We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”
Review of Coach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coach House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Paisley
1 review
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Fantastic stay at this lovely characterful Victorian house. Large (very) spacious room with one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in! Thoroughly enjoyed a great evening in the bar and the really good live music - was good to see 'locals' using the bar. Excellent breakfast which set us up for the day (and helped the hangover!!).
Very friendly owners who did everything they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Will definitely be back to the Coach House. The Killin area is stunning. The Coach House is an ideal place to use as a base to explore from.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cromach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    49
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
20
98
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed on a perfect spring night in Killin. Room (Dochart) was very large, comfortable, and well furnished, with a view over the river. Lucky enough to get the table in the bay window in the very attractive dining room. Did not eat dinner at the hotel. Hosts were wonderful; not overly effusive, but genuinely warm and nice people. The little town of Killin was an unexpected delight. We walked along the river, taking in the falls at dusk, and our walk to the nearby Killin Hotel for dinner created a memory that will stay with us forever. The hotel is a bit on the outskirts of town, so a walk into the town itself is a fairly lengthy one. If cutting across Scotland from the area around Lach Lomand to St. Andrews, this is a very pleasant route, and the Coach House is a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crango1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airdrie
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This is a great hotel and we can't complain about anything. The rooms were lovely, comfortable and clean. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The food was great and the atmosphere in the bar at night was nice and relaxed with good music.
I'd just like to say that there are no 'smelly dogs', the shower cubicle was a normal size and the shower was excellent.
We will definetly be back and telling our friends about it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstyGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was our second stay at this friendly hotel. Run by the owners, the welcome is genuinely warm, the accommodation clean and inviting and the bar meals and breakfast are tasty and well cooked. Our evenings in the bar really rounded off each day and the debate with the locals about wasps (not wosps!) had us in stitches. For a relaxed, enjoyable and entertaining stay, this hotel would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crustyjuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killin Perthshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This small family run hotel is another of our "gems" in the village. It is run by David Jan Kerry and Rob. The bedrooms are furnished to a very high standard and the hospitality is first class. If you have been walking all day then where better to sit and relax either in the bar or in the "Residents" lounge. The meals are of an excellent standard, served in a cosy atmosphere. During the summer season they have live music at the weekends. A great place to stay with river and mountains in view. (And you can take your dog in the bar area)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had a lovely night's sleep in a lovely room in this family-run hotel. Spotlessly clean bedroom with wonderfully comfortable bed. The full Scottish breakfast was excellent (bacon to die for!) and plentiful which more than made up for the rather 'ordinary' bar meal the night before. Killin is a lovely base from which to explore - aided by the directions and map drawn for us by Robert, one of the family, and we had a fabulous day in the hills before returning home. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The four poster room with view to the front was worth that bit extra. It was well furnished with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngeyAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Spent a night there with a friend. Not only the room was perfect but also the food and the welcoming family that owns the place! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
16.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
12.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#9 of 14 in Killin
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel

Property: Coach House Hotel
Address: Lochay Rd, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing