We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Coach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coach House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel over a week end, Friday and Saturday. It is what it says on the tin and it ticked all the right boxes for me. The owners are making a great effort and the hotel was clean and tidy. Our room overlooked the river, had a whirlpool bath and when we arrived on a typical Scottish August wet day the heating was on and it was a pleasure to enter the room. Room was big with flat screen TV etc. Recently modinised, warm with plenty hot water. Only complaint was that the matress has seen better days though friends in other room had a good bed.

There was live music on both nights which was very good. No noise in the rooms late on. We only had one meal in the bar which was value for money, hot and the beef was very well cooked. Bar busy at night with local caravaners but good atmosphere. Breakfasts good, plenty of everything.

I would return to this hotel with no problems. Great week end thanks all.

Room Tip: Front of house very quiet even with road outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davylad72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

Although we did not stay at the hotel,My friends and I (2couples age 55to 65) used the hotel most days for 1 week and found the lounge area and and people very friendly, but staff not so good.My main complaint about this hotel was the food .It was very poor, most of it was from the freezer and small portions. Especially the dish I had ,which was not fit for human consumption,in fact even our dog turned her noze up at it..It was descibed as stripes of scottish beef wraped around pork sausage with sage and onion,when in fact it was served as 2balls of stuffing wrapped beef,but tasted like something you would get on the side at xmas dinner.I would have complained but my wife did not want to create a fuss.
WE stayed on for the rest of the evening to enjoy the very good entertainmentand spent over £160 .Overall atmosphere good, entertainment good but have food somewhere else before you enjoy your evening.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Nothing to complain about at The Coach House Hotel. It was immaculately clean, very comfortable, and an excellent value. Great breakfast and nice pub lounge on the premises as well. The owners were very pleasant and must work hard to keep the whole place so well maintained and clean. My wife was not along on this trip, but it was the kind of place she would have enjoyed very much as she is especially discriminating about cleanliness.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tgswamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We have just returned from a lovely overnight stay at the coach house.We stayed in the delightful rannoch room.We enjoyed a lovely home cooked meal in the bar followed by live music.I would highly recommend the hotel for its family atmosphere and its warm welcome.Scottish breakfast very tasty,Looking forward to planning next trip .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIKClydebank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Did not stay in hotel so can comment regards accommodation, however my partner and I wandered in for supper. I had tomato soup which was meagre portion and not nice. My partner has chicken curry which was tasteless and with no sauce. Extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenmcshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed here for a night to celebrate a birthday.The hotel is in a stunnung location.We stayed in the Lochay room which had breathtaking view of the hills and river.The room was spacious and spotlessly clean.Very comfortable bed and superb shower.We stayed for dinner and were really pleased with the food-generous portions and home cooked and well presented.Not too expensive either.We had a great time in the evening with live music from a Scottish folk singer who was very good.Will definetly be going back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickenthomson0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We weren't guests at the hotel, however we went to have our meals at The Coach House two out of three nights during our stay in Scotland. The food was so full of flavor and it was so peaceful, it was warm and the food got to us quite quick too. The place on a whole was very clean and tidy. My husband and i enjoyed a few games of pool and was told that in the summer months one or two bands preform there so we are hoping to go back to Scotland in 2011 for our summer holiday. Definitely a top notch place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
12.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
0.3 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#6 of 14 in Killin
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#10 of 14 in Killin
24 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Falls of Dochart Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel

Address: Lochay Rd, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range: £62 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing