We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we were not impressed by the food.....”
Review of Coach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coach House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“we were not impressed by the food.....”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Although the young couple try very hard ,and the hotel is clean and tidy, the food menu is not very good and it was like eating in a working mans club . We would not think many people would eat there more than one night of their stay.The trouble is ,the hotel is on the end of the village,so eating out is limited,if you want to have a drink ,and not drive. Food odours are very much evident upstairs so another extractor would not go amiss Breakfast is at best ,rather limited, and not well cooked on one occasion The mattress in the DOCHART room has seen better days.so sleep quality was not good.,and the lack of a shower attachment in the bathroom meant that you could not even rinse your hair .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank stanbarnes633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    49
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
21
101
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
walsall
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We are a family of 4 adults and 2 children. After a very long trip from the Midlands, we settled into our B &B near the Coach House, we were all hungry, tired and just wanted a hot meal and in a nice atmosphere, The Coach house was the nearest pub. On entering at 7.06pm the frosty looks from the staff, made us feel very unwelcome. After the staff watched us take our seat, someone came over and said meals are no longer being served as we had children with us. Why a public house stops serving food at 7pm is beyond me!!!

We moved onto the The falls of Dockhart, where the service was excellent and they could not be faulted - highly recommeded. Don't waste your time at the Coach House.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank inca1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidR123, Owner at Coach House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
We are sorry you had an unhappy experience in our establishment. Our meals are served in the bar. The law in Scotland is that children must vacate the bar by 8pm. In order to comply with this law which does not allow for eating or drinking up time, we do not issue menus to groups with children after 7pm, as we feel that by the time a seletion is made, the order placed and the food cooked there is unsufficient time left to enjoy the food before having to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick Upon Tweed, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel over a week end, Friday and Saturday. It is what it says on the tin and it ticked all the right boxes for me. The owners are making a great effort and the hotel was clean and tidy. Our room overlooked the river, had a whirlpool bath and when we arrived on a typical Scottish August wet day the heating was on and it was a pleasure to enter the room. Room was big with flat screen TV etc. Recently modinised, warm with plenty hot water. Only complaint was that the matress has seen better days though friends in other room had a good bed.

There was live music on both nights which was very good. No noise in the rooms late on. We only had one meal in the bar which was value for money, hot and the beef was very well cooked. Bar busy at night with local caravaners but good atmosphere. Breakfasts good, plenty of everything.

I would return to this hotel with no problems. Great week end thanks all.

Room Tip: Front of house very quiet even with road outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davylad72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Although we did not stay at the hotel,My friends and I (2couples age 55to 65) used the hotel most days for 1 week and found the lounge area and and people very friendly, but staff not so good.My main complaint about this hotel was the food .It was very poor, most of it was from the freezer and small portions. Especially the dish I had ,which was not fit for human consumption,in fact even our dog turned her noze up at it..It was descibed as stripes of scottish beef wraped around pork sausage with sage and onion,when in fact it was served as 2balls of stuffing wrapped beef,but tasted like something you would get on the side at xmas dinner.I would have complained but my wife did not want to create a fuss.
WE stayed on for the rest of the evening to enjoy the very good entertainmentand spent over £160 .Overall atmosphere good, entertainment good but have food somewhere else before you enjoy your evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Nothing to complain about at The Coach House Hotel. It was immaculately clean, very comfortable, and an excellent value. Great breakfast and nice pub lounge on the premises as well. The owners were very pleasant and must work hard to keep the whole place so well maintained and clean. My wife was not along on this trip, but it was the kind of place she would have enjoyed very much as she is especially discriminating about cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tgswamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clydebank
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We have just returned from a lovely overnight stay at the coach house.We stayed in the delightful rannoch room.We enjoyed a lovely home cooked meal in the bar followed by live music.I would highly recommend the hotel for its family atmosphere and its warm welcome.Scottish breakfast very tasty,Looking forward to planning next trip .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIKClydebank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renfrew scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Did not stay in hotel so can comment regards accommodation, however my partner and I wandered in for supper. I had tomato soup which was meagre portion and not nice. My partner has chicken curry which was tasteless and with no sauce. Extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenmcshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
411 reviews
12.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
9.4 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#9 of 14 in Killin
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel

Property: Coach House Hotel
Address: Lochay Rd, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing