We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for coffee, cake and views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #12 of 16 Restaurants in Killin
Price range: US$5 - US$21
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The Bistro Loch Tay is now under new management Jason and Kaley are looking forward to the season ahead to welcome you to the bistro for either a simple coffee or a well prepared meal we look forward to seeing you in the near future
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
716 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Great for coffee, cake and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Popped in on a Sunday for coffee and cake. Both the cakes were excellent and the lattes were well presented. Friendly staff and the outdoor seats give great views.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Viewlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    9
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Needs improving”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Not impressed with the staff here. The person working the afternoon shift couldn't be bothered even trying to do her job.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sarey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What chance do tourists have in scotland”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Went to Boathouse Bistro on Bank Holiday Monday. There were signs for restaurant and bistro, blackboard outside welcoming you to try their food and another board with today's soups. After going DOWN and DOWN and DOWN the road to bistro my sister and I were told in an unfriendly voice "There's no food, the chef is off today". We then went to Cruachan Restaurant - it was closed. This was at lunch time!! I ask you. Think they would be open for holiday weekend. Pleased to say we had lovely lunch at Killin Golf Course.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just returned from an amazing trip to Loch Tay. We stayed in in one of the glens and visited The Bistro, which was so good we chose to eat there both evenings! I must say I'm slightly shocked by the review below, as our experience was the polar opposite. We found the food and service fantastic, and the attentiveness was second to none. We couldn't fault it. What more could you ask for, we had a stunning location, with great food, a lovely bottle of wine by an open fire surrounded by breath taking views. We will definitely be returning here! Just perfect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A+++++ for the Boathouse!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Fantastic place, the chef Jason is great and his food is delicious. Kaylee, front of house, is friendly and efficient - both lovely people,running a beautiful restaurant in a fabulous location.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing