We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely cottage, great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wester Lix Cottages
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Lovely to arrive at immaculate cottage. Great to have en suite facilities for both bedrooms and extra treat to have a sauna, but best of all is the view and decking area, and also wood burning stove. also great to have a kitchen that genuinely is comfortable to sit in and have enough room to move around, cook and socialise.

only slight difficulty is the access road which was really bad with pot holes, but i think the bad winter had put these repairs on hold, which are due - but worth the careful drive to the cottage regardless

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottishTraveller048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2011

..and here's a few of them. Beautiful spot to see in the New Year. Jonnas Cottage was the perfect retreat after walking over the snow covered hills each day - warm and welcoming with the assurance of friendly owners on hand should anything be needed. Unnecessary though as the cottage has everything (and more) that one could need. There was not enough time to enjoy everything the area has to offer but this will wait for our next visit to Wester Lix. Well done Dave & Gill for creating a lovely home from home for those not fortunate enough to live there all year round.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Needed a break to get away from it. It was just what the doctor ordered. Beautiful home from home cottage( we stayed in the jonas cottage), the most stunning scenery on your door step and the perfect hosts. Can't fault this in any way at all. So much so have booked to go back for our summer hols/ Perfect for all ages. We could even take our three dogs too. Our kids had a great time, even my teenage daughter was impressed and that.s saying something.If you are into hill walking there is alot of munros to do only half an hour up the road, starting from the Benn Lawers carpark.So this cottage is a great base for any walking trips. we fitted in two munros while during our stay.
In a nutshell the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aitchy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

With perfect hosts, a cottage which is home from home what more could you ask. Extremely dog friendly with great walks straight from the cottage. The local wildlife includes red deer and red squirrals, what more can you ask. Great photography tips from Dave. We're already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The Farm House Cottage was picture perfect, plenty of space and very comfortable to relax in. We loved building the open fire every morning and evening. Surrounded by natural forests and a river running through it, its the perfect romantic getaway.
Five minute drive to Killin village so very handy for restaurants, pubs and shopping.
My only plea for improvement so we can come back....please please please replace the master bed. However, not even bad sleeps could take the edge off our amazing holiday!!!!
Thank you so much and hopefully next time we can hang out some more. x

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMcLachlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Jonnas cottage is truly a special place in one of our favourite Scottish locations - it really is too good to tell too many people about......!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedSquirrel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Jonnas cottage. There was 2 adults, 1 teenager and 5 dogs. When we asked if we could take our dogs there was no hesitation, everybody was welcome, and we really did feel welcome.
The cottage was very spacious, light and airy. The kitchen was well equipped. Everything was spotless.
The area is perfect for any type of holiday; to those wanting a walking holiday, sightseeing or just enjoying solitude and listening to the sounds of the country side.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dillysdoddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
4.8 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
806 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
3.2 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#10 of 14 in Killin
23 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Old Bank
The Old Bank
#5 of 14 in Killin
149 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wester Lix Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wester Lix Cottages

Address: The Steading | Wester Lix, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8RD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Killin
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Self Catering Accommodation rural retreat in the Scottish Highlands in the middle of the Dochart Forest. We are 3 miles from the Highland village of Killin, 1.5hrs drive from Glasgow and Edinburgh. We are ideally situated for many outdoor activities as well as being ideally centrally located for sight seeing days out. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wester Lix Cottages Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing