We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont waste your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2011

It was one very disappointing weekend and I would never go back. The location is amazing but the service is the worst I have ever seen anywhere. We were booked in for the weekend for a wedding which was really ruined by the staff at Loch Tay. They were completley unhelpful and made it feel like they didnt want you there. The first night the restaurant ran out of some of the food on the menu, There wasnt enough staff on to cope with the number of customers, you had to wait for a long time at the bar to get served and even when you did there was no smile or apologies for the wait and they even ran out of beer. The restaurant wasnt even open half of the time even though it said that it would be. On the last day we helped to clear up the glasses and they even locked the doors and left while we were doing so so we had to leave the glasses sitting outside. One of our family members even had to clean the toilets before the wedding as they were so embarassingly dirty. It was all really disappointing and felt like such a waste of money. Ive never seen such bad service anywhere before. They didnt provide what they had promised when the venue was booked.It seemed like they just couldnt be bothered being there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TippyBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
There are newer reviews for Loch Tay Highland Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,396 - 1,402 of 1,430 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2011

Stayed here for 4Nights in early March, the drive along the Loch was breathtaking, views from the lochside captivating and the customer service depressing!
Our accomodation was lovely, we stayed in the Main House-which is privately owned and a realy treat- unfortunately that's about all that is good about this Business.
Throughout our stay the staff were unhelpful to the point of rude, none of them displayed any interest or pride in their work.
Main points to consider...
The Bar- slow service, insufficiently stocked, hardly open!
The Restaurant- slow/non-existent service, poorly organised, mediocre food, although the homemade desserts were yummy, it's ashame I had to ask for the menu and wait over 30mins for it to arrive!
General- no welcome, bad attitudes from management down, poorly organised and a real let down after their website claims.

Wouldn't bother visiting again, and worry that tourists to the area have to suffer this and then take home the dreadful memories!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TakeOneTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

The staff has serious problems when it comes to keeping their customers satisfied.
They were not even friendly when arriving, they lied to us regarding opening hours at the restaurant/pub which caused us a lot of trouble, due to lack of alternatives.
I can not recommend to stay at these lodges at all, not even to people I hate.

Such a shame, because the location and surrounding nature are absolutely stunning!

Disappointed guests from Sweden

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PASweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

A wedding weekend spoiled by owners and staff, which were paid for services they did not provide. As a result, wedding guests served champagne, transported food and cleared tables and glasses themselves. When confronted about their poor service, Highland Lodges staff became verbally abusive. Despite the beautiful location I would highly recommend avoiding this place. I imagine this review will not be posted for long, as the negative reviews seem to be mysteriously disappearing....funny that.

Stayed: March 2011
4  Thank Josiestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

What a stunning location! Amazing views and an excellent comfortable lodge. Would seem staff decided this would be sufficient to make a good penny from and forgot that people need good service too.
Was very disappointed to be refused a high chair for my baby even though this had been previously requested and agreed would be available. Had to feed the baby in the buggy. Bar staff also decided they couldn't sell us milk to feed the baby. As you can imagine, baby was not a happy camper and has asked me to pass on her low rating and general disgust at the whole scenario. Also - dad was not much chirpier when told that all the beer taps were off except two and not even a good two..tennants & belhaven were all that was left (sad face)

And most importantly, couldn't find the bins.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franceyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Recently stayed for a friends wedding. Was disgusted by the attitude of the bar staff, who seemed to have zero respect for anyone they served- slow, undermanned and unwelcoming. Just unprofessional on what was for the people there a very special day. frankly if you've going all the way to enjoy the highlands why waste your time with people like this?

Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

I would never go back to Loch Tay Highland Lodges. The service was terrible - receptionist and bar staff rude and unhelpful. They all seemed like they would prefer it if we weren't there. The bar closed when they felt like it despite the literature in the lodges saying it would be open meaning we couldn't get food or a drink when we wanted to. The restaurant ran out of all dishes on the menu except for a fish dish and later on ran out of beer. Not acceptable at all. Very dissapppointing all round. I feel sorry for the owners of the lodges as they probably have no idea how ill treated guets are.
Shocking service and very poor facilities. An absolute disgrace.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank belfastgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
3.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
433 reviews
17.0 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,609 reviews
22.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
904 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
11.3 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Tay Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Tay Highland Lodges

Address: Loch Tay Milton Morenish Estate | Milton Morenish Estate, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Killin
Price Range: £38 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Tay Highland Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and PitchUp so you can book your Loch Tay Highland Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Tay Highland Hotel Killin
Loch Tay Highland Lodges Killin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing