across free of charge while taking part in a sponsored bike ride last year. All we paid for was a coke each at the hotel, explained how we had just covered about 50 miles cross country by mountain bike and they were more that happy to take us to the other side to allow us to carry on by road to the next campsite. Life savers!!!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
Thank Shaggy3821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We have just returned from a New Year Break at Inversnaid Hotel, we travelled with Lochs and Glens Holidays. We had the best New Years Eve ever!
I read a recent bad review about this hotel and was a bit worried about what we were going to find but I have to say we thouroughly enjoyed ourselves.
The road to the hotel was still blocked and we had to use the ferry, yes it was cold and dark but as December/January falls in winter it is only to be expected especially as we have had exceptionaly harsh weather. I think the hotel and ferry staff did a tremendous job getting us all across the loch and delivering our cases up to ours rooms. There were a few moans and groans on the first evening as everyone was tired after such a long coach journey.

When we looked out of the hotel the next day and saw the stunning sight of Loch Lomond with snow caped mountains in the distance it more than compensated for any niggles from the night before. We had to travel every day on the hotel ferry to reach our coach but it was only a short trip and all part of the adventure. Our coach driver Chris was first class, he had a good knowledge of the history and physical geography of the place, his comentary was enough to be interesting without turning into a monologue.

A lot of staff in the hotel were probaly Polish/Rumanian but I have never seen so many friendly courteous people. They all smiled at every mealtime even though the meals were in several sittings, even when we had the late sitting they never seemed to hurry us and nothing was too much trouble.

The food was plentiful with a good choise on the menu and most meals were four cousres. The New Years Eve was fantastic, we had four course meal then entertainment, piper and Scottish dancers. At midnight we had an amazing firework dispaly and the piper played outside by the loch. There was a buffet all night we had sausage rolls at 2am which had just been freshly heated.

We met some lovely people and we hope to meet up with them next New Years Eve.

I can not speake highly enough about our holiday in general but there will always be some people who are never satisfied. The hotel is 3 star so to the people who want more I say go and stay in 5 star, having said that, we have stayed in 5 star which was way below the standard of this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann Field
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Pre Xmas trip for 5 days. terrible weather when we left Aberdeen but driver excellent. Had to use ferry every day as access road not advisable, pretty cold but only 7 minute trip and added to fun.Stayed in older part of hotel but room nice and bathroom large but could do with being modernised. Food excellent.large selection for breakfast and dinner and seervice unbelievable. Drinks prices incredibly cheap for a hotel and with no competition. Considering we only paid £ 119.00 pp for bus travel to and from Aberdeen, 4 nights bed, breakfast, dinner and one lunch and bus trips every day amazing value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scolty30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inversnaid
3.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
551 reviews
16.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,236 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
18.6 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inversnaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inversnaid Hotel

Address: Inversnaid, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Inversnaid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inversnaid
Number of rooms: 115
Also Known As:
Inversnaid Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing