We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coach House Hotel
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
91
53
13
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
53
13
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhirlpool bathlomond roomposter bedthe publounge barthe riverfull scottish breakfasttop floorroom was spotlessly cleanrecommend this hotelsteak pieenjoyed our mealwarm welcomegreat roomcooked breakfastincluding breakfastlovely night
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was our first time visiting killin and it was a beautiful little place -- the falls of dochart is a sight to see and lots of lovely little shops. The hotel was lovely and all the staff very friendly - the food was great and our room was lovely and very clean -- we had a great view of the river - the band at night were fantastic - the boos brothers - we enjoyed them so much we bought their cd. Cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: we were in the Lomond - right at the top - lovely bed and nice views
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathfindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We went on a last minute basis, my daughter had already booked in & we decided to join them. We had the Lomond room on the top floor, which was very well laid out given the quirky shape. Comfy bed, good shower, excellent breakfast, what more can you ask. There is live music on a Saturday night, which is one of the reasons we booked here. The band we thought were playing had cancelled, but replacements had been found & we had a good night regardless. Would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Annbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had the Dochart room with the amazing four poster bed and double aspect windows with stunning views over the hills and the river. The whirlpool bath was fantastic, very luxurious. The food is excellent, we had both breakfast and dinner, lovely home cooked food, clear plates and full bellies all round! The lounge bar is great and the live music was very very good, definitely plan ypur trip for a friday or saturday as the music is worth it. The family who run the hotel provide an excellent, first class service and are both friendly and professional. We only stayed one night but will be booking to come back again soon, excellent hotel and fantastic place to visit!

Room Tip: If youre looking for luxury, definitely opt for the Dochart room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leeanne360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at the coach house on a recent trip to Killin to compete in the Kindrochit Quadrathlon. I booked the place on the strength of the images of the nice four-poster bed and the fact that there was a spa bath in the bathroom. We booked the ensuite room with a 'feature bed', and I emailed to request the room with the whirlpool bath to soothe our aching muscles post-race. We were put in the Lomond room which is right at the top of the hotel. It has no 4-poster bed, and no whirlpool bath. I am by no means a difficult customer but when I went down to check we were in the right room, they told me I did indeed have a feature bed, and the room with the whirlpool was booked by someone else. (They told me a feature bed is a big headboard) Ok, no problem, we were settled in the room nonetheless, but a courtesy email to let me know in advance would have been better.
We spent 17 hours doing the quad on the saturday and consequently were extremely exhausted on check-out day. I apologised for leaving the room a little late (40 or so minutes) and explained what we'd done the day before - and was met by a disapproving glares from the lady there and the line 'check out is meant to be at 11!' She made it very clear we had inconvenienced her day and after we paid the bill she slammed the door behind us!
Generally the place was nice and clean, plus the breakfast was good, however the overall experience was let down by one grumpy member of staff.
One very positive thing about the place was the younger lady there- she very kindly prepared us some sandwiches when we returned home late from the event, and brought them up to the room for us.

Room Tip: The Lomond Room was quite small, and you couldn't fit more than one person in the bathroom at once. If you are tall the bed may inconvenience you!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LatinAmericaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidR123, Owner at Coach House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

We rarely respond to reviews because we feel people are entitled to their opinions and not everyone likes the same things. However in this case I feel we have to put the facts straight. An e-mail was sent to the customer at 11.21 on the 20th June stating that the Dochart room had been booked. If it was so important perhaps the customer should have phoned the hotel. The three rooms with feature beds have king size hardwood beds with matching furniture. The beds are a feature within the room. On leaving the customer was informed at 11.30am that check out was before 11.00am. When they finally appeared at 12.00 my wife had to stand awaiting payment for a further 15 minutes while they loaded the car. It does tend to make one slightly frustrated. The front door is on a door closer. (difficult to slam).
Finally the kind you lady ( my daughter) who made the complimentary sandwiches at 1.00am in the morning after a hard bar shift had to waste another hour and a quarter on Sunday till she could get in to clean the room before she could celebrate her birthday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst on a short touring holiday. Big room with wonderful views. Nice modern bathroom. The beds were very comfortable indeed and the room was spotlessly clean and well furnished. We had a bar meal downstairs, chicken pie and steak pie, both excellent. The breakfast was served in the dining room and was very good: plenty of juice, cereal, fruit and a traditional cooked option. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The area is stunningly beautiful wherever you look - we had an evening drive to Loch Tay and a walk along the old railway line between the Loch and the village. The attractive (but not that primary school on the main street!) village is definitely geared to the tourist trade for the Falls of Dochart etc but is not overly blighted by the usual "Tartan tat-syndrome". This is more of a small hotel than a B&B per se and, in our view, is excellent value. We really enjoyed our stay at Thed Coach House and would love to return some day. I'd recommend this place unreservedly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews