We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place with lovely atmosphere and fab food!”

The Falls of Dochart Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Killin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place with lovely atmosphere and fab food!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Popped in here one very rainy Sunday and greeted with a fantastic log fire, lively Scottish music and very friendly staff. Already eaten once so shared a raspberry cheesecake - devine! Sat by the window admiring the wonderful views of the Docart Falls and the rain falling down outside! Liked it so much,we booked to go back on the Monday evening. I had chicken with mash and red wine jus, my friend had baked cod. Finished with chocolate mousse which we shared. Heavenly! The deserts are to die for!! Same great atmosphere and friendly service, warming log fire. Sleeping dogs :) Lovely. Would like to bottle it and sell it - or at least move it all down to Birmingham! Would like to try the rooms out next time. Great. Good food well cooked and great place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LollyDPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    134
    62
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Terrible food & service”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Ordered scallops turned up raw. Wrong bottle of wine twice. Sea bass was mush. No cream in the profiteroles, there was 2 of them for £7!!!

Voiced our displeasure and was totally ignored!!!

Another couple at the table behind us had similar experience!

They have a captive audience with a constant stream of tourists, shame really as it could be lovely with a little more attention to detail. Would never return. More than £60 for our bill, money wasted.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely......lovely!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped here today for a bite for lunch and were very impressed.
We both had the Aberdeen Angus Burger and the portions were good and the burger tasty.
Quaint pub with great service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DorothyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

What a little gem this place turned out to be! We found it after randomly picking 'Killin' on a map as we saw there were some falls there and a place to eat. We ventured in from the wind and rain and certainly weren't disappointed. With a great big log fire roaring away, candles flickering and Scottish music playing in the background. it really felt like a little winter lodge. The views are spectacular as they are right across the road from the falls and the food is wonderful too.
The first time we went we just had a dessert as we'd already eaten. We had the baked cranachan cheesecake and it was divine. Creamy but not sickly, indulgent but not sweet. We loved it so much we reserved the window seat for dinner for the following evening.
For mains we had the chicken and the baked cod which were both cooked perfectly and just the right portion size. Dessert was dark chocolate mousse with orange mascarpone. Again, it was delicious. Service was always with a smile and it never felt like anything was too much trouble. The bar area is also dog friendly which is handy after a long walk and looking to escape the cold.
I would definitely go out of my away to come here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexxandra22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I went there with my girlfriend and at firsttime we stopped for a pint, what an absolutely delightful fireplace they have in there. The place was absolutely superb, the barman (i think he was the owner) was a really nice. We decided to give a try to the food...my girlfriend had a Smoked Salmon sandwich, it was lovely and I had Goats Cheese Fritata (saltless but thats not a problem) the only problem was I'd ordered Scallops and they gave me Chicken and Haggis...after that the owner changed the plates and gave me a free beer.
Best place in Killin without doubts

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Javi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Falls of Dochart Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Falls of Dochart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing