We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday weekend”
Review of Coach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coach House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brierfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

we have just returned from a lovely long weekend at the Coach House ,having only ever been to Scotland once as a teenager we returned for my husbands birthday . The Coach House was our second choice but so glad we opted for it , Killin is lovely and a really good base to explore with it being so convenient to access the surrounding area and only a 10 minute wander into the town itself where there are a few restaurant's and pubs .The family who run the hotel were really friendly which makes your stay even better ,we stayed in the Dochart room with its lovely and very comfy wooden bed and spa bath and beautiful views over the river it was lovely to sit in the window and watch the world go by at the end of a long day exploring . Breakfast was really good and plenty off it and we ate twice in the lounge bar attached to the hotel it was all good . We will definitely return in the future and we have already recommended the Hotel to friends .
My only thing is that there is no shower only a bath in that particular room not sure about the rest of the rooms and I forgot to ask !!!! you had to nip next door in your jim jams if you wanted a shower which I prefer but husband loved the spa bath

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mair1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    46
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
96
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
east kilbride
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed in the Dorach room, lovely clean & warm with a four poster bed & spa bath. Ate and enjoyed evening meal here in the pub attached & enjoyed the live band very good, altogether lovely night. Would definitely recommend for a nice escape from the hustle & bustle of busy city life.

Room Tip: If want four poster & spa bath room you have to phone to confirm request
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice_millar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Yes, we did indeed pop in to this fab' eastablishment. Our hillwalking club, having spent several hours up in Ben Lawers, and it's environs, on a day that produced all seasons in one day,hey, it is BST in Scotland, we were looking forward to a place to relax, have a few beers and some coffees and talk over the events of the day.
The Coach House ticked ALL the boxes. Yes, we have visited this place before, however, I feel I must now, make you all aware of how tickety boo an establishment this is.
A very warm friendly welcome from the young couple behind the bar, and from their very friendly dog, that patrols the incoming patrons.
Service with a smile, and some craic. Coffees with chocolate bikkies and free refills of coffee if required. What more would you wish for ?
Yup,we ALL thoroughly enjoyed the short visit to The Coach House at Killin, and we WILL be back - THANK YOU

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hattz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on a short break from city life. The room was lovely with a really comfy bed and great views over the river. Breakfasts were good. We ate in the bar on both nights and it was good comforting pub grub. Could be a 5 star with a few more details like more toiletries in the bathroom and some biscuits in the bedroom to go with tea and coffee. However we would definitely go back, great welcoming service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GemmaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

just returned from a run out to killin,and a visit to the coachhouse with our mother,.the food and the service were faultless,we sat by the stove, and enjoyed our meal,(sorry for letting the fire go out! .will return again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The scenery was picturesque, the hotel was just lovely, had a family feel to it, we stayed in the Dochart room with the whirlpool bath, amazing... could have stayed in there all day, the 4 poster bed was very comfy too. Room was clean, spacious and had great views from both windows, one to side of hotel and other facing the front. The bar is attached to the hotel and was very comfortable and cosy, we had an evening meal which was delicious, prices are reasonable for both food and bar. Full cooked breakfast, tea and toast, cereal and fruit on offer too, Can’t fault this place, would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you want the Dochart room, dont assume you will get it as they have 4 feature rooms, the Dochart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June_M70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The intrepid group descended on the Coach House after a great day climbing Meall Nan Tarmachan..As normal Beer/Coffee was the order of the day..We were made most welcome,the bar area was nice,and very cossy..The bar area was warm,and nothing was a problem to the staff.Guinness was good,as was the coffee and biscuits..The setting of the hotel is just great.We shall return.........

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamson000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
16.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#4 of 14 in Killin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
0.1 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#9 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel

Property: Coach House Hotel
Address: Lochay Rd, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing