We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What could have been a pleasant stay spoilt by loud music”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Coach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coach House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What could have been a pleasant stay spoilt by loud music”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have previously enjoyed our stays at the Coach House in a lovely large room with 4 poster bed and whirlpool bath (Dochart). We thought we had booked the same room this time (advertised with feature bed) but were given a smaller room in the attic. This was very nicely furnished but didn't justify the same top price as the Dochart room - the bathroom was quite cramped and we bumped our heads on the low slanting roof getting into bed a few times. From the marks on the roof it looked as if we weren't the only ones to have done this!

However, what completely spoilt our stay this time was the loud live music from the open bar from 9pm - midnight each night which made it impossible to sleep, relax or even talk easily in our room. We had come to Killin for a hill walking weekend and were keen to sleep well and make an early start each day, but this wasn't to be. We were further upset by the response of a member of staff after reporting our problem. No concern or apology were offered, and we were basically told we shouldn't have booked if we didn't want the music and that we should have known because it was advertised on all the websites they use for booking. We booked through Booking.com and nothing is currently mentioned about the music. Our view is that it would seem a basic requirement for the hotel to provide an environment in which paying guests can sleep by a reasonable hour (eg 11pm) - this level of noise affecting sleep after 10pm would be deemed a noise disturbance by environment health! We hope the hotel will think about whether running such loud music events is really compatible with running a hotel when the noise affects some bedrooms so badly.

Room Tip: If choosing a top priced room ask for the Dochart - this is far superior to the Lomond and will be q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen_Edinburgh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidR123, Owner at Coach House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
I am sorry that the lady did not enjoy her stay. Unfortunately she e-mailed to ask for the Dochart room on the day of her arrival and it was already occupied. Can I please stress that the only way to guarantee any particular room is to phone the hotel in advance when we will do our best to oblige.
With regard to the music the hotel is proud of its reputation for holding live music session on Fridays and Saturdays in season. The music is well attended and many people book into the hotel to participate. The music stops at midnight which we feel is not unreasonable. It is also well advertised on our web site.
With regards to the Lomond room. The Coach House is an old building and some rooms have sloping ceilings. It is however a spacious room with wonderfull views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    45
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
95
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beauly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Dropped in here for a pint and some coffee after a day out hillwalking in February. Friendly service, reasonable prices, free refills of coffee which incidentally came with biscuits. Really nice atmosphere and service - would not hesitate to recommend this establishment. Have returned here in April and received exactly the same warm welcome and good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtiveGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Fabulous few nights at this lovely peaceful hotel. Food was yummie also, just what we needed before a long walk. Perfectly situated just out of the village area, but within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel, and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room with own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brierfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

we have just returned from a lovely long weekend at the Coach House ,having only ever been to Scotland once as a teenager we returned for my husbands birthday . The Coach House was our second choice but so glad we opted for it , Killin is lovely and a really good base to explore with it being so convenient to access the surrounding area and only a 10 minute wander into the town itself where there are a few restaurant's and pubs .The family who run the hotel were really friendly which makes your stay even better ,we stayed in the Dochart room with its lovely and very comfy wooden bed and spa bath and beautiful views over the river it was lovely to sit in the window and watch the world go by at the end of a long day exploring . Breakfast was really good and plenty off it and we ate twice in the lounge bar attached to the hotel it was all good . We will definitely return in the future and we have already recommended the Hotel to friends .
My only thing is that there is no shower only a bath in that particular room not sure about the rest of the rooms and I forgot to ask !!!! you had to nip next door in your jim jams if you wanted a shower which I prefer but husband loved the spa bath

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mair1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east kilbride
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed in the Dorach room, lovely clean & warm with a four poster bed & spa bath. Ate and enjoyed evening meal here in the pub attached & enjoyed the live band very good, altogether lovely night. Would definitely recommend for a nice escape from the hustle & bustle of busy city life.

Room Tip: If want four poster & spa bath room you have to phone to confirm request
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice_millar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Yes, we did indeed pop in to this fab' eastablishment. Our hillwalking club, having spent several hours up in Ben Lawers, and it's environs, on a day that produced all seasons in one day,hey, it is BST in Scotland, we were looking forward to a place to relax, have a few beers and some coffees and talk over the events of the day.
The Coach House ticked ALL the boxes. Yes, we have visited this place before, however, I feel I must now, make you all aware of how tickety boo an establishment this is.
A very warm friendly welcome from the young couple behind the bar, and from their very friendly dog, that patrols the incoming patrons.
Service with a smile, and some craic. Coffees with chocolate bikkies and free refills of coffee if required. What more would you wish for ?
Yup,we ALL thoroughly enjoyed the short visit to The Coach House at Killin, and we WILL be back - THANK YOU

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hattz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on a short break from city life. The room was lovely with a really comfy bed and great views over the river. Breakfasts were good. We ate in the bar on both nights and it was good comforting pub grub. Could be a 5 star with a few more details like more toiletries in the bathroom and some biscuits in the bedroom to go with tea and coffee. However we would definitely go back, great welcoming service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GemmaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
16.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#5 of 14 in Killin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
0.1 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#9 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel

Property: Coach House Hotel
Address: Lochay Rd, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing