We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of The Old Smiddy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Smiddy
Ranked #8 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights whilst hill walking. Room clean, spacious and comfortable enough - and conveniently located in village. Lulled to sleep by the sound of the Dochart falls rushing by the window. Hosts welcoming and helpful - and small restaurant convenient for dinner - although last orders at 7-45. Good food in pub opposite as well - and later orders taken.
Breakfast good - but you do have to pay extra if you want both cereal and a traditional Scottish fry up. Surprised that the room was not serviced before the second night - had to ask for more milk etc for tea ( very forthcoming when asked for) . Useful drying room for wet clothes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    22
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
52
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Having been here twice, I can't think of anywhere better to escape to if you want somewhere within 1.5hours of glasgow. Different pace of life altogether!
The B&B itself is charming, run by a great family. We stayed in the Ruby room and this time round the Paris room. Clean, comfortable and relaxing! The restaurant is very good as well.
The area itself is ideal if you want to go for a walk and unwind- Glen Lyon and the munros around Ben Lawers are a great day out!

Room Tip: Ruby room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksjfhhgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our journey to Killen, by Dochart Falls in Scotland was a wonderful surprise, due to the culinary talents and warm personalities of Old Smiddy owners Lynn and Michael. The hot, smoked salmon salad ordered for dinner was so delicious that we ordered it as a takeaway the next day. The takeaway was packaged and timely complete with a picnic basket and blanket packed for a romantic lunch by Inverlochy castle. Other menu delights included the fish and chips, tapas and steak pie. Be sure to get there early to reserve a dinner spot and stay the night for a wonderful evening at their B and B with a view of the Falls before heading up to the Highlands. The Old Smiddy was a delightful find that is well worth going back to again and again for both the hospitality and the delicious fare.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the falls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my husband's birthday in early August; our third visit to Killin. The village is beautiful ( though you are a bit stuck for things to do if it's raining and you've already visited the museum as we had first time round) and the surrounding countryside pretty amazing. The meal we had was delicious. We shared the tapas and then I had fish and chips. As it was my Hubbie's birthday he went for pizza and chips AND sticky toffee pudding so it was no wonder he declared himself stuffed afterwards. Breakfast too was a hearty portion. Thoroughly recommended; especially the fish and chips.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed one night as part of a walking holiday. Cheerful and friendly welcome. Rooms small but cosy and imaginatively decorated. Ate in at the bistro and had a really enjoyable meal and evening. Good pint at the Falls of Dochart Inn - ideal for a pre-prandial.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferroequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed for one night, only wish it had been more. This is a lovely village and a lovely little Inn . We stayed in the Ruby room which overlooks the falls and positively enhanced the whole stay. Excellent food and service and I would not hesitate in recommending The Old Smiddy to friends and family. Very good value and service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

After a lot of googling, and reviewing other accommodation, we decided to stay at the Old Smiddy and we were not disappointed. We were in the ruby room which faced onto the Falls of Dochart..Not the biggest room we have slept in but did the job perfect. We booked to eat in the Bistro the first night.. Food and service was amazing. So we ate there all 3 nights. The fish and chips were out of this world. Breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent. Lynn was the perfect hostess. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesholidays18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
967 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Killin
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Bank
The Old Bank
#5 of 14 in Killin
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Smiddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Smiddy

Property: The Old Smiddy
Address: The Smiddy Main Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8XE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Smiddy Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing