We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Westerlix”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wester Lix Cottages
Reviewed 23 September 2009

FAbulous accomodation and fabulous location.

Recommend it to anyone.


Well travelled of Cheshire

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vetcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2009

We loved the farmhouse - especially the decor and furnishings - and were happy to make use of the extensive library and CD collection. Snuggling indoors with a blazing fire may seem odd in August but this is Scotland, after all!

An ideal base for touring, walking, sightseeing - or just sitting back and relaxing. It is a must!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hawthorn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We have to admit, we are sorely tempted to put in the title that this was the worst place we had ever gone on a holiday just to ensure that nobody else ever booked it and it could be available to me, my husband and my wee dog any time we liked.

I have never gone anywhere where I felt so at home and so welcomed and the standard of the accommodation and the location is the real bonus to a real relaxing break.

Dave & Gill are superb hosts and have the balance of not being too intrusive or too distant absolutely down to a tee and you feel you are on holiday with friends. Their two dogs Sassie and Arnie are fantastic and our wee dog (who doesn't like other dogs because she doesn't thinks she is one) got on so well with them that this really helped to make the holiday for us.

When it was time to leave and we were arranging our photo session with Dave for the day we were leaving he was really relaxed about what time we had to vacate the accommodation and said as long as they had a bit of time before the next guests arrived - this is the first time that anyone has ever said this that has made us feel jealous of the next guests and almost like they would be invading our wee special retreat.

As the title says this is a fantastic place, the surrounding area is beautiful, lots to do whether there is sunshine or rain and we will definitley be back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SalAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Jonnas cottage was a real home from home, with all the added extras. Having stayed at many cottages across Scotland, this was by far the highest standard to date. The outside decking was a favourite when the Scottish weather allowed. Perfect base for visiting many of Scotlands beautiful locations. Our dogs especially enjoyed the walks right on the doorstep. Gill & Dave made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble without being intrusive. We also took advantage of their photographic skills and got a long awaited 'good' photo of our dog Ben! Definitely plan to be back.

Debbie & Laurence July 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DizzyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

The Farm House was perfect, really homely. We loved the real log fire in the livingroom, very romantic!

The surrounding walks were great for the dog and we found it to be very tranqil, just what we needed after a hard week at work.

I would absolutely recommend Wester Lix Cottages to anyone looking for a relaxing and homely retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skgabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

As other reviewers have also said Jonas cottage is a peaceful and homely retreat in a gorgeous part of Scotland. The hosts are excellent, genial and helpful and best of all dog lovers. The cottage is dog friendly and the miles of walks and available countryside makes this perfect for people and pets alike.

Aside from the excellent cottage, there are good places to eat and plenty to do if you are in the mood to explore. We had a wonderful time and will almost certainly be going back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verticalflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We spent two weeks there and it was a wonderful time. The cottage is very romantic and cosy. And Gillian + Dave are absolutely nice and remarkable people! We like them very much. And it is sure, someday we go back to Westerlix!

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank haustor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killin hotels
5.9 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
2.9 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 13 in Killin
1,043 reviews
3 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#10 of 13 in Killin
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 13 in Killin
475 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 13 in Killin
185 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wester Lix Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wester Lix Cottages

Address: The Steading | Wester Lix, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8RD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Killin
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Self Catering Accommodation rural retreat in the Scottish Highlands in the middle of the Dochart Forest. We are 3 miles from the Highland village of Killin, 1.5hrs drive from Glasgow and Edinburgh. We are ideally situated for many outdoor activities as well as being ideally centrally located for sight seeing days out. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wester Lix Cottages Killin, Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing