We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner , reasonably priced”
Review of The Old Smiddy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Smiddy
Ranked #8 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner , reasonably priced”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a very busy restaurant but they were very accommodating to squeeze us in without a reservation. The restaurant has quite a homely feel so we didn't feel bad that we weren't dressed up. My husband had the steak & ale pie and I had the ham & mushroom pasta; both were delicious! Also opt for the dessert specials. Courses were fairly priced & the service was excellent.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 86desiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    22
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
52
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We remembered visiting this restaurant 5 years previous to this visit. and our memory was rewarded as it still had the same high standard and quality. We had a platter lunch that was excellent in quality although I feel there should have been more than 3 oatcakes to go with 9 slices of cheese. Some crusty bread would have made it outstanding. Service was slightly slow considering how quiet the place was when we arrived. However all said probably the best restaurant we have found in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Brilliant day out, we'll worth the drive, were made to feel so welcome, and the ice cream was delicious, have never tasted a more delicious fish tea and the seafood spaghetti was to die for huge chunks of haddock and prawns aplenty! Thank you x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton Delaval, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Visited with my teenage daughter when staying at a local caravan site and discovered you get 10% discount at this restaurant as a member of the Caravan Club. The food was nice but is quite expensive and was let down slightly by the cheap tasting tomato ketchup offered.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cutestredpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Myself, my son & son-in-law are just back from a walking weekend in Tayside, and I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough! The Lovely Lynn and her staff were extremely welcoming, the accommodation, breakfasts and dinners were excellent, and the location bang on. The rooms were spacious, spotless and well appointed, and the beds supremely comfortable... with the babble of the Falls of Dochart to slide you to sleep, it was sublime. And do try the Skink and the Jokers IPA - both to die for! We would have no second thoughts on rebooking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan_C_SN5109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Friendly and welcoming with a very comfortable, well appointed light and airy room looking out towards the river.
We decided to eat in the Smiddys own restaurant and are glad we did. I had the seafood spaghetti and can honestly say it's probably the best i've had. Breakfast was of the same standard. Safe to say we will stay here again when next in Killin.

Room Tip: We stayed in "The Den" and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Four of us enjoyed a very comfortable stay at the Old Smiddy, and the two restaurant meals we had there were both excellent too. Lynn went out of her way to be helpful to us with our clothes sodden from the rain. There was a nice friendly atmosphere in the restaurant, good service and my skink was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
967 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Killin
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Bank
The Old Bank
#5 of 14 in Killin
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Smiddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Smiddy

Property: The Old Smiddy
Address: The Smiddy Main Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8XE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Smiddy Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing